We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just great!”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
XPO100
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Unfortunately, our 2 night stay coincided with the heaviest rainfall in the region for 40 years. But the advantage of this was that it gave more time to spend in this wonderful accommodation. Everything was sparkling clean, very spacious and extremely comfortable. We had been doing a lot of independent touring in South Austalia and the Northern Territory and we truly appreciated the opportunaty to kick back and relax in peace, comfort and tranquility. A longer stay would have been great (and we might have got some decent weather!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2014
Thank you Andrew, yes the weather was extremely unusual - we have had beautiful weather ever since - but you came to relax and that was great you were able to do so and appreciate the peace and beauty of our nature meeting the sea abode - Cheers, Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PERFECT secret getaway!!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

What a truly tremendous place to stay!! Both my partner & I had such a relaxing time. Every morning was as breathtaking as the day before & we couldn't stop saying how lucky we were to have experienced it.
Brian & Kris were also such wonderful hosts, very friendly & inviting!
Words cannot describe the views or the atmosphere until you see it for yourselves! Almost didn't want to tell people how stunning it was so it can be our secret but it's a must share-
Definately returning to this one again!!!
Thanks B & K for having us!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2014
Thank you Erin and Sal - what a great review - we are glad you loved our little hideaway - we look forward to you return someday, B and K
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful spot for a coastal getaway”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Located amongst tranquil countryside in Emu Bay, A Dune Escape is the ideal spot for a relaxing getaway, and a great base to explore beautiful Kangaroo Island.

The home itself is impeccable - modern, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well fitted out with appliances and kitchenware. It's also very private and quiet, making it the perfect place to get away from it all! A few steps up from the deck, you walk up to the crest of the dune and the views of the Emu Bay coastline are just stunning. We enjoyed watching the sunset with a glass of locally-produced red wine and even saw some dolphins frolicking in the sea!

Brian and Kris were wonderful, welcoming hosts, who took a genuine interest in our overall stay in K.I. We really appreciated the tips and advice they offered for must-do's on the island.

We very much enjoyed our stay at A Dune Escape. We stayed for two nights but could have easily stayed for longer. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2014
Thanks Natalie and Nick - it was great to meet you and we are so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay - the dolphins have certainly been plentiful lately which is great for guests to see. We look forward to your return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful house, peaceful location, and a great base for exploring Kangaroo Island.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Well designed, very well appointed house, lovely rural views and peaceful location. A bit remote from the rest of Emu Bay but that is part of the beauty of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern eco friendly house in remote, peaceful location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Thank you Georgina - we are so glad you loved our place - yes it is a little away from central Emu Bay - but as you say that gives the Escape feel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henrik H
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A real hideaway”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Kris and Brian are very kind and thoughtful hosts and their "Dune Escape" is a real hideaway with wallabies and other wild life passing through the garden from time to time. The house is tastefully decorated, ecologically sound and equipped with everything you may need during a short visit. Kris and Brian live very close by and are available when the need arises. From the peak of the dune at the end of the garden we had a breathtaking view on the ocean and it is just a minute walk down the steep stairs to the lonesome beach (Emu Bay) which is about 5 km wide. Ideal for swimming and running. Together with our two teenaged kids we spent a wonderful Christmas time at the house. Many thanks again for the little Christmas tree in the living room!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Hosts
Liked least: Kids would say they missed WiFi - but hosts generously offered our son to come to their house.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
Hi Henrik and family, sorry for the very delayed response, we trust life is going well for you back in Germany :) Thank you so much for your very kind and positive comments in your review, we thoroughly enjoyed adding to your Christmas holiday and are really pleased you appreciated all that we had to offer, including the little Christmas tree. We are so humbled to receive grateful acknowledgement from lovely well travelled people from all over the world such as yourselves. Brian and I continue to walk that lonesome beach every morning and never tire of the beautiful sunrises as your wife experienced too. We hope to perhaps see you again on Kangaroo Island :) Regards Kris and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaiteMaed...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem - beautiful, lovely, impecable”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Kris and Brian are great and thoughtful communicators and hosts with a lot of taste and sensitivity. Their beachhouse is a beautifully designed, spotless, clean and cosy hide away in the dunes, however only 15 min away from Kingscote for dinner or food shopping. We truly appreciated the relaxing atmosphere inmidst of kangeroos, peacocks and birds. From the dune itself you can oversea all of Emu bay, walk down to one of the nicest beaches - Emu Beach and enjoy very seluded walks. A wonderful base within 1.5 hours of the Ferry terminal of Kangeroo Island (KI) for exciting exploration of this special Island. Do not forget to taste the unforgettable KI honey, one of the nice surprises of Kris and Brian for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you - we do pride ourselves on keeping the house fresh and new - we are very glad you appreciated all that you came to experience :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic beautiful home beautiful place”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A Dune Escape was a great place to stay. Very comfortable and clean and respected the environment. The owners were really nice to deal with and it was great waking up in the morning and seeing kangaroos bouncing around. The kids really enjoyed it and loved the walk to the beautiful emu bay beach which was just over the dune. At night we would walk around the house looking for kangaroos with a torch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean and new and the location was great.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thanks Helen and family - we really appreciate your positive review and so glad you saw kangaroos - we see them all the time, but just hope our guests do also :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing