We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to snuff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Plymouth
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to snuff”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel appears new and the staff is very nice. Rooms are not as clean as they can be and frankly the ownership is not the most friendly. Breakfast is good for coffee only unless you like stale microwave food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plymouth, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Mitchieboy,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I greatly appreciate you calling out the good qualities also. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. I would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Best wishes,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
37
12
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had no reservations, figured Holiday Inn would be best bet for a last minute decision to stay overnight in Indiana.

Only rooms available were very outdated Jacuzzi rooms.
King bed with an old stained Jacuzzi in the middle of the room.
The Receptionist had to make several attempts to unlock a room for us and kept trying
different keys and rooms.
In the morning I received a notice/bill that my credit card was unable to accept my charge so I went to the front desk and happily provided them with a different card.

A couple of days later I discovered that I had been charged twice for my stay. Once on each card.

Today I will be contacting the Holiday Inn to see how well they handle this mishap. Ill let you know.

Really Unimpressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domesticdiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Plymouth, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Domesticdiva10,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Our team stayed at this hotel, as the hotel choices are limited for teams playing at Culver Academy. Most of the team were okay with this property. Our experience was not as good. When we arrived our room was freezing. No heat had been on for a long time. Took hours to warm the room up. The shower did not drain, I was standing in 2 inches of water trying to shower and figure out what was wrong with the shower. My 17 year old daughter and I, in 2 different beds both woke up with bites on our ankles. Mine itched, hers were just red and sore.The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. When my 9 year old daughter went to shower she had no hot water at all. The pancake machine thing was not working for breakfast. We had smelled electrical burning when we left for our game, when we came back the fire alarm had gone off. They were doing renovations at the time. Also when we returned an over powering smell of glue in our hallway, made breathing difficult for myself with asthma. It did not smell in our room so I was okay..This was the worst stay at a Holiday Inn we have ever had. There just is not any other places to stay in this area, when the Swan Lake is closed and there is a new Comfort Inn opening soon next door..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caiseljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently spent three nights at this very comfortable hotel, and was pleased with the quality of the property and the staff.

The hotel itself is a modern oasis in Plymouth. :) A colleague and I were working in a neighboring town, and it was a pleasure to return to the hotel each evening. Easy access to the freeway and charming downtown Plymouth.

The front desk staff and the breakfast room manager were friendly and helpful. I only had a few interactions with them and they were all pleasant. (Breakfast was included in the nightly rate.)

The room was spacious and comfortable. Free wi-fi! There is some renovation work going on, but it didn't impact my stay at all. I'd happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali4niaColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, MI
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

On a recent motorcycle trip, I stayed at this hotel. Plymouth, IN is a nice place to stay for the night while in this area and traveling without reservations. Plymouth is located at the intersection of US-30 and US-31 so there are a few other motel/hotel properties to choose from in the immediate area. The Holiday Inn Express was clean and showing signs of recent renovations. The owners are clearly working to retain and/or get travelers business. I thought the price of $106 + taxes was a little high for a weeknight stay in a non-resort city. The hotel did not appear to be full but they would not discount beyond the usual AAA rate. I have stayed in many hotels of this caliber for a lower rate that included a refigerator and micor-wave in the room. My room did not have these ammenities. I might try another property if I'm in the area to see what others offer.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and I slept really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prototypecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Clean, right off the highway. Nothing special - nothing bad either.

-- you can tell they are updating - rooms missing numbers, and obvious construction happening. My room had already been done. Not a bad stay at all

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for a business trip...not many hotels in this small town. This hotel is finishing up renovations and it is really nice and clean. Probably one of the cleanest I've seen. Mattress was the most comfortable I've had..in fact tried to find the brand on mattress because it was so great. Had your usual breakfast station that was nice. Scrambled eggs/sausage patties...not day had bacon (which almost was an oink oink...pretty raw...had to microwave it to cook it...), pastries, cereals. Nice pool. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 6 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
10.2 km away
Swan Lake Resort
Swan Lake Resort
#1 of 6 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Plymouth
Days Inn Plymouth
#5 of 6 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#17 of 29 in South Bend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
26.3 km away
The Inn at Amish Acres
The Inn at Amish Acres
#1 of 2 in Nappanee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
18.9 km away
Culver Cove Resort
Culver Cove Resort
#1 of 2 in Culver
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Plymouth

Property: Holiday Inn Express Plymouth
Address: 2619 N. Michigan Street, Plymouth, IN 46563-7838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Plymouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Plymouth is located half way between Indianapolis and Chicago, near the intersection of US 31 and US 30. We offer 73 spacious, exquisitely furnished Guest Rooms, with free high speed internet, large indoor swimming pool, well equipped fitness center, large meeting room, gorgeous lobby area plus a beautifully arranged Great Room for your Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast. All Guest Rooms are furnished with One King or Two Queen size beds with cable TV, in-room Coffeemaker, Hairdryer, Iron and full Ironing board, AM/FM Radio, Clock, Two phones with Two lines, Data Port, message and voice mail, Sofa/recliner chair, writing desk and chair with additional lights. King Suites are provided with One King, One Queen Sofa Sleeper, Refrigerator, Microwave and Sink. Honeymoon Suite is furnished with large spa, small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and a sink. A fireplace is in a separate living room. For expanded family we have a two room suite that can accommodate 4 - 6 guests. We have four wheelchair accessible rooms with visual alert, five feet turning space, roll-in/ transferable seat/ handheld shower, bath tubs, toilet grab bars, 32 inch entry door, connecting room with wide doors. Visit Plymouth, IN and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing