We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I had never stayed at the Inn at St. Mary's before and was expecting good things when I arrived. I certainly wasn't disappointed. The lobby was well decorated and designed. My room was spacious.

The staff were friendly and obliging. I was impressed with the quality of service and the amenities provided by the hotel. I will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghanAnnRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are pleased to hear that your first visit was wonderful. It is the staff’s pleasure to provide our guest with excellent customer service. The Inn looks forward to all of your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nothing too fancy, the hotel provided a nice comfortable stay for a night. The staff was very friendly and answered any questions we had. Our daughter liked the fresh cookies provided at the front desk. The price was right (we bidded on Priceline). I don't really know how it qualifies as a three star hotel when others in the area looked newer and just as nice but were rated at two and half stars. There is no pool, but a nice hot tub and sauna area. Very good breakfast with hot food options - real scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and waffles.

We would stay here again if we were ever in South Bend again. I might bring my own pillow though as the pillows were hard and flat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liveitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The fresh baked cookies at night are a nice treat for our guest. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is currently looking into changing our pillow options for better comfort. We look forward to all of your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The property itself is well maintained... But the location (if you have business at Notre dame/st Mary's or north side of south bend) is terrific. The lobby was wide open, very airy, and had a few gathering areas. Check in, after a slight delay, (front desk associate was finishing with another guest) was quick and easy. My room was nicer/larger than I expected. We had a double/double and there was plenty of room to spread out. There was also a desk and extra chair with room for perhaps other furniture. They beds were comfortable, and linens seemed to be decent quality. I wish the pillows were a bit firmer, but that is a personal preference. The bathroom was clean, pleasant... Toiletries supplied were a treat (aveda). I appreciated the extra sink outside the bath. The breakfast was a typical breakfast... Eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, etc. but better than most. Check out was a breeze! I would stay here again, especially during a football weekend, and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank HollyRoger_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

The Inn at Saint Mary’s location is wonderful for business travelers. The staff takes pride in maintaining the building and supplying our guest with a great stay. When you are ready to make reservations for a football weekend please contact me at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com . I look forward to working with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband stayed for the weekend and had to cancel a nights stay arriving later than planned. They did not honor the cancellation stating it was 1 hour and 40 minutes late. We travel frequently for leisure. Never had we ever had this much problems with a cancellation policy. Several other people in his group were also charged. Also,The hotel staff were not friendly to children knowing we had children in our group. They were unwilling to come to an understanding with refunding the extra night they charged us, stating even more various reason. Different staff members had different reasons for charging us the additional night. Stay at another hotel that cares about you and your business!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lisa0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Since we are unable to access your contact information due to the volume of bookings I cannot make direct contact. I am very interested in speaking with you to resolve this matter. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com. I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The room layout is also a lot better than a typical hotel room.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The staff at the Inn at Saint Mary’s would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments. The staff enjoys giving our guest superior customer service. We look forward to all of your future visits to South Bend Indiana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Inn while on a college trip to South Bend. We found the management and staff to be very friendly and reponsive and the facility to be quite nice. The breakfast in the morning was much more extensive than at other hotels in town and was very good. Good recommendations for restaurants outside the hotel were also offered. Very good stay and we will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMichael_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

The full hot breakfast buffet is a great amenity that we have for our guest to experience. The staff is always willing to assist with any directions, dinner reservations, and site seeing recommendations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Decent room & great breakfast, but most of our group was charged for an extra night, even though the hotel had received 48 hours notice of cancellation of the first of three nights. Hotel management referenced a contract arrangement with the hockey tournament organizer stipulating 72 hours notice of cancellation, but never provided any documentation. About one third of the families were charged for two nights and the remainder for 3 nights; the hotel management had no explanation for the discrepancy, although they did at least credit the family that was charged for 5 nights. Clearly there are problems in the front office. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must cancel, send notice by certified mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Group reservations are handled according to their contracts. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact me at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 km away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 30 in South Bend
324 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 30 in South Bend
620 reviews
1.7 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
3.6 km away
Aloft South Bend
Aloft South Bend
#14 of 30 in South Bend
17 reviews
2.7 km away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#4 of 30 in South Bend
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's

Address: 53993 Indiana State Route 933, South Bend, IN 46637-3345
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Bend
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range: $133 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a boutique South Bend hotel, we at the Inn at Saint Mary's strive to provide our guests with specials and packages designed to provide the most memorable, unique experiences during your visit with us. With our serene location, surrounded by campus greens and luxurious amenities including INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbuck's beverages and our Atrium Lounge with cleverly mixed cocktails. Offering packages that will appeal to and delight even the most discriminating South Bend traveler. Book your experience with us today! Located in historic South Bend, Inn at Saint Mary's is nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. From the moment you arrive at our luxurious boutique hotel via our complimentary airport shuttle, you'll admire our South Bend hotel's unique and stunning lobby … a treat for the senses, featuring soaring ceilings, curved walls. The newly opened INNJoy Café proudly serving all of your favorite handcrafted Starbucks beverages. INNJoy café is open daily at 6am and includes freshly baked pastries and scrumptious sandwich among other culinary delights. Our Atrium Lounge opens daily at 5 pm with local brews, regional wines, and smartly crafted cocktails, and iPad stations. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 150 nonsmoking rooms and suites - some with private Jacuzzis and personalized concierge service. Unwind in your luxurious South Bend hotel guestroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing