We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed in several other Hilton Garden Inns and decided to stay here for a birthday get-away. The pillowcases were very wrinkled and messy looking, (now I wonder if they were even fresh :() the screen was out and lying on the rooftop outside the window...window unlocked...creepy. One of the lights was out over the whirlpool tub. Over all the room didn't have that freshly cleaned look. We like to take the stairs to breakfast, but it was like ending up in the housekeeping area, dingy and confusing. Hard to find the correct door to the dining area. The dining area was dirty, spotty carpet...the coffee was being served from a broken coffee carafe (they only have one carafe to use?) My husband, a very positive person said his omelet was "old, the worst I have ever had". Only 4 years old? it seemed much older!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeToTravelHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    159
    62
    30
    24
See reviews for
199
110
33
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a wonderful experience! The hotel exceeded our expectations. The beds were very comfortable. The room was spotlessly clean. The staff went out of its way to make sure your stay was perfect. I have to give extra kudos to the wait staff in the restaurant. They were outstanding in providing customer service. We were there for 3 nights and it was a perfect stay. When we return to Merrillville, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, MN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I wasn't sure about the area, I heard it wasn't the best. It turns out this area is newer! They had any and every restaurant around. The hotel was very friendly, clean, and in a great location for meetings n cities that surround it. The breakfast was great for the HGI. Never lets me down. You can see it from the highway on the east side. I would stay again for sure. Very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Higher room, east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hall0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had to stay here for one night with our 7, 4 and 1 year old. Most of the staff was helpful and friendly. Had breakfast downstairs and the food was great and the service was terrific. I don't normally feel that way about HGI cafes/food, but this one was really great.

Room Tip: Don't have a good tip-we asked to be upgraded to a suite and were told the hospital routinely ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jharlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menominee, MI
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very nice clean and comfortable room with friendly staff. Found this room for $75.00 which I thought was an exceptional price for his property and location.

Room Tip: Booked tjis through Expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIDave_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in Merrillville during a weekend in between business trips. The hotel was a pleasant suprise. Comfortable desk and chair and free internet access, so I could catch up with some work. There are good shopping possibilities close by, both by car and even in walking distance (although people do not seem to be used to pedestrians around, so watch out for cars). I like the big refrigerator and microwave, so I could grab some snacks, soups and salads and eat in my room.
The bed is comfortable and it is possible to open the window a bit, so fresh air could come in. A nice detail, as I hate the completely airconditioned and heated rooms, where you feel so locked in. The hotel looks very clean, people are cleaning the whole time somewhere in the hotel and it smells of detergent everywhere.
There can be some noise from the I-65 and I noticed there was much more traffic on the Monday morning compared to the weekend. It did though not bother me that much, but ask for a room at the back of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper. During the weekends, it seems that people stay here for some of the shows and for weddings. I woke up Saturday during the night, as people returned late from a party.
Front desk and all other staff were very friendly.
The breakfast is not that fantastic, but there are lots of possibilities around the hotel. It is not very comfortable to sit in the breakfast area, as the front doors constantly open during the morning and you get cold air in.

Room Tip: Take a room at the 4th floor at the back of the building, if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a very nice property, modern with very good and friendly service. However, when I review hotels I always take the price, hotel class and location etc, into consideration. That being said, I can only rate this hotel, "average." Some more positives are the comfortable, adjustable beds, with quality linens and pillows, nice fitness center and onsite adequate resturant.

On the negative side, was the TV and "cable" system. Not sure if it was just my room (221), but only some of the channels worked and there was a annoying delay when surfing around, along with intermittent black outs. Also, there was a "beeping" or electronic tone happening at somewhat regular intervals. Of course, I noticed this late in evening and still have no idea where or what it was. Room 221 is immediately near the elevator, maybe that was it?

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#2 of 21 in Merrillville
373 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
1.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
Staybridge Suites Merrillville
#3 of 21 in Merrillville
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Merrillville
0.8 km away
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
Clarion Inn in Merrillville
#6 of 21 in Merrillville
168 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#8 of 21 in Merrillville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville
Address: 7775 Mississippi St, Merrillville, IN 46410-5710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing