We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inhospitable”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Strange management. Multiple hockey teams were invited to book at this hotel by a local tournament. The hotel management was not on the same page.

10:00PM is an important time at this hotel. You can't hang out in the lobby, even if you are alone and want to read. If you book their conference room, you cannot occupy it after that time.

We tailgated in their empty rear parking lot. At some point during this, they decided that the door from the pool to the rear parking lot was now an emergency exit. They said they would post a sign to that effect. To my knowledge they decided not to enforce this after all.

They have a nice fire pit in front. We hung out there one night. It ran out of propane. We informed the management. They said they would not get any more because they didn't want us out there.

I'm not going to lie and say we were quiet. When you book multiple youth hockey teams there is going to be noise. The parents just wanted to hang out and enjoy our time together when not on the ice. We spent most of that time complaining about the hotel.

Oh - and the WiFi is truly terrible. It works in the lobby, not anywhere else in the hotel.

Room Tip: Not for traveling sports teams, that is for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Guest Services at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is true that we have quiet hours that do need to be followed for the comfort of all guests staying at the hotel for whatever reason they've come to our location. As a hotel we book with people staying for all kinds of reasons. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

Sincerely,

Comfort Suites

574-291-3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017

We recently stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. The hotel itself is fine, generally clean, had a decent pool; when we walked in we thought we would have a great stay. But the staff is a completely different story. I have never felt so unwelcome at a hotel...ever. They told us that the lobby closes at 10pm, they constantly patrolled the hallways, yelling at the kids the second they left one room and went to another (even during the day), and even told the adults that we weren't allowed to be out of our rooms after 10pm, and, we also weren't allowed to congregate in anyone else's room, either.

It was a nice weekend, weather-wise, so we set up a grill in the completely empty back parking lot, and used the door in the pool to access the parking lot. The desk staff tried to tell us that door was an emergency exit (it is not), and proceeded to print up a fake "emergency exit only" sign.

Seriously, if you don't want hockey teams (which, by definition, come with little hockey players) in your hotel, don't sign up to be a tournament hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bethbennett8872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the Hotel Conduct Policy on your recent visit. This policy was approved by your team rep prior to arrival to help ensure a pleasant stay for all of our guest. I am sorry if you felt it was unacceptable for the hall ways to be quite after 10 pm. This is to ensure that everyone may get a quite peaceful nights rest for all of our guest who are trying to sleep. This is to prevent kids from running the hallways and disturbing other guest. We do our best to try and accommodate of all our guest at our hotel.


Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to South Bend.

Kind regards,

Kayla Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

After traveling for years with hockey teams this is the worst treatment we have ever had. 4 different teams, not from same area) there and all had issues. If you're not playing sports dont stay here. They put rooms of guests inbetween team rooms. Even kids who are well behaved are going in and out to hang out so doors always going. It was clean, thats all I can say. Staff is rude and non helpful. While one group of parents is being told to move, their kids running around and complaints lead to "they just won't listen" from the staff. We are used to noise with travel. But our kids were actually in rooms and other team running. So they treated everyone as if the problem

Had conference room for a full day. Website says til 11, they kicked us out at 10:02.

They accept all of these groups, we are assigned hotel by tournament staff and this is contracted ahead of time. Yet only have 1 waffle maker for the free breakfast. The wi=fi is nearly nonexistent, everything stops at 10. EVEN THE LOBBY. So when your kids are in bed, you can't sit and talk anywhere. Not even read a book alone.

Smokey stairwells and employees witnessed smoking. Super loud cleaning staff. Start at 8 and are yelling up and down the hall to each other.

Asked to speak to management. None there ,and they come and go whenever. They are only called in for "dire emergencies". So nothing can be resolved if the staff doesn't want to.

Even at check out, rude staff. No one asked how stay was, nothing. Just ok and back to business



Will recommend to our club to never agree to stay here.

Room Tip: there are none. either by stairs that can be heard or by elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soccergirlStLouis_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayla S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thank you for taking time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that you were not satisfied with it. The Hotel Conduct Policy form that was signed by all 3 team reps and is put into effect to ensure all of our guest including those not part of the team may have an enjoyable stay.

I also apologize that I was unable to be here everyday during your stay as I am unable to be here 24/7 but my staff are trained well and did their best to keep everyone happy and comfortable. With the hotel full of teams and other guest not part of the team we must enforce the Hotel Conduct Policy to keep everyone happy. Lobby is closed at 10 pm to help clear out the noise in which we do have a nice sitting area in the lobby in which you may have sat and read a book. The 10 pm clear out time for the meeting room was in the contract that was signed by your team rep. Quite time and our policies was also made aware prior to arrival when all team reps signed the Hotel Conduct Policy.

As for the kids running the halls and harassing the staff we are unable to pin point what kids belong to what team. So we did bring it to all the team reps attention on the issue at hand so they may help address the issue and not cause disruption to other guest as teams are not the only ones at the hotel.

Thank you for your input and we will use your comments to help with future team stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The first 24 hours, we could only connect our electronics to Wi-Fi a couple of times, and then only briefly. The second 24 hours, we were able to connect several times, and for longer stretches, but the Wi-Fi still went down at random times. The morning we checked out, Wi-Fi was down from when we woke up through when we checked out. The staff was very pleasant, but either not motivated or not trained, to solve this problem. The person at the front desk said her internet was also down, and then gave me an 800 phone number and asked that I call and try to see if I could get their internet provider to fix service to the hotel. On other issues, the pool does not open until 9:00 AM, so if you want to swim at 6:45 AM, as I did, you have to hope that the person at the desk will be willing to call and wake up their manager in order to ask for a special exception. (I appreciate that he did this.) A final issue is that the thermostat can be "set" at a range of temperatures, but the actual temperature in the room stays at 75, no matter what the setting. As a result, I slept very poorly. On the positive side, the staff was friendly and provided free cookies, the breakfast was OK for this class of hotel, the hotel was quiet and clean, the beds were fine, and the location was great if you need to be on the south side of South Bend (Notre Dame is on the north side). Though there were several positives, the poor Wi-Fi and poor temperature control are deal-breakers.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Heartlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesIN244, Front Desk Agent at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the wifi connection and room temperature. I am very sorry to hear that your stay wasn't very enjoyable. I do agree that it is rather aggravating to have wifi connection that flickers in and out at random times. And that it can be rather hard to sleep comfortably in a room that is too hot or too cold.

In regards to the room temperature, if there is ever a matter to the room and the temperature isn't adjusting to your desired setting, please bring it to the attention of the Front Desk so that we can look into the situation. If we had known we could have at least moved you to a room with a properly working thermostat.

In regards to the wifi connection I'm sorry that it was failing so terribly during the time. We too were having issues at the time with the connection as well. We did make attempts to contact our internet provider to find out what was going on. Please know that we would never ask a guest to be the "in-between" to fix our internet issues. I am very sorry if we had ever made you feel this way.

It is Front Desk's job to contact the internet provider about these issues. When we give a guest the 800 number it is usually because of issues of connecting individual devices to the internet (such as phones, pads, tablets, & PCs) Sadly not all of front desk is trained to know how to connect all these different device brands and sub brands, but we do our best to share each other's understandings of the different devices and how they work. Please know that your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer a great experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Heather
Front Desk Agent
Comfort Suites
574-291-3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay everything was as it should be housekeeping in front desk was quite friendly and helpful Wi-Fi work great the room seemed a little pricey but this whole state seems that way I would recommend this for future visits

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesIN244, Front Desk Agent at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its friendly atmosphere. We strive to make sure that all of our guests feel welcomed and valued. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Heather
Front Desk Agent
Comfort Suites
574-291-3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We took a family trip to South Bend, Indiana to see the Notre Dame. Being a large family, we also try to find hotels that can accommodate us. The comfort suites did not fail. They had a very cool room that fit us all. An upstairs and downstairs area with pull out beds and plenty of space for our budget. Really an amazing value for our dollar. The swimming area was great great and the morning breakfast was tasty and plentiful. No complaints at all and if ever in South Bend again, we will certainly stay here!

Room Tip: If you have a large family, call them on the phone and ask for the large family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7doks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesIN244, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comment will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kayla Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped for one night while traveling with family and the hotel was great. The front desk staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and very clean, up to date with a great hot buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends and family.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesIN244, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Kayla Smith
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
12.8 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
10.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 31 in South Bend
110 reviews
11.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#14 of 31 in South Bend
138 reviews
13.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
11.1 km away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 31 in South Bend
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 60971 US 31 S, South Bend, IN 46614-5147
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: $103 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing