We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Janet and Joe are the stars of this show!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn South Bend
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were greeted with a big smile by Joe at the desk, who was very knowledgeable about the property and local area. Joe made us feel instantly welcome! The hotel is a little tired on the outside, and the first room we were given was not the cleanest. A thick layer of dust on top of the fridge, smears on the mirror, fingerprints and drink marks on table and a distinct aroma of cat pee in the room. However, this was all overshadowed by Joe's warm willingness to move us to a cleaner room, which was better. The rooms are large and beds are comfortable and the hotel is close to the park and downtown. The other honorable mention goes to Janet, who served breakfast, and what a fabulous breakfast it is! By far the best we have experienced at all Residence Inns and TownePlace Suites. Janet served a full house alone! Approximately 30 guests, /2 of them arriving at 8.50am and there was Janet, serving everyone with grace and a welcoming smile! Meanwhile, front desk and 2 housekeeping staff proceeded to watch Janet and chat amongst themselves instead of lending a hand. This is also a great hotel for dog owners as there is a large dog park right across the road! Overall, a nice experience and we would stay again, purely for the great service provided by Janet and Joe who both have an obvious passion for service!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Corks-Forks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

I was here for a baseball tournament at Notre Dame, we stayed in the penthouse suite very roomy, downstairs has couch, chair, TV king size bed, bathroom, kitchen and plenty of closet space. Upstairs has a queen size loft, with bathroom and TV The only downfall with this room has no privacy I was with my inlaws but it was managable I would stay again.

Easy parking near the rooms we were right next to the pool, and you didn't hear anything.

The breakfast was good, they serve eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, and more

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank b_YOU_tiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Words fail to describe just how wonderful our stay was. The suites are roomy, and in a beautiful, peaceful setting. This was worth every penny of the very reasonable price. I would gladly get another suite, and hope t do so soon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

This was my first stay here and it was very unique. I travel several days a week in sales and this was a very pleasant stay. I slept extremely well and woke refreshed. Very convenient to restaurants and safe.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tinaindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Tinaindy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback on your recent stay and so glad you found the property unique and pleasant. We also love the uniqueness of our hotel. With summer around the corner we hope you will be back soon to enjoy the outdoor pool or take advantage of the river walk or our convenient location to the University of Notre Dame. You will also have to come back to see the lobby renovation as well as the new additions we are adding to the landscaping. My personal favorite is the butterfly bush. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

I like the place very much
People are friendly​
Good breakfast and dinner
I like the basketball court
The pool is awesome
The handicap room in 214 best handicap room I have
And Morgan is a very nice lady

Room Tip: There is no tip and the room it is awesome and clean
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesmM78WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

jamesmM78WS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback on our friendly staff and sport court. We are working on opening the outdoor pool next month and we appreciate your comments on our Sales Manager, Morgan. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Another hockey tourney hotel. Rooms were fine...once again a pull our couch that was barely passable as a bed. Other than that the rooms were clean, the service was good. Really no complaints. they put up with our hockey team with little to no fuss.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Kevin G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your valuable feedback and do apologize for the pull out sofa. We were glad we could accommodate your hockey team and hope to see you again next year. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

The staff was over the top wonderful especially the clerk at the front desk! The Marriott is lucky to have him. He is perfect for greeting and helping guests and really helpful with answering questions about the area. The main building was nice but the units had some wear and tear. Gas fireplace was nice.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G1719BUsusanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonale H, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

G1719BUsusanr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and so glad that Joe was over the top for you. He makes a great addition to our team. We are currently in the process of improving some areas of the hotel including the landscaping and lobby areas. We hope that you will be able to come back later this summer to see our improvements. As always, thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
620 reviews
2.6 km away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 30 in South Bend
918 reviews
1.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aloft South Bend
Aloft South Bend
#14 of 30 in South Bend
17 reviews
4.3 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
3 km away
Quality Inn South Bend
Quality Inn South Bend
#20 of 30 in South Bend
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn South Bend

Address: 716 N Niles Ave, South Bend, IN 46617-1924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $137 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn South Bend is located off US-31/933, and offers an ideal location just a half mile Northeast of Downtown South Bend and one mile Southwest of the University of Notre Dame. This great location also offers easy access to the Notre Dame Campus and Eddy Street Commons. Guests staying at this pet-friendly South Bend hotel enjoy the free breakfast buffet, an outdoor pool and sport court, and complimentary social hour on select evenings. Guest rooms are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms and are highlighted by flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, and fully-equipped kitchens with stainless steel appliances. The Residence Inn South Bend offers the perfect amenities and excellent service to make it one of the top hotels in South Bend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn South Bend Hotel South Bend
South Bend Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing