We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more but Mircotel is mini on everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expected more but Mircotel is mini on everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Microtel is conveniently located. And clean. And the tv has a great picture. This was my first Mircotel experience and I expected more - at least what I have gotten at other $99 hotels. Check in was slow and the guy was not friendly. We asked for a quiet room not by the pool, elevator or ice machine. Our room was next to both the ice machine (noisy - especially at 6am!!!) and the elevator. The space for facial tissue was empty. No shower caps to be had. And in the morning we discovered the bathroom outlet did not work - nor would the hair dryer work in any outlet near a mirror. Breakfast was ok; things were not replenished quickly. This will be my last experience with Microtel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler46321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. We try to meet the requests of all of our guests, and I apologize that your room requests were not met.

We do have rooms that are our "value" rooms. These rooms feature a queen bed and a bathroom. We have upgraded rooms that are twice the size including rooms with two queen beds, standard suites, and jacuzzi suites. I hope that you will visit us again and try one of the upgraded rooms.

I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    295
    145
    56
    26
See reviews for
356
286
45
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We chose this hotel based on good things we had heard about Microtel in general. We were very pleased with the value for the money. Hotel staff was friendly and engaging, especially manager Patrick Wright; room was small but clean and well-kept, bathroom ditto (amenities are budget: soap, shampoo and hair dryer). This hotel has a pool (which we didn't use) and a fitness room (which we did). The equipment was high-end and sturdy. For this level of motel, the breakfast was perfectly fine -- cereal, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, toast, muffins and fruit, coffee, tea, cocoa. Unfortunately, the waffle machine was out of order on our visit. We liked the location and price, and we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eskkargo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had to travel to Michigan City for a funeral, and had to quickly make motel reservations. Chose this motel based on the fact that it was the newest motel and reviews on trip advisor.com.
Due to the Norte Dame game in South Bend this weekend, it was fully booked. We were traveling with 2 kids (4 and 6) and had the queen suite room for 3 nights. It had a couch with the pool out 'bed'. I would not recommend this room if you have older kids, the pull out is highly uncomfortable! Our kids didnt seem to care. Nice work spaces with two chairs, high counter with two bar type stools for eating, cushioned sitting area above the ac unit. Interior material finishes, being a newer facility were modern styles, browns and tans. Front desk staff were very helpful when I asked for additional pillows for our kids. When traveling, we typically forgo maid service. Housekeeping did slip a note under our door saying to visit the front desk if we needed any towels, etc. I thought that was a nice gesture. Continential breakfast was decent, waffles, cereals, pastries, your typical 'free' food. Small pool (3.5' min) and hot tub, provided amusement for the kids. Rooms actually have a flat screen tv with cable tv, not the typical crappy tv services in most motels. All in all a good, newer place to stay, since there is alot of choices in Michigan City or LaPorte, unless you stay at the Blue Chip. Easy access to local food places and highways.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanDietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a newer motel with modern.contemporary styling. It's a budget type facility. Our basic one queen bedroom was very small in sq ft but had higher ceilings so it didn't feel too claustrophobic. Granite surface bathroom with a very high shower head, great for a tall person. Small, but nice indoor pool and nice size hot tub. Adequate basic breakfast with make your own waffles etc. Staff all friendly. Convenient to freeway and stores/food. Room doors "slam" and can hear noised in the hallway thru the door, as with most budget hotels. I would definitely stay here if all I need is a clean place to stay overnight, good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel.

Our hotel also has rooms that are twice the size of our single rooms. We have rooms with 2 queen beds, suites, and jacuzzi suites.

I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed Fri & Sat Of ND- AFGame. Hotel is very nice and staff freindly and excellent service. Breakfast pretty simple but good. Very clean & relatively new. Make sure you set the a/c fan to run constantly, it wil lhelp muffle the noise, the noise from the room above and the herd that was walking around was pretty loud, but these buildings are not very well sound proofed in the newer economy hotels. All in all a good experience and would definitely recommend this
place.

Room Tip: end unit on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank halrlaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband & I took a mini vacation to Michigan City to check out the Dunes, Lake Michigan, & Blue Chip Casino. I loved our room & the staff was awesome! the only downfall at all they had was that they have the "green" toilet paper which is so thin, u have to use more than normal & the showerhead is slow going so it took longer to take a shower but other than that it was awesome!! I will definitely come back next summer for a family visit

Room Tip: the king size bed with micro/fridge was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, AL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews for Michigan City hotels, we selected Microtel and, overall, we were satisfied. This is the first time we have stayed at a Microtel, so we can't compare this location to the overall chain.

Pros:
-Comfortable bed
-Bright, well-lighted and well-designed rooms that maximize the space available
-Wide hallways and stairways
-best TV picture of ANY hotel we have ever stayed at
-hotel was clean, overall

Cons:
-Suite was small, one room only with a divider, with a mini-refrigerator, bar sink, and microwave
-Closet was WAY too small
-Although the room overall was clean, there was sticky spot on the floor and we had to ask that it be cleaned.
-The maid cleaned the sticky spot, but then neglected to do any of the other cleaning of the room and didn't empty the waste baskets, or replace the in-room coffee packets.
-The electrical outlet in the bathroom didn't work (it wasn't a tripped GFI) and it had to be replaced the next day.
- Breakfast was very basic Continental, with gravy and biscuits available only on the weekend.
-The hotel has no consideration at all for early check-in. We arrived about 30 minutes early and were behind another family trying to check in. They were told NO early check-in's allowed. Most hotels will see if the room is ready and if so, allow an early check-in. This one just says "NO" as it is against policy. My issue is not that we couldn't do an early check-in, rather that it is a "policy" decision, rather than a "room not ready yet" decision.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route66Tracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Michigan City, IN. I know how valuable our guests' time is and I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our hotel.

The room did have a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, but after getting approval from the guest maintenance was able to enter the room and repair the electrical outlet. The maintenance tech saw the sticky spot with the note and cleaned the spot. However, housekeeping was not allowed in the room due to the Do Not Disturb sign that was placed on the door.

I will make sure that the staff reads your comments, and hope that we can accomodate you on a future trip to Michigan City, Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michigan City
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Michigan City
6.0 km away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Michigan City
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 16 in Michigan City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
18.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Address: 9834 W 400 N, Michigan City, IN 46360-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Michigan City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Michigan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites, a Michigan City hotel near Lake Michigan. Just off Interstate 94 and conveniently located off Route 421, the Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is five miles from Lake Michigan. Attractions like the Washington Park Zoo, the Old Lighthouse Museum and Blue Chip Casino are minutes from this Michigan City, IN hotel. Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore is nearby, offering miles of beaches, sand dunes and woodland forests. This area provides the perfect backdrop for hiking, biking, boating, bird watching, fishing or swimming. Several marinas and golf courses are in the area for you to enjoy. A variety of entertainment venues, shopping centers and specialty stores are close to this Indiana hotel. Spend the day looking for that must-have item at the Lighthouse Place Premium Outlets Mall. Several eateries and cocktail lounges are near the hotel; some are within walking distance. Travelers have access to modern conveniences like wired and wireless internet, free local and long distance calls within the Continental U.S., Business Center with copy and fax services available. The Microtel Inn & Suites hotel is the perfect place to stay during your next trip to the Lake Michigan area. Travelers will also have access to our indoor heated pool and spa, a free continental breakfast, guest laundry center, and a fitness center. Guest rooms feature a Coffee Maker, Clock Radio, Iron/Board and Haidryer, 32 inch Cable HDTV with HBO in all rooms, and many rooms also have a microwave and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Michigan City
Microtel Inn & Suites Michigan City Hotel Michigan City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing