We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Site to Visit

I love going here - have been a number of times, and it never gets old. They were in the process of... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2018
Barbara N
via mobile
Great Side Trip!

I really enjoyed the tour of the workshop and home. When the visitor center opens, this will be a... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2018
HoosierDady
,
North Central Indiana
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
50
29
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
29
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a bit off the beaten path guided tour gift shop is wonderful tour brown county interesting history my husband and i studio tc paintings selma hoosier inspiration indiana memorial wagon restored
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 85 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017

We started at the main site, walked along the road to the start of the Inspiration Ridge Trail, looked at the Remote Studio (which has rotten boards, one on the roof and one on the side), went down the Peckerwood Trail and then returned via the Haunted Whippoorwill Trail to the house site. The Inspiration Ridge trail was clear. The others are not heavily traveled (paths really) and not well cleared but we didn't have any problems route-finding. It would be difficult in winter with snow cover. (Note: The house site is closed on Mondays.)

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank IndySwimRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017

This out of the way place was a nice find, especially if one enjoys paintings. The history of the estate and how TC Steele came to be such an artist worth the visit. Much kept in original condition, especially the house and furnishings.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

The T.C. Steele Historic Site was a place of true peace for me. The yard felt much like the space where I was raised. Big, old shady trees and quiet. You can hear the breeze through the trees and the squirrels preparing for the winter. Delightful.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Absolutely loved the T.C, Steele historic home and gardens. The staff was superb, very knowledgable and friendly. The home has been meticulously restored. We loved walking on the grounds and exploring too.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

I was amazed at the House of the singing Winds. The area is one of the most peaceful places Ive ever been. If you are into art at all this is the place for you.You will get an education. Ive been there numerous times and I will return again over and over again. Do not miss this.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank oliverfluffdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews