We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need, just older...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rising Star Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you need, just older...”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Peeked in a remodled room, super nice! Sad thing is, you go to your room and they are a little worn and out dated. Appreciate the comp so late in the evening from Missy the host, front desk girls seem a little tired. Pool looked clean, the view of the river is nice. Would def, stay in an upgraded new room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimvogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    79
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
29
116
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I love this Casino but will never again stay in a room there. The rooms are old, and even on a Thursday check-in we had to wait until almost 7 PM before they had a room ready for us. The window was so dirty we couldn't see the river from it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggieblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster,ohio
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

For years now, for my birthday, my husband would take me to your Riverboat. We would use the free night stay coupons for sundays night that you would send us. Now, on Sundays the rooms are not free. Sunday is the only night that we can stay do to work. I have always loved this time together with my husband on my birthday. I guess this birthday i can spend our money on some thing else.I am so unhappy!!!!!
D. Wohrer
Lancaster,Ohio

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeLancaster-ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay here, decent clean rooms, nice pool/hot tub area and friendly staff. We ate the buffet which is isnt the best but ok, not worth almost $20/pp though :/

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberlee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louisville, oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Spent two nights after Christmas at what is now called the Rising Star Casino ( was called Grand Victoria). This is one of my favorites casinos and hotels. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is very polite and friendly. The indoor pool and workout area is great. The town has some nice antique shops and resturants also if you want to venture out of the hotel. The casino is small and noticed many new machines have been added. Saw many people winning and didn't do too bad myself. I would definately stay here and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Hotel was clean and we slept well, its a nice place to get away to for a weekend and do some casino slot time or 3 card poker1
A very nice Buffet ands let me tell you those slots are NOT tight, we love the slots here have won some good money :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonyacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Now Rising Star.This is still my favorite casino in Indiana.My last visit my room was comped so I'm not complaining about anything except as a smoker of course I book a smoking room and the room reeked of cigarettes more than I think it should but otherwise clean and friendly staff.I enjoy just getting away for the night and this is perfect.I'm fond of the casino it's my favorite that I've been to so far in IN.Great rates during weekdays and winter months.The buffett is better than other unmentioned casino buffetts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Sun
15.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrenceburg
16.1 km away
Hollywood Casino Lawrenceburg Hotel
19.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Lawrenceburg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence/Cincinnati Airport
17.8 km away
Homewood Suites Cincinnati Airport South-Florence
18.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lawrenceburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Star Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Star Casino Resort

Property: Rising Star Casino Resort
Address: 777 Rising Star Dr, Rising Sun, IN 47040-9513
Region: United States > Indiana > Rising Sun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rising Sun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Star Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising along the shore of the mighty Ohio River in scenic Rising Sun, Indiana, is a spectacular resort casino. Step aboard our 322 ft. long, 40,000 sq.ft., casino...all ship-shape in the style of a Victorian sternwheeler. As soon as you walk through the door at Rising Star Casino Resort you receive the STAR treatment. Check into one of our 294 rooms, splash into our sparkling indoor pool, hit the fitness center, make a tee time at our Scottish links-style golf course or try your luck in Rising Star's exciting casino. Our casino features nearly 1,000 of the most popular slot machines or you can sit with one of our friendly dealers & play your favorite table game. Rising Star Casino has weekly live entertainment in the Pub & Pavilion, a wonderful selection at the River View Buffet, mouth watering specialties at Wellington's Steakhouse & fast choices at Queen City Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rising Star Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victoria Casino And Resort By Hyatt Hotel Rising Sun
Rising Sun Grand Victoria
Hyatt Rising Sun
Rising Sun Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing