We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay for 30 miles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver, was
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best place to stay for 30 miles”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

this is the nicest hotel in a 30 mile radius.
decent, (typical) breakfast bar. good hotel staff.
there when you need them, not when you dont

Room Tip: get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We had an overnight stay at this Holiday Inn because of a funeral. We got a funeral rate, (without asking). which was nice. The staff was friendly, efficient. The room was nice, large, with an unusully large bathroom. Every thing was very clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, very clean with nice linens and pillows.. Also, the express breakfast was the best that we have had! Great biscuits and gravy, omlets, sausage, hot cinnamon rolls, hot pancakes, and the usual cereal and juice, and some fruit. We could tell that the friendly breakfast hostess took pride in arranging and serving the foods . One little extra we noticed was that there were lots of electrical outlets plus wireless hook ups. The outlets were convenient because we had to recharge our phones.
The "Wings and Rings Restaurant in front of the hotel was nice. (We had a snack there)We had dinner at the Pizza King which is always my favorite in other towns. Don't go there! Pizza was good but the bathroom was TERRIBLE! Almost made me sick to think of eating there. And wondering what the kitchen must be like. Shudder!
WE would certainly stay at the Holiday Inn if we visit Portland again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetirednurseIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel was exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly. The pool was smaller than it appears in the website photos, but still an average size for an indoor hotel pool. Breakfast was fine, not extraordinary, but the cinnamon rolls were very good. I would definitely stay there anytime I'm in the area again.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks to get a suite if you prefer 3 beds. It was worth the minimal cost to separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LulaBKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed here again and 2 years later, it remains a great place. Still clean, still new-looking, still friendly staff. This time we met some family here, & did swim in the pool. It too was clean and nice. We had a good time. A "wings" restaurant has been built next to the motel since we were there last time; we didn't eat there, but some family did & said it was good. I would again recommend this facility to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I have had occassion to stay at this location on three different occasions since it's opening and have been pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms, the price, and the helpfulness of the staff. Other colleagues from my company who have stayed at this hotel have also been well satisfied.

This truly is the nicest place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHi0Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We've stayed at other motels in the area & this one is the best, especially in Portland, IN. Others are OK, but this one opened in August 2008, and it is very nice. The King room we had was large & bathroom nice size and CLEAN. The lobby/reception area is welcoming & the breakfast area is spacious & not crowded (like some we've been in). We didn't use the indoor pool, but did check it out & it's not large, but looked very nice, and the deck area around it looked sufficient for families & small gatherings. Free breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express offerings, (adequate but not chef-prepared) including omelettes & meat. Staff was very friendly although being new they had a little trouble figuring out how to handle my reservation I made thru Expedia. I would highly recommend this facility to anyone, & would imagine it will be full during special events in the area.

  • Liked — New, clean, inviting
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
39.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Celina
2.0 km away
No photo provided
Hoosier Inn
#1 of 2 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
25.8 km away
Clock Tower Inn Berne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
West Bank Inn
West Bank Inn
#1 of 2 in Celina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
37.0 km away
Romer's Westlake Hotel Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland
Address: 100 Holiday Dr, Portland, IN 47371-3033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Indiana boasts a hotel with comfort and excellent facilities. Relaxation awaits you at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Portland, Indiana. We are conveniently located off Highways 26 and 67 as they merge together, providing easy access to the Fort Wayne International Airport and the surrounding cities of Muncie and Gas City, Indiana as well as Celina, Ohio. Families will enjoy staying at our choice Portland, Indiana hotel, which offers close proximity to several area attractions, including the Dunkirk Glass Museum, Jay County Fairgrounds and the Loblolly Marsh and Wetland Preserve. Other nearby attractions include the Arts Place and the Jay Garment Antique Mall, places that establish Portland as a collector's paradise. Business travelers will also appreciate the comfortable accommodations at our hotel in Portland, IN. Situated within walking distance of downtown Portland, the hotel offers easy access to several large companies, such as ATI Portland Forge, the Coca-Cola Bottling Company, Tyson Foods, Inc., POET Biorefining, Alphabet and FCC, Inc. While visiting the Holiday Inn Express In Portland, Indiana you can enjoy amenities that include a heated, indoor swimming pool, an outdoor patio, a 24-hour fitness center and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your hotel reservation now and save with our smart Portland, Indiana hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing