We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome food!”

Moby's Beach Side Retreat
Price range: US$12 - US$28
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

My daughter and I had dinner here last night. Entrees of gnocchi with creamy prawns and chorizo was perfect and the salt,and pepper squid was beautifully cooked. Service was great too the young guys in the kitchen create fresh well thought out meals and the wait staff were attentative and friendly. We have been coming here for years but this,was one of our most enjoyable visits

Thank donnaandcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobys, Guest Relations Manager at Moby's Beach Side Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

The young guys in the kitchen are very passionate about creating amazing meals and were thrilled to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 52 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Highly recommend this breezy seaside restaurant cafe. Lovely fresh garden salad, perfectly cooked jew fish, and yummy chips. The quirky beachside decor and friendly staff make this coastal diner add to the relaxed ambience.

Thank Boheme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobys, Front Office Manager at Moby's Beach Side Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for your review. We will pass your compliments on to all the staff who were working over the Easter weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a Sunday Night dinner here...very packed for a Sunday night and we knew why...the food is excellent. We had four adults and two children and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Excellent young male waiter as well. Would definitely recommend although it is a bit pricey.

Thank capricorntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobys, Front Office Manager at Moby's Beach Side Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We are glad that you all enjoyed your meals
We are focused on sourcing the best quality produce, sourced locally where possible and we are continually receiving lots of positive feedback from our customers. Please come back and see us again... We'd love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Considering the quality of reviews and the price point, we were very disapointed with both the service and food. The main positive was the convenience of location near to Blueys Beach.

The 'garden salad' which came with the fish and chips consisted of nothing but a few rocket leaves. The cauliflower & sweet potato (harissa) salad was dry and lacked harissa. The salt and pepper squid deserved a place on the dessert menu as it was so sweet.

The service was very poor and lacked friendliness. Despite us being one of only two groups in the restaurant the staff were inattentive and had no idea about their menu. One of our orders was forgotten by the kitchen and there were alot of flies.

All in all not a great visit.

Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobys, Owner at Moby's Beach Side Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for the feed back, however I am very surprised by some of your comments.
The Cauliflower Salad and the Salt and Pepper Squid are two of our most liked dishes.
I would be very interested to hear more of how you think we should improve both our meals and service.
We take all feed back very seriously and are constantly striving to better ourselves.
So please feel free to contact me so we can learn more about where we went wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Mobys for the first time and enjoyed our stay. Our one bedroom apartment was smaller and less luxurious than I had thought based on the website photos, however, it wasn’t small, just different than I imagined. It was very humid at the time of our visit and without aircon it could get quite hot. We found that keeping the blinds closed with the ceiling fans on did the trick.
The tropical plants surrounding the rooms give the resort a nice feel and seemed to attract birds, which was nice. The pool area was also good.
Boomerang Beach is very pretty but the surf was a little rough for our baby. A short drive to Elizabeth Beach was worth it for the calmer water.
Overall I thought the resort was quite nice but perhaps a little pricey for the apartment we got. It looks like each apartment is different though, so we may have just been unlucky with that.

Thank Melmellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobys, Front Office Manager at Moby's Beach Side Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

thanks for taking the time to write us a review. All of our beach houses still meet the 4 star rating given to us however some have slight differences in their features and furnishings. If you have a preference or special request for next time be sure to let us know and we will try our best to provide you with something that suits your requirements.
We hope that you will consider staying with us next time you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby's Beach Side Retreat also viewed

Blueys Beach, New South Wales
Blueys Beach, New South Wales
 
Elizabeth Beach, New South Wales
 
Blueys Beach, New South Wales
Charlotte Bay, New South Wales
 

Been to Moby's Beach Side Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing