We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap Friendly but a little Worn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Richmond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Richmond
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Richmond
new holland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap Friendly but a little Worn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My room was good and clean. Everything worked .I would say a little worn on the carpet and furniture. Friendly staff and quick check in. The price was $52 plus tax and I think slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    19
    41
    49
    46
See reviews for
62
28
25
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SE Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Old and worn accomodations; didn't feel especially safe. Had reservations for two nights, after returning for our second night our room keys didn't work and we had to go to the lobby; which is unattached. Had to walk outside, across the parking lot in the dark to correct the key issue. TV remote in room would not power on/off tv.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
279 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This motel is in need of renovation - the is carpet spotted and the furniture is old. But the rooms are large and I liked the dual sinks - one in with the toilet/tub and one in the bedroom.

The staff is very friendly but the breakfast is minimal. There's a huge grocery store just across the parking lot so it's easy to pick up some things there. We grew up in the midwest and now live out west, so a close by White Castle was a treat!

Sheets were clean, as were the towels. Nothing fancy, but priced right.

Note that the office is in an entirely different building than the rooms.

Room Tip: I'd suggest upstairs so you don't have anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Pet friendly hotel with very friendly staff who actually gave us dog treats when we checked in. That was a first. The room is large so there's plenty of space.

The hotel though is very dated though and needs TLC badly. Our room's air conditioner sounded like it needed new bearings for the fan. I let the staff know about that. The floor felt a little damp like it was recently steam cleaned. They needed to let that room air out before opening that room to new guests. Wall paper in the bathroom looked like someone with no experience did the installation. Door jam was rusty. Sheets were threadbare and had a stain, too. Really can't complain for the money and no pet deposit or service fee.

A major overhaul is needed. A handyman making a checklist on every room would be a good start.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVSAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We were planning on staying here on the first night of our cross country road trip. The motel was pretty busy that night and we had to park in the back of the parking lot which wasn't very well lit. After we parked we were gathering our things and my husband noticed a car speeding up towards our car very quickly. A man came running at the car and opened my door. Once he saw my husband was in the car as well he put up his hands and ran away back to his car. I never even saw the inside of the motel because we immediately went and got our money back. The rooms might be ok but it is not safe. I would recommend staying somewhere that cares enough about their customers to put in lights in their parking lot.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shunoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

My daughter and I spent the nIght before her wedding here. She woke up the next morning, HER WEDDING DAY!!, with her left eye lid all red and swollen and she numerous red welts on her arms and legs. She was devasteded and wanted to cancel the wedding. She has very sensutive skin and has servere reactions to any type of insect bites. We immediately thought of bed bugs and started checking the beds. We found one on her pillow, which we killed and put in a baggie. I took it to the front desk. I was told by the lady there that she thought it was a tick & not a bed bug. I have never seen a tick that looked like that!! But I have never seen a bed bug before. I told her either way they had a big problem & they had better get it taken care of. She gave me half off our room!! Big deaL!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank psjack56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I visit Richmond regularly. The Super 8 is very economical, and the staff very friendly. They even remember my child's name when he's not with me. I agree with the prior review. This is one of the original Howard Johnson's from 40+ years ago. A few years ago there was an off smell to the halls. But with new carpet and better upkeep, the odor is gone. The wireless now works well. The breakfast is cold cereal and coffee/juice - bare bones, but a good value. The adjacent Indian/Chinese restaurant is slow and marginal. The Bob Evans across the street is better, but shuts down earlier than one would expect. The Comfort Inn across the street and the Fairfield Inn 5 miles east are definitely newer and nicer. But the Super 8 is often substantially cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomLechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
6.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
BEST WESTERN Classic Inn
#2 of 10 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Motel 6 Richmond
Motel 6 Richmond
#8 of 10 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
#3 of 10 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.5 km away
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Inn Richmond
#1 of 1 in New Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Richmond

Property: Super 8 Richmond
Address: 2525 Chester Blvd, Richmond, IN 47374-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Super 8 Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Richmond
Richmond Super Eight
Richmond Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing