We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In serious need of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Redford, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In serious need of attention”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We didn't enjoy our stay here. The bed was comfortable, but the room wasn't very clean (hair in the bathroom, the carpet felt dirty and damp). The outside is also in need of some attention. The parking lot was in rough shape. The building looked ok from the front, but from all other sides just looked pretty run down. Breakfast was fine, and the waffles were actually quite good. It was also a little strange...at 8 or 9pm we received a call from the front desk, just to check if things were ok. I guess it was a nice thought, but i would have been upset if I'd been asleep and the call had woken me up. Overall it was dreary and just didn't feel very clean. I don't think we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GardenGirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    72
    62
    63
    56
See reviews for
129
58
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I rated it average, because it is, but nothing 'wrong' really, just not unusual or great. It is a good value-- better rate than anywhere else nearby that exit. We have stayed there twice now; had good experinece both times. Free, hot breakfast (waffles!). We go through Merrillville once or twice a year on the way home to visit; this will be the place we stay from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaneRidgeJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were in town to attend a wedding and this was the hotel that the bride recommended. When we pulled up to this hotel my first thought was "What did we get ourselves into?" The outside of the building REALLY needs some work. The parking lot has several pot holes and the paint on the outside of the building is chipped in some places. Since we were only staying one night we said we would just deal with it and went to check in. We got to our room and we were pleasantly surprised! The room was immaculate! The furniture was a little old but the room was very clean and neat...The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed and the free breakfast in the morning was a nice added touch.

The hotel could definitely use some updating but don't let the outside appearance run you away because inside it's nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBaby117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

With just 10 days notice in peak summer traveling season we easily reserved rooms here for a Sat. night stay - we needed two of them, were traveling with 2 dogs, so had been worried. We were told we’d get rooms next to one another and on the 1st fl. That didn’t happen. When we arrived the place was jammed, and our daughter, her child, and their dog had to stay on the 2nd fl. in a totally different wing. Not convenient for a variety of reasons. Anyway, I guess the lesson learned is, don’t trust the reservation clerk at the 800# - you won’t necessarily get what you want.
Our room was “ok.” The dead-bolt lock didn’t work, but we were too tired to complain. The towels were thin. There was a cricket in bathroom. No big deal, we survived! The outdoor pool was small and very crowded, but our granddaughter enjoyed it nonetheless. Wifi very unstable (I had no connectivity the next morning when trying to check our route on line).
The staff were very nice. The king-size bed had a pillow top, which I appreciated. They do accept pets, but La Quinta policy (which I actually agree with) is not to allow pets left unattended or in public areas. The hotel is located next to a large mall and lots of other motels, and so there were plenty of grassy areas to walk them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisquabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Grove, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

had a horrible experience with their personnel putting my life in jeopardy and when i told them about it, they said they would investigate and get back to me. I guess they didn't care because I never heard from them. I would walk 10 miles in the dark to avoid this woman.i would never go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yomamma73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merrillville hotels

Newburgh, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is truly one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. We only stayed because my son's baseball team was there and they didn't want to be separated.
The hotel is in a very run down area. The parking lot and front entrance are very confusing and when you pull up it looks like a motel with the doors on the outside. We knew it was trouble when there are signs posted "not responsible for loss of vehicle or contents" When first walking in the first thing that hit us was the odor. Obviously it was treated with some kind of air freshener to cover up a different smell. The breakfast area was small and cramped - maybe only 4 tables. Check in was easy and front desk staff very nice. The rooms were cleaner then the halls and "lobby" (breakfast area). There is no lobby or gathering area to speak of. When first checked in the room was acceptable and beds and pillows very comfortable. When we woke up first morning there were several "roly-poly" bugs on bathroom floor. Some still crawling. We ignored them and made sure all of our items were off the floor. Not convenient! After being out for several hours and returning at night after a long, hot day watching/playing baseball we returned to an unmade room. When I caledl the front desk, they asked if we had the DND sign in the door. I said yes but only until 11 am and when we left we took it out. I was told by front desk attendent that house keeping was gone for the night and they only check at 8 am for the DND signs and if its in the door at that time they skip over the room and do not recheck that day. I asked for fresh towels and was brought some. Bugs were still on the floor. The next day we again had the DND sign on door until 10 and removed it. Before leaving for the day, I called and asked to have room cleaned and told them about the bugs. They said it would be taken care of. Upon returning, beds were made, fresh towels were left and that was it. Bugs still there and comfortors still crumpled in the corner. The next day we walked the long walk to the front desk and asked personally asked to have the room 100% cleaned. Upon arrival back (all baseball was rained out that day) to hotel, beds were made and fresh towels, but bugs were still there!! I stopped a house keeper in the hall and asked if they were done with our room. She said yes and I proceeded to tell her about the bugs on the floor for 3 days. She said she called maintenance and they have to come in and spray. I asked her if she would sweep them up and she said she could but they would just come back anyway so I should wait for maintenance. I told her dead bugs won't come back so I needed them swept up. She proceeded to clean them up and I sat down to write this review. We are still here and the team all agreed to tough it out just because it's easier to do that then move an entire team of 12 year old, parents and families with varying budget and ride restrictions. In addition, other hotels in area not available with 12-14 rooms for our group due to several tournaments in the area. Other members of the group have had similar issues with the rooms. Just a horrible place to be. In addition, we had to spend additional money to eat out at breakfast because it was too crowded and wouldn't dare bring food back to the room due to bug issues. Never again!!!

Room Tip: Only 1st floor is non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballmom121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The only complaint that I have is that when my husband went to check into the room at the normal check-in time (1PM), the room was not ready. However, they did take $ off of our bill to accomodate this mistake. The room was clean and the free breakfast was nice. Great variety. We will return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sortiz312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merrillville hotels
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Merrillville - US Rte. 30
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#9 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Inn & Suites Of Merrillville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Merrillville
Hampton Inn Merrillville
#1 of 21 in Merrillville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Merrillville
Comfort Suites Merrillville
#7 of 21 in Merrillville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
Candlewood Suites Merrillville
#11 of 21 in Merrillville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Merrillville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Merrillville

Property: La Quinta Inn Merrillville
Address: 8210 Louisiana St, Merrillville, IN 46410-6354
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Merrillville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Merrillville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Merrillville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn Merrillville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Merrillville Hotel Merrillville
La Quinta Hotel Merrillville
Merrillville La Quinta
La Quinta Merrillville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing