We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, uneducated staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Terre Haute
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Rockport, Indiana
1 review
“Terrible, uneducated staff”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Husband and son stayed for work. In one week had 3 different authorizations on debit card. When he questioned the staff about is and the amounts, they insisted they were only authorizations and we would not be charged. They couldn't even explain why there were so many and for 3 different amounts. Guess what-2 of them went through and "as a courtesy" they are refunding one of them. Stay away or pay cash!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhesson669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    90
    102
    83
    74
See reviews for
133
74
66
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

A family member booked a room for us for a (3 night) visit. We were not told what hotel until hours before checking in, and upon hearing Super 8 were a little wary. (We generally stay at higher star/rated hotels). The room was booked and paid for, though, and it was late at night so we reluctantly accepted our accommodations. Painting throughout the hotel looked sloppy (going on to baseboards, etc.), carpet looked like it could use a good cleaning, and the coin laundry machines sitting right in the hallway just seemed very odd, if not inconvenient were there to be passing traffic while someone was laundering. Our room appeared clean (carpet still iffy, bedspread worn) and the air conditioning, refrigerator, and microwave worked well (despite the air conditioning appearing old). Our hair dryer did not work, our discolored smoke alarm beeped intermittently, often at 2 in the morning waking me up on two of the three nights (my husband disconnected it the last night), and our room had an indescribable smell that you got used to after awhile but that nevertheless hit you upon entry ever time. The toilet had some discoloration, but the shower worked well and appeared rather clean in comparison to the hotel as a whole. Also, where many hotels will have four fluffy pillows at your disposal, this hotel had two incredibly flat, rather small pillows (not even standard I would venture to guess). If you're looking for a good price, and a room with the "extras" for not a lot extra (refrigerator, microwave, free wireless...which I loved), and don't care whether your room is outdated or smells a bit musty (moldy?), then give Super 8 a try. As for us, we'll try and make our own reservations at a different location next time. (I cannot comment on the cleaning of the room because we did not have them clean over the 3 nights. We were really only there to sleep and shower.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nikki39725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2011

It was way cheaper than all the rest and clean, quiet, good a/c. Nothing too special, but great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shy_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The staff was not friendly. I asked where I could find a paper, and the guy behind the desk said across the way, not in a nice tone, so we walked over to the hotel where he pointed and no paper! We came back to find a paper rack in the Super 8. The halls stunk. Overall, I don't plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronsfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Terre Haute hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I stayed at Super 8 in Terre Haute, IN for one night when I was driving to the Indy 500.
I got a bargain prepaid price from Expedia. My room was excellent. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Their free morning breakfast was just fine. All parking is free. It is an easy access to get off the freeway and get back on. For one night, at a bargain price, it was very good. The photos posted on Trip Advisor are perfectly accurate.

Room Tip: Book online in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAL90275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Asked for non-smoking room. It reeked. Should have demanded a refund and left. But we were tired and just wanted a nights sleep. The card on the bed was crumpled and soda stained but I ignored that. Cigarette burns on the toilet seat and discolored smoke alarm should have been the motivation to leave but we didn't. Slept ok but woke hen next morning to a dog yapping in the next room. Then the worst. I tried to take a shower and the tub spout was so corroded that I couldn't get the shower to work. I had to take a splash shower. Looked up at the shower head and it was just as bad. We didn't eat at the "free" breakfast for fear of it's cleanliness. BEWARE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timbuktom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Super 8 Terre Haute, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you for choosing Super 8. We appreciate hearing from our guests and I would like to give you my personal apologies for this issue you encountered. I do want you to know that we did take this very seriously and took immediate action once reported to correct all issues. If ever you have questions during your stay, please ask to speak to the manager on duty so we can work to fix the issue right away. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Upon pulling into the parking lot there were 5-8 men and women in the parking lot in front of the hotel drinking and being very loud. I went into the lobby to check in and found more of the same characters inside. As a husband and a Dad I thought I would check out the rest of the hotel before we checked in. As I walked down the hall I could hear music "thudding" out of several rooms along with the stench of smoke in a non-smoking hallway. Having only been there a few minutes I already felt the need for a shower. At the front desk I canceled our reservation and told the clerk we were moving on. She responded "I totally understand sir". Funny how she didn't ask me why or try to convince me to stay. Out in the parking lot my wife had the doors locked and she was ducked down in the seat hiding. She was ever so pleased when I told her we were moving on.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afwxguy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager026, General Manager at Super 8 Terre Haute, responded to this review, 16 July 2010
I’m concerned about the experiences you had at our hotel during your recent visit. I am writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it’s disappointing to learn that you’re unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There’s no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. That’s our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Terre Haute hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Terre Haute
Days Inn & Suites Terre Haute
#14 of 18 in Terre Haute
582 reviews
3.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Terre Haute
153 reviews
0.3 km away
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
Pear Tree Inn Terre Haute
#8 of 18 in Terre Haute
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
Hampton Inn Terre Haute
#4 of 18 in Terre Haute
563 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
Holiday Inn Terre Haute
#9 of 18 in Terre Haute
13 reviews
3.9 km away
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
Candlewood Suites Terre Haute
#2 of 18 in Terre Haute
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Terre Haute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Terre Haute

Property: Super 8 Terre Haute
Address: 3089 S 1st St, I-70 at US 41 Exit 7, Terre Haute, IN 47802-3787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Terre Haute
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Terre Haute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Terre Haute 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Terre Haute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Terre Haute Hotel Terre Haute
Terre Haute Super 8
Terre Haute Super Eight
Super Eight Terre Haute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing