We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful garden paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motueka River Lodge
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here with my boyfriend and we loved it! The grounds are beautiful, with a well-tended organic vegetable garden, fruit trees, flowers, plenty of birds, and it's all surrounded by awesome mountain vistas and rolling hills. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well decorated. The lodge is small, with no more than 12 guests at a time, giving the property a very intimate and exclusive feel. The host is wonderful and made sure all of our needs were taken care of. Nearby wineries and hiking made for exciting day trips. This was our first stop in New Zealand and it will definitely be hard to beat!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet with great views. There is a cute 3 bedroom cottage that would be perfect f...
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Motueka River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

Traveling from the South to the North, a family of three
We were met by Lady Dee and taken-In for tea
Big fluffy beds and crisp clean sheets, and before long we are asleep

Up early 'ish' for a cottage breakfast & exploration
A beautifully property' the River Lodge be.
Mountain vista's, seasonal gardens and things of interest to see.
Live here ..... If only I could, I certainly would.

H, H & D want to give Dee and her family our Hart felt thanks for their wonderful and understanding hospitality.

We look forward to the next time we have a chance to stay ..... next time summer time and a little fishing :)

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We are a French couple and we spent some great days in the lodge. It was really peaceful. We enjoyed the beautiful garden and the view of the valley. The lodge is a high standard and we had a warm welcome. We recommend this place to spend some relaxing days and don't forget to eat some dinner there : the food is just amazing! We really enjoyed the white bait patties!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaux M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014 via mobile

I have spend 3 wonderful days at The Motueka River Lodge and it has been an unforgettable experience. The lodge is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and very luxurious and the hosts are always friendly and happy to do everything to make you feel at home. The food was excellent, we have enjoyed every bite. We can highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Schei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We have spend one week in the amazing Motueka River Lodge and it was a wonderful experience. The accommodation is high class, the food is excellent and the hosts are lovely and always ready to help out. The view on the mountains is beautiful and we can only recommend this place to everybody who feels like escaping from reality for a while and relax in a wonderful environment.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We, a german couple, stayed in the lodge with an cosy indoor fire place for the nights for 1 week and had a pleasant holiday. The view to the snowy mountains had been awesome, its nice and quiet there, about a 20 min drive to Motueka, the next town. The food has been delicous, like white bait, and they produce their own tasty vine there, jammy. Our hosts were gentle and friendly and we enjoyed a good time. Its only a 5 min walk to the river, and they have a tennis court and a beautiful pond to relax aswell.

Thanks for the good time!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

One of my best experience in New Zealand! You will meet there some of the most amazing people you will never encounter in your life : at least I did! The location is beautiful and so peaceful, the stunning Motueka river just a few steps away, and the food, oh the food, so goooood! Such a perfect chef! Such a perfect place to stay! Such a lovely family to meet! I totally recommend the lodge and I strongly invite anyone to experience that special feeling about true and warm Kiwi hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pacificow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Motueka River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motueka River Lodge

Address: 1173 Motueka Valley Highway (Highway 61), Ngatimoti, Motueka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka > Ngatimoti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngatimoti
Price Range: $491 - $1,527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Motueka River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on a 25 year reputation of excellence this private 5 star Luxury Lodge was the pioneer of Luxury Lodges in New Zealand and today remains unrivaled. It has developed a patina of understated exclusivity, surrounded by first-class adventure. Able Tasman National Park, Trout-Fishing, Golfing, Hiking coupled with exquisite cuisine and friendly staff, will ensure your time spent here in our beautiful part of the world will be an experience to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motueka River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing