We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful grounds and museum

I love this place. Peaceful and beautiful. The art gallery is awesome as well as touring the home... read more

Reviewed December 30, 2018
Connie P
,
Nashville, Indiana, United States
Beautiful Site to Visit

I love going here - have been a number of times, and it never gets old. They were in the process of... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2018
barbaranZ865JX
,
Helmsburg, Indiana
via mobile
Read all 86 reviews
  
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
51
29
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
29
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour gift shop is wonderful tour brown county interesting history art gallery studio tc selma hoosier inspiration indiana memorial wagon restored alive nature
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

T.C. Steele is my favorite artist. I not only have seen his work at the IMA, but in his little studio in Nashville, In. I would recommend this as a stop if you are in the area, you will not be disappointed. We loved it.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank kiagranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Too bad we didn't bring a picnic. Mind you, we visited on a beautiful July day, but we brought nothing to eat or drink. Had we been more thoughtful, what a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the scenery. And then there's the T. C. Steele studio and house. What he did for Indiana--particularly Brown County--can still be felt to this day. If you enjoy American art, his oil paintings (portraits and landscapes) are just superb. This important American artist settled in Brown County, bringing with him other artists. Why, just look at the art and vibrancy of nearby Nashville, IN. I give Mr. Steele credit for that.

Enjoy the tour of the studio and his house. It's amazing the amount of restoration and authenticity here. The tour lasts about 45 minutes.

And if it's a beautiful day, take a walk down the path to pay your respects to Mr. Steele and his family--buried under majestic oaks not far from his house.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2017

T.C.Steel was an important artist and helped make Nashville the artist colony that it became famous for. A visit to this peaceful location is absolutely worth the time and effort. Beautiful situation and lovely art.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Anniebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2017

No matter what time of year you come, you won't be disappointed. The grounds are beautiful, the art is eclectic. I can imagine T.C. sitting in his studio in the morning with the light cascading through the glass wall. No wonder this cat's art is so good! The grounds re amazing, there a few trails you can walk to relax and contemplate life. The $7 admission charge is well worth it.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Johnnyrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2016

A great place to visit! I often come here in the spring to see all the daffodils in bloom on the hillside leading up to the house. Steele's wife Selma reportedly planned her gardens so that something would be in bloom just about year-round. The short tour of the workshop and house is very interesting. So fascinating that this beautiful location was farmland when Steele bought it! There are some short trails on the property, providing a peaceful walk. Longer trails in the Hoosier National Forest may be found just across the road.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank gr8day_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews