We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
1
2
1
2
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
2
1
2
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2014

1 star is more than this rat trap deserves. We stayed in this nasty excuse for a hotel for 2 nights when in town for a Notre Dame football game. The hotel is located in a bad neighborhood. The door did not close properly. There were bugs on the ceiling and bed. The mattress appeared to be at least 20 years old. There were cobwebs in the bathroom. Hairs in the shower, bed and wall of the bathroom. There were nasty spots and drips on the walls. The wall paper was discolored and pulling away from the wall. Honestly, if we do not walk away with a communicable disease or insect infestation I will be surprised. To top this off, this hotel has the audacity to charge 200.00 per night on home game days.Truly the worst hotel I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed here because we got Notre Dame tickets at the last minute which meant we had to find a hotel at the last minute - a tall order for a football weekend.
This was the only place in South Bend that we could find - and those are the only circumstances in which I would stay here.
The rooms were pretty disgusting. There are stains on the ceiling tiles, stains on the carpets, stains on the mattresses - you get the picture. The bathroom is particularly grungy. In fact, one of our group actually slept in the car rather than spend the night in the room.
The room was freezing - there was a quarter inch gap between the door and its frame (the door did lock properly).
The area around the hotel is run down, though there are a few fast food places close by.
It seemed like most of the guests were like us - just in for the game and needing a place to crash for the night. We shared a few laughs (and horror stories) about the condition of the rooms with them on the shuttle to campus (which runs hourly and is very convenient).
For what it's worth, the manager was friendly...

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OscarHeycuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2014

We chose this property due to availability and proximity to Notre Dame. We were there for the Michigan - Notre Dame game, 1 night, 2 rooms (another couple was with us). At check in the Manager was very nice and polite. Opened door of room 1, had a weird odor, room 2 had a different odor but still weird. We realized we likely would only be in the room post game for a few hours so no big deal. Right after check in we went to Campus. Arriving back around 1:00 am or so we see the Econo Lodge sign is turned off, and there is almost no exterior lighting (the surrounding area doesn't look to be the best by the way). We did not turn on the HVAC unit. Many surfaces had a tacky feel to them, making us want to wash our hands after touching anything (though the sink faucet sprayed water out the side when turned on). Much of the baseboard moulding had mold on them, and the grout in the shower area was disgusting. The tub base (I did take a morning shower) felt as if it was going to break under my weight (I'm not a big person). The room rate was not bad (full published rate at $145+ taxes given a big game weekend), but even at that price I expect general cleanliness. Not expecting a Peninsula Hotel experience. By the way we stayed in Room 1, our friends stayed in the neighboring room, though they said they slept in their clothes!

Room Tip: Try any other property in South Bend on Lincoln Way W, can't be worse than this one, however by looking at some of the exteriors of the similar category properties, many seem similar.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyS781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The free continental breakfast is available in the morning. The owners are very nice.
Rooms are spacious; the only thing the electric sockets loose for the small refrigerator so not sure that small fridge was on all the time. Also, the types of showers knobs are not my favorite to close all the way.
The place was clean but for safety, the electric plug should not be wiggly. This small fixing does give everybody the peace of mind.
It is close to the airport and easy to get to by car. From there, you can visit other attractions - South Bend Amish community 20-45 minutes away. You need to research on your own.
I would stay again. If you are on a budget, it is one of the choices in this growing area - noticed a great difference within a year how South Bend develops.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in the morning. Very nice owners.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2012

At the price you pay for this place it's not that bad. This place isn't luxurious. It's old and the rooms have been beat down but I can tell you this ... for the money you pay especially on game day weekend - it's not too shaby.

The place isn't in the best neighborhood however I didn't feel that it was unsafe. There are four fast food choices right next to the place for a quick meal. The rooms also have a refridgerator in them which is very convenient that you won't get at other places. If you there to drink and get ready for the game these rooms are just fine. A shuttle taking you to the campus is comes and picks up here too as an added bonus!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonymousconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews