We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite return trip planned”
Review of Super 8 Portage

Super 8 Portage
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Portage
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A definite return trip planned”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We were meeting ou grandchildren and their mom to stay a couple days. We wanted access to a fishing spot so my husband could take his grandsons fishing for the first time. Never being up that way to stay I had no clue what we would be getting, but cost was a big factor. We got to the hotel and I was impressed. The staff was soooo friendly, it was an older hotel but very clean. Plus, there had been updates in places. Alot of truck drivers use it since it is close to Chicago and even they were friendly with conversations. It was only 10 minutes to Lake Michigan and a wonderful fishing pier. We had a great time. No pool at the hotel but we didn't need it. We will go back again. Not much for breakfast but there was a Dennys across the street. Great place for the money..............

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babylou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    69
    50
    20
    22
See reviews for
61
35
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have stayed at a few Super 8's, but never stayed at one this bad. We had a smoking room. Which for a smoking room didn't smell bad, but the floor was black. I never took my shoes off. Box springs were old and stained. If it was a $20 dollar room it would have been fine, but we paid $63. There are many hotels in this area, wish we stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirt2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portage hotels

Brookfield
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Even in a snow storm - don't go!!! Smoking room, OK, I travel and have been in smoking rooms before. This place sucked - we did not get into the room until around 10:30PM (prior commitment). Stunk - carpeting full of cigarette holes and stains - lamp shades ready to fall apart and stained, flimsy at best - dusty, furniture nicked and sliver-ready. The bathroom is equal to a low quality gas station. No fillers in the cracked tile floors, dirt and who knows what in the corners built up to over 1/2" hgh. The sealer around the bath tub was yellow and the toliet was cracked. What a mess. I got a non-refundable rate, but am pursuing a refun anyway. Keep all children OUT. I should have burned my money instead. Health Department should visit

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookfieldBigRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed here on a vacation and I loved the price but I am willing to pay a little more next time for a nicer hotel. It may be time for an update here. The bed was very uncomfortable and we skipped on the free basic breakfast and went to Denny's. The walls were super thin and I didn't want to take my shoes off or sleep in the bed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veruca182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My wife, our dog, and I stayed there on August 9th, 2009. The staff loved our dog, which pleased us. But overall we felt it was an average facility.

The hotel seemed clean, but its frayed appearance made for an unpleasant atmosphere. There was a free breakfast but we decided to skip it, and instead went to the Denny's down the road, next to the Days Inn. This facility caters to truckers, all of whom were nice. But my wife said she would have felt uncomfortable had she been traveling alone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB&JAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My husband, dog, and I spent four days at the Super 8 in Portage, IN. We were very pleased with this dog-friendly place. Our room was clean and well kept. We were in room 326, a king suite. It was one large room, with a sitting area. It had a fridge and a microwave. There was plenty of grass around the parking lot to walk the dog. The employees were friendly. Breakfast was simple: juice, cereal, muffins, but enough to put something in your stomach. We'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

stayed 2 nights w/ son doing college visit in the area and visiting family in chicago. would have been difficult to find off I80/90 without GPS, but very easy on and off I94 (close to ramps - 1/4 mile?). had problems checking in - person in front of me had no reservations and clerk thought she had one room left. her computer froze three times while she was trying to search. i almost interupted and asked that i be taken care of because i had reservations, had just driven 9 hrs, and it was 12:30 am eastern time (i live on eastern time). finally that person was taken care of and we were able to get to our room. 2 dbl room was large enough for the two of us - we were only there to sleep.
wireless internet access was easy and we had no problems.
elevator was broken, so we had to go up three flights of stairs - not a problem for us, but may have been for other travellers.
we were on third floor (non-smoking), but had to pass 2nd floor (smoking floor) - held breath as we climbed the steps. our room was clean, beds were comfy (and we got an extra hr of sleep d/t being in midwest). bkfst was ALL starch - bagels, muffins, but coffee was pretty good - provided a good start until we could hit a quick fast food bkfst.

would stay again if just myself and son, but not wife and whole family.

  • Liked — price,coffee
  • Disliked — difficulty during check in
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PHARMHAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
373 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
137 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Portage
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portage

Property: Super 8 Portage
Address: 6118 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1317
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portage Super Eight
Portage Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing