We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hole in the wall”
Review of Papa Roux - CLOSED

Papa Roux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

I ordered a fried oyster poboy with three free sides: cole slaw, red beans and rice, bread pudding. All winners!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Scuffy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Been coming here for years! I'm pretty picky so I always get the same thing. The pork po boy is wonderful and HUGE! The voodooux sauce they use makes it perfect and I always get extra! I can't figure out what's in it and they sure won't tell! The garliky stew with rice is not for the faint of heart, it's super spicy but packed with so much yummy flavor. I also love the bread pudding!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 317allie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Don’t get irritated from the first impression of the building!

The food is really tasty and the staff funny and very friendly.

While you wait to get you food, there are tons of messages written on the walls to read. Well, you have to visit many times to read them all, cause the food will arrive very fast.

If you like Cajun, this is a place to stop by, spicy but also very good!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flueschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017

The place isn't much to look at from the outside, and the inside is very simple too. The food, however, is absolutely delicious! This restaurant offers a variety of Po Boys and sandwiches include 3 sides- both the sandwiches and sides are crazy good. I'd highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for tasty eats at very reasonable prices. One thing I found to be a bit odd is that they offer a 10% discount to their concealed weapon-carrying customers. That's a new one on me.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChEcKiTyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

A fantastic fried crawfish po'boy was just just $12. But most amazing, it included unlimited sides. Decor is dive and staff is awesome. Great food and value. A gem.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank BatGuano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papa Roux also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing