We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay while traveling the Interstate...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

While not visible from I-94, it is not far from the exit so makes for a good, clean stop for the nightn when traveling the interstate (same exit as Bass Pro Shop and Longhorn Steakhouse...Starbucks, too). Near the hotel are two gas stations, too, so that makes it very convenient. Our check in process was fine, and the morning breakfast was typical for a Hampton Inn. The king sized bed was higher off the floor than in other hotel stays, and I felt a bit like "princess and the pea." I remembered this when I stumbled out of bed during the middle of the night to use the bathroom. The room was clean, and after there was some noise out in the hall mid-evening, it was quiet. The bathroom could use soom updating. The bathtub was curved and made it challenging to keep balance standing for a shower.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Hampton Inn in Portage several times. We like this area because we can take the South Shore RR into Chicago for the day. The Hampton is no more than 4 miles from the South Shore stop at Ogden Dunes (free all day parking there). The one-way fare for the South Shore is about 6 or 7 dollars and you can buy tickets on the train. The South Shore will drop you at the Randolph St. station on Michigan Avenue at the north edge of Millenium Park (the BEAN!) and within walking distance to the Art Institute, Macy"s (think Marshall Fields) and other shopping and theaters in and near the Loop.

Now back to the Hampton. LIke I said we've stayed there several times and what keeps bringing us back to this particular hotel is the great breakfast. More than the usual make-your-own waffles, but always a hot item, plus biscuits, cereal, juice, coffee, toast, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: We've stayed in several different rooms here and never had a bad experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We chose to use our reward points for this hotel. We were quickly checked in but the room assignment was looking straight into the stucco wall of the front entrance way. This gave NO view and resulted in a dark room. It was the worst room I've seen in many years of travel. When I returned to the front desk saying it was unacceptable I was told the one right above that one was available but I expected the higher part of the roof would still block the window. I asked if there was anything else and was assigned a different room that was acceptable. I was told the room had been assigned by a new employee but doubted that when the second offereing was right above that. From the parking lot after we returned from dinner and again in the morning the hotel didn't appear to be full.

Room Tip: Make sure you are NOT behind the entrance roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had to make a quick stop in Portage to take care of some family issues and we chose the Hampton Inn. Great location, friendly staff, and great breakfast (as usual). The hotel was really clean all the way around from the parking lot, lobby, and room. The Hillbilly Grill located next door is a great place for a burger and the staff there is excellant. Close to two freeways and gas facilities, as well as a few good places to eat. Will be back again next time we are through Portage.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foreman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I don't have too much to say about this hotel. Not the best and not the worst. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast. The breakfast lady was very nice and everything was well stocked and in order. The hotel is very close to I-94. There is a bar across the street that looks ok but I didn't get a chance to check it out. I would go back because of the location being near Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

After a long day in the car, we were pleasantly surprised by the very reasonable price, very clean room, and very pleasant young lady at the front desk. I called from the road to book a room and she had everything ready when we arrived, was very helpful with directions to nearby attractions and places to eat. Our non-smoking queen room was very clean, spacious bathroom. The pool area was also very clean, with easy access from the lobby and chairs & tables to relax while the kids are in the pool. The deluxe continental breakfast was very nice with biscuits, waffles, sausage, pastries, cereal, muffins, etc. Access to the beach/lakefront was 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin112093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The highest compliment I can give any hospitailty property is that they are responsive to guests requests. The facility may not always have everything you want/need - but if they will make the effort to get it, they are awesome. This hotel did that for us. We will be back. Additionally, location is convenient to the highway, nearby restaurants. Ideal stopping place before you hit Chicago traffic - or if you need to take a break once you've gone though it! One caveat - the business center computer wasn't working. Internet/Wi-fi is free - so best to bring your own or ask when you make your reservation.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leebloome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
10.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
0.8 km away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#7 of 12 in Portage
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: $102 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing