We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stop over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to stop over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stopped here for one night after coming down from Canada. The staff were vert friendly and accommodating. This is a very typical HI with the room being very tidy and clean. The beds were great with nice pillows. Breakfast was very nice and kept the whole family happy. Would definitely recommend. Restaurants close by if need a bite to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5KiwisinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel on Tripadvisor. The staff takes pride in providing our Guest with the service they have come to expect with the Holiday Inn Express Brand. We love hearing that we succeeded in providing an overall excellent stay for you.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    30
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
42
30
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osage
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was staying there with my 3 kids and when we went down for breakfast in the morning we came accross a wonderful employee Sheryl! She was cheerful and helpful and offered to change to TV channel to a more kid friendly one. You could tell she liked her job and it showed in how she was taking care of others. Sheryl was a good example to my kids of how customer service should be and how to treat others respectfully!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I shared this with Sheryl this morning and she was so excited. She truly cares about our Guest and ensures that everyone she comes in contact with is recognized and appreciated. She exemplifies the true meaning of Customer Service at our hotel.
We look forward to accommodating you in the future. Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife, father-in-law, and I went to Burlington, Iowa for my 60th birthday and to see my home town. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, located at 1601 N. Roosevelt Ave. We were met by a gracious and professional front desk clerk. Our room was great. It was amazingly clean and well equipped. We were provided with snacks to take to our room upon check-in, which was earlier than the check-in time by two hours. The hotel is in a very convenient location, which enabled us to tour the city and navigate to the hotel with ease.

The night prior to checking out, I left the lights on the car all night to return to a dead battery, of course. Sheryl, an employee of the hotel, who should also be a manager due to her knowledge of the hotel, her incredible sense of professionalism and customer service, as well as her knowledge of the city, was informed of the car situation. Sheryl went way out of her way, certainly above and beyond the call of duty, inquiring of all the employees as to possessing a pair of jumper cables. Sheryl located an employee who had cables and placed that employee in touch with me. Once receiving the jumper cables, Sheryl retrieved her personal vehicle and allowed me to use her vehicle to jump start my car. While I was jump starting my car, she spoke with my wife and entertained my 86 year old father-in-law. Once my vehicle was assured to operate, she bid us a great fairwell.

I cannot speak of anyone who has been so gracious and helpful. Had Sheryl not been there, we would certainly have had to engage a tow service. Our hats are off to Sheryl and to the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express, reaffirming why we utilize Holiday Inn. We hope that Sheryl learns of this review as she deserves acknowledgement for her actions!!! Sheryl made our departure end on a high note and gave us plenty of reasons to be thankful for her service!

Room Tip: Just speak to the front desk clerk. It was apparent their staff will do everything possible to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibacubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
WOW! Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I had the honor as Sheryls Manager to read her the review. She teared up and wanted to express how thankful she was. As a Team we pride ourselves in giving our Guests the BEST stay and we are so happy that we delivered this to you.
We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Clean rooms and facility, fantastic free breakfast, modern feel, great pool/hot tub, very comfortable beds and rooms. Extremely near everything such as casino, fun city, and restaurants are all across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kskifsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about our hotel. The staff and I love to see when we did everything right for our Guest. We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have been staying here since Sept. of 2011 off and on and have had an excellent stay each time. The rooms are large and clean. Front desk staff is excellent. They are professional, prompt and friendly. Jordan, Susan, Carie and Amy (Hotel manger) have gone above and beyond to make my stays away from home as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texaswyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the amazing response! I shared this with the entire Team and it made everyones day. Of course a Manager is only as good as their Team and I have one amazing staff here at the hotel
We love having you as our Guest and appreciate the valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed here several nights and have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful experience at our hotel! We love taking care of our Guests and value your business. Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This month was the second time I stayed at this HIE. Burlington is small so there is not much variety, but I would have picked this place no matter if there were more choices. I was on the back of the building and was not bothered by any noise behind us. I always take a white noise machine, so that helps no matter where I stay. I have found this HIE to be (usually) quiet and very convenient. It is clean and well maintained, I had almost no problems with the hotel at all. I don't like the CFC lights by the beds (and in other places) but I guess all hotels are doing that now.

The place was mostly booked up with guys who are working on the railroad bridge across the river. They were great-I guess they work all day and then come in and go right to sleep. They were quiet.

On the other hand, do people with children not understand they are disturbing other people when they let their kids run wild in the halls and the room? The last night I was stuck beside some family whose kids evidently thought the halls and room were a playroom. I'm so tired of staying in a hotel and having to listen to noisy kids, in and out the door and slamming against the walls and hollering.

One gripe-the breakfast area is nice, and the food is fine. But for goodness sakes, why in the morning was the TV always on some "urban" sit-com blasting at high volume? Why not put it on the Weather Channel or an all news channel? It happened several mornings I was there, and is really annoying.

I'll be back to Iowa and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrhusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEBRGIAGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burlington, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience with our hotel. We also value the feedback and suggestions you provided. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Happy Holidays~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.4 km away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#2 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#1 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#9 of 11 in Burlington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
0.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
29.8 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burlington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Address: 1601 North Roosevelt Avenue, Burlington, IA 52601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're always welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington. We are located close to several businesses including: Federal Mogul, Vista Bakery, IPC Inc., General Electric, Case New Holland, US Gypsum, American Ordnance, Lamont Limited, and many more. When staying at our hotel, you are located next to several area attractions. Ripley's Believe It or Not has dubbed Snake Alley 'The Crookedest Street in the World. Some of the other local attractions include: Fun City & Casino, 34 Raceway, Crapo Park, Burlington Bees Baseball, Lock & Dam #18, Memorial Auditorium, and much more. We have designed the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites with every guest in mind. We have spacious standard rooms, as well as king suites, two-room family suites, and luxurious jacuzzi suites. All of our rooms include free High Speed Internet access, complimentary local calls, two phone lines, voice mail, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. We also offer complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet access in all public areas. When visiting Burlington, Iowa Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Hotel Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Burlington Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing