We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible location by the beach with sweeping...”
other travellers have booked this property
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune Dining with nature views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Nature meets the Sea - Escape to serenity, beauty and peaceful harmony!
View from the crest of the dune
Dining with nature views
A Dune Escape
Fully equipped kitchen
Bedroom one with a view to the crest of the dune
Bedroom two with elevated hinterland views
Nature and sunshine a part of the living spaces
Cosy lounging with open log fire
Quality decor
Relaxing loungeroom
Sunny open decking
Peaceful and restfull decor design
Stairway to your escape
Bathroom in sea greens and crisp white
Design and quality
Kangaroos on the 15-hectare property
Crystal waters of Emu bay
Walk down the dunes to the beach
Dolphins at the base of the dune
Evening meals on the deck
Romantic walks on the beach
Bike ride on the beach
Family fun
Nature meets the sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Emu Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bridget25...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible location by the beach with sweeping landscape views”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I can't recommend this place more highly. The house was nestled behind a cliff-face looking out over the sea, protecting us from the elements (we went in winter). It's a 2 minute walk down the cliff to what feels like a private beach, no-one around. The country surrounding the house is breathtaking. The house is perfect size for a family. It was incredibly clean and had everything we needed. It's a 15 minute drive from Kingscote. We didn't feel the need to go out all the time because the house was so cosy, the fireplace kept it very warm. Brian and Kris were incredibly helpful and always accessible over email with advice for our trip.
Best place for a relaxing holiday to unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness, proximity to beach and bush and cleanliness of house
Liked least: Not much was open in the town. (low season)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
Thank you so much - you really experienced and loved what we set out to offer! We hope to see you or your friends again some time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous and relaxing stay at A Dune Escape”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Our family stayed at A Dune Escape in December 2013, in the week leading up to Christmas. What a beautiful environment and house. The quality of the finishes and the linen was excellent, waking up in the morning to see kangaroos boxing nearby the house and finding echidnas wandering up the drive were the highlight of our childrens' stay. The accommodation was very central to many things in KI and, although the beach was a bit of a hike up and down the dunes (especially for the little legs) it was worth it. The house was very clean and had all modern conveniences (other than a washing machine which might have been very useful as we were staying for a week). I would recommend guests take a good bug spray as the bush flies can be pretty persistent. All up though, lovely acccommodation in a unique and natural setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of bedding / towels and secluded setting
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - so glad you were able to see such amazing animal life - spring is gorgeous too with the wild flowers and walking trails over the property :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgie W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A secluded modern hideaway”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I traveled solo to kangaroo Island and was happy to have chosen a Dune Escape for my nightly retreat from the days explorative activities. A Dune Escape is modern, private, perfectly located and has everything you need for a comfortable luxurious escape. The house is consistently themed without and you can't help but feel you are within a stones throw from the beach.

It's situated just behind the dune so you don't get any views of the ocean from the house but rather over paddocks. It's only 20 meters though to walk up to the deck chairs and be spellbound by the view. You have your own private track down to the beach where you could easily spend the day. It's conveniently located from all the Islands attractions but far enough from any main road or hub to feel all alone. Brian and Kris were ever welcoming and very very hospitable. I had some ferry issues and phone reception issues which hey were happy help with. I just wish I had More sunshine to truly witness the turquoise waters, an electric blanket & wifi (maybe it's just my generation?!) The coastline is to be put on your bucket list. Trust. Me.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2014
Thank you for your great review - so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the natural surroundings - we hope to see you again maybe with your family next time. You will have to return for the crystal turquoise waters :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Tranquil”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The location is amazing, tucked behind the sand dunes and overlooking the valley and away from the main roads - a beautiful, quiet and peaceful location. The beach is beautiful with pods of dolphins regularly in the bay, however be ready for a climb back up the sand dune from the beach. In saying that though, the view from the top of the dune is stunning and a great place to enjoy a breakfast coffee or a drink at sunset. The property is extremely comfortable and has everything needed for a relaxed break. Our hosts thought of everything. We enjoyed it and would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the beach
Liked least: There is nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for this review, we very much appreciate the way in which you enjoyed your stay at our each house and hope you can share this with your friends :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W
2 reviews
“Elegantly appointed, rural setting, positioned above a lovely long beach, short drive to Kingscote - this was a delight”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A modern house in an elevated position overlooking a rural setting with, within 30 metres, a view over and access to the beach, this is in a great location. The decor is also modern. The house is well provisioned and comfortable. The setting is very private. The owners live not far away and are very welcoming and helpful.
For those planning a longer stay it would be good to note that there are no laundry facilities however the laundromat in Kingscote is only a few minutes drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all that A Dune Escape has to offer - nature meets the sea :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The house is wonderful, a very short walk to the top of the dune where as the sun sets the moon is rising behind and you can walk on the bright white sandy beach. Very romantic.
The scenery and wildlife of KI is just as great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you - we share your thoughts with the romance of our beach house and are so glad you got to see and experience the wonderful sun rises and sunsets - magic hey?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jntravels...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Best Homebase to Explore Kanagaroo Island”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this new, immaculate, lovely house at the top of a dune overlooking 4 kms of white sand of Emu Bay. It is solar powered and uses filtered rainwater, so it is super environmentally friendly, although it still manages to provide all of the luxuries (except wifi, which was the whole point of checking out of being overly connected - although there is cell service). I am very particular and this place was absolutely beautiful and a great location to explore not only the Emu Bay beach but all other parts of Kangaroo Island. We say everything there was to see (although you could spend way more time on the Island) and came away concluding Emu Bay was our favorite. The owners were fabulous and offered us many tips on what to see or not to see. They made sure we were settled in and had everything we needed. At night, we would sit in the house with the lights off and watch as possums, wallabies and kangaroos wandered through the yard. The pictures on the website (although nice) do not do the house justice. If we didn't live in the Northern Hemisphere, we'd be back in a heartbeat (and may just do it anyway). Don't miss this piece of paradise. We've told all of our Australian mates and they are itching to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely clean house and Emu Bay
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thanks Julie (and Brent) - we really appreciate your review, we will have to work on some more photos, if you have any goodies, please pass on :) We are really grateful for your positive comments, which we value highly, having looked at your business website, you are certainly out there in the world and we are humbled to see that we rate so highly in your world travels - Thank you for spreading the word to your Aussie friends, regards Brian and Kris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing