We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband stayed for the weekend and had to cancel a nights stay arriving later than planned. They did not honor the cancellation stating it was 1 hour and 40 minutes late. We travel frequently for leisure. Never had we ever had this much problems with a cancellation policy. Several other people in his group were also charged. Also,The hotel staff were not friendly to children knowing we had children in our group. They were unwilling to come to an understanding with refunding the extra night they charged us, stating even more various reason. Different staff members had different reasons for charging us the additional night. Stay at another hotel that cares about you and your business!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Since we are unable to access your contact information due to the volume of bookings I cannot make direct contact. I am very interested in speaking with you to resolve this matter. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    164
    55
    11
    12
See reviews for
334
129
50
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The room layout is also a lot better than a typical hotel room.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The staff at the Inn at Saint Mary’s would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments. The staff enjoys giving our guest superior customer service. We look forward to all of your future visits to South Bend Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Inn while on a college trip to South Bend. We found the management and staff to be very friendly and reponsive and the facility to be quite nice. The breakfast in the morning was much more extensive than at other hotels in town and was very good. Good recommendations for restaurants outside the hotel were also offered. Very good stay and we will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMichael_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
The full hot breakfast buffet is a great amenity that we have for our guest to experience. The staff is always willing to assist with any directions, dinner reservations, and site seeing recommendations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Decent room & great breakfast, but most of our group was charged for an extra night, even though the hotel had received 48 hours notice of cancellation of the first of three nights. Hotel management referenced a contract arrangement with the hockey tournament organizer stipulating 72 hours notice of cancellation, but never provided any documentation. About one third of the families were charged for two nights and the remainder for 3 nights; the hotel management had no explanation for the discrepancy, although they did at least credit the family that was charged for 5 nights. Clearly there are problems in the front office. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must cancel, send notice by certified mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Group reservations are handled according to their contracts. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact me at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Very nice motel located close to Notre Dame, St. Mary's, and Holy Cross campus. Great breakfast selection. Management provided us with a shuttle to and from the Joyce Center on the Notre Dame campus even though the litererature indicated it was an airport shuttle. As long as you let them know in advance and they have a driver available, they will do their best to accomodate. No pool, but very nice exercise room, spa, and hot tub. No restaurant/bar, however they share the one next door with another very nice motel and the food and atmosphere was very nice. Our room was clean and quiet. We highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your shuttle needs. The Inn offers a shuttle service for the Airport and the surrounding area. We do not have a pool or restaurant inside of our building but our guest may have access to them at our sister property located next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great hotel, great location staff was wonderful really enjoyed the breakfast! Will def stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our party had to alter its arrival plans at the last minute. On a Wednesday, our team notified management that we would not be at the hotel until Saturday, not Friday. The hotel claims they never received our email, yet the hotel refunded the friday stay for four members of our party. The other 12 rooms had to pay for three days, not two. The management lied to us, tried to change their story, and in the end started making up alternative reasons not to refund one days stay for each room reserved. The management definately didnt work with our group on this problem. I will never stay at any hotel owned by this management group. DAVE

Room Tip: i wont stay at this hotel ever again
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drugrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. There are a lot of factors that management considered in making decisions about your youth hockey group. This is not a typical situation that occurs. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#4 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.5 km away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.8 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's
Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing