We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pure excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in South Bend
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pure excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I had never stayed at the Inn at St. Mary's before and was expecting good things when I arrived. I certainly wasn't disappointed. The lobby was well decorated and designed. My room was spacious.

The staff were friendly and obliging. I was impressed with the quality of service and the amenities provided by the hotel. I will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeghanAnnRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. We are pleased to hear that your first visit was wonderful. It is the staff’s pleasure to provide our guest with excellent customer service. The Inn looks forward to all of your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    159
    54
    11
    12
See reviews for
312
123
49
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Nothing too fancy, the hotel provided a nice comfortable stay for a night. The staff was very friendly and answered any questions we had. Our daughter liked the fresh cookies provided at the front desk. The price was right (we bidded on Priceline). I don't really know how it qualifies as a three star hotel when others in the area looked newer and just as nice but were rated at two and half stars. There is no pool, but a nice hot tub and sauna area. Very good breakfast with hot food options - real scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and waffles.

We would stay here again if we were ever in South Bend again. I might bring my own pillow though as the pillows were hard and flat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liveitup10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The fresh baked cookies at night are a nice treat for our guest. The Inn at Saint Mary’s is currently looking into changing our pillow options for better comfort. We look forward to all of your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

The property itself is well maintained... But the location (if you have business at Notre dame/st Mary's or north side of south bend) is terrific. The lobby was wide open, very airy, and had a few gathering areas. Check in, after a slight delay, (front desk associate was finishing with another guest) was quick and easy. My room was nicer/larger than I expected. We had a double/double and there was plenty of room to spread out. There was also a desk and extra chair with room for perhaps other furniture. They beds were comfortable, and linens seemed to be decent quality. I wish the pillows were a bit firmer, but that is a personal preference. The bathroom was clean, pleasant... Toiletries supplied were a treat (aveda). I appreciated the extra sink outside the bath. The breakfast was a typical breakfast... Eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, etc. but better than most. Check out was a breeze! I would stay here again, especially during a football weekend, and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JollyRoger47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
The Inn at Saint Mary’s location is wonderful for business travelers. The staff takes pride in maintaining the building and supplying our guest with a great stay. When you are ready to make reservations for a football weekend please contact me at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com . I look forward to working with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband stayed for the weekend and had to cancel a nights stay arriving later than planned. They did not honor the cancellation stating it was 1 hour and 40 minutes late. We travel frequently for leisure. Never had we ever had this much problems with a cancellation policy. Several other people in his group were also charged. Also,The hotel staff were not friendly to children knowing we had children in our group. They were unwilling to come to an understanding with refunding the extra night they charged us, stating even more various reason. Different staff members had different reasons for charging us the additional night. Stay at another hotel that cares about you and your business!

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Since we are unable to access your contact information due to the volume of bookings I cannot make direct contact. I am very interested in speaking with you to resolve this matter. Please contact me directly at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great breakfast and very friendly staff. The room layout is also a lot better than a typical hotel room.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The staff at the Inn at Saint Mary’s would like to thank you for all your wonderful comments. The staff enjoys giving our guest superior customer service. We look forward to all of your future visits to South Bend Indiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Inn while on a college trip to South Bend. We found the management and staff to be very friendly and reponsive and the facility to be quite nice. The breakfast in the morning was much more extensive than at other hotels in town and was very good. Good recommendations for restaurants outside the hotel were also offered. Very good stay and we will come back to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMichael_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
The full hot breakfast buffet is a great amenity that we have for our guest to experience. The staff is always willing to assist with any directions, dinner reservations, and site seeing recommendations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Decent room & great breakfast, but most of our group was charged for an extra night, even though the hotel had received 48 hours notice of cancellation of the first of three nights. Hotel management referenced a contract arrangement with the hockey tournament organizer stipulating 72 hours notice of cancellation, but never provided any documentation. About one third of the families were charged for two nights and the remainder for 3 nights; the hotel management had no explanation for the discrepancy, although they did at least credit the family that was charged for 5 nights. Clearly there are problems in the front office. Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must cancel, send notice by certified mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IASM, Revenue Manager at Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Group reservations are handled according to their contracts. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact me at smarkham@innatsaintmarys.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
1.5 km away
Morris Inn
Morris Inn
#1 of 29 in South Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
Ivy Court Inn & Suites
#5 of 29 in South Bend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
2.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend at Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites

Property: Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
Address: 53993 US 933, South Bend, IN 46637
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in South Bend
#2 Family Hotel in South Bend
#2 Business Hotel in South Bend
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of South Bend, Indiana, the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is a unique upscale hotel nestled on the campus of Saint Mary's College and adjacent to the University of Notre Dame. Whether traveling to the South Bend area for business or to cheer on the Fighting Irish, the 150 tastefully appointed suites and guest rooms offer affordable luxury accommodations. Room amenities include a flat screen television, Aveda bath products, stone tile floors and granite countertops, a full sized hair dryer, coffeemaker, iron and ironing board. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is available in the lobby on weekdays. The hotel offers the Innjoy Café proudly serving Starbucks, the Atrium Lounge, Tesla car charging stations, a State-of-the-Art fitness center which includes a sauna, free high-speed Internet throughout the hotel, a Business Center and a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning. It's easy to see why the Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel and Suites is the hotel of choice for the discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel South Bend
Inn At Saint Mary`s Hotel And Suites
Hotel At Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing