We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$134
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Cedar Falls(Cedar Falls)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn by Wyndham Cedar Falls(Cedar Falls)(Great Value!)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$51
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
22
21
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
21
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextra towelsgarbage disposalfitness centerfront deskfresh towelspool areahot waterroom was cleani highly recommend this hotelother hotelsstay there againkitchenettedishwasherwalmarttargettonsink
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 54 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017

It is important to note that this extended stay hotel is not like other hotels you'll stay at.

The Good:
--The hotel staff is extremely friendly, personable, and knowledgeable.
--For the most part, the hotel overall was fairly clean and tidy.
--There is a 24 hour fitness center that has the standard fitness center stuff (elliptical, etc.)
--The pool area is actually really the highlight of the hotel. It has a decent sized pool that goes down to about 5 feet. It is actually kept pretty warm. The hot tub was almost too hot, but it was really big and can fit several people. Usually hotels have really small hot tubs where only a couple of people can sit in it. This one had a larger one. Like I said, it was almost too hot, but it wasnt uncomfortable-hot. In the pool area, there are several chairs tables. Each table had 4 extra towels on it (which is unusual, but cool), and there were always plenty of towels on the rack by the door. There are mens and womens bathrooms just outside of the pool area. There is even a shower in the pool area itself for those who just want to rinse off really quick before heading back to their room.
--The room itself was actually the standard sized room of almost any hotel I've stayed at. However, they arranged the room to also include a closet, a larger bathroom, and a small kitchen. The kitchen is almost a full kitchen. It has a sink, a stove, a dish washer, a microwave, cupboards, and even a decent sized mini-fridge. As I said, the bathroom was fairly large and the shower always had hot water. Two small details about the shower that I absolutely loved: The shower head is almost 7 feet off the ground (for us taller folks) and they have those curved shower curtain rods that give you a ton more space while showering.
--There is a laundry area that is free for guests to use. However, you must provide your own laundry detergent.

What you need to know:
--The phone in the room is literally the phone on your wall from the 90's. Buttons on the receiver and a thousand foot cord.
--For as much money as they spent making the room up to date (i.e. a dishwasher and a garbage disposal), they sure skimped on the TV. The TV in our 2 queen bed room was probably a 20 inch flat screen TV. It looked pathetic compared to everything else in the room. On the topic of TV's, the channel list they give apparently changes a lot, so much to the point that they give you a piece of paper with the most current channel list - with the preface that it could change at any time.
--There is no breakfast - which is very unusual for any hotel nowadays. In fact, it is the first time I've actually seen a hotel not offer any sort of breakfast. They do have a snack area where you can select items you want and pay for them at the counter, but that is the extent of the food in the hotel.
--You have to pay extra for things that are normal in other hotels. You want your room cleaned more than once a week? You pay extra. You want fresh towels? You pay extra. In all of my considerable amount of traveling, I have NEVER seen a hotel require extra payment to get fresh towels. Or to clean my room.
--The location of the hotel itself is a very busy location. If you leave the hotel between 7 and 8:30 in the morning on a weekday, expect to wait 5 or 10 minutes at the hotel entrance before an opening happens when you can drive out. The hotel seems to be located next to some sort of industrial district and a ton of semi trucks dry by.

Overall, I would probably stay there again as it is a decent hotel at a decent price. I just wish I'd have known about the strange practices prior to staying.

Pro Tips:
--Right across the street from the hotel is a Casey's Gas Station joined with an A&W. They always have hot sandwiches for breakfast and you can go over to the A&W for lunch.
--There is a Walmart right down the street, as well as a Target, Mendards, and other larger stores. If you need anything while you stay, its highly likely everything you'd need is right down the street.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaximII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our Guests. We

We do housekeeping weekly for all of our long-term stay Guests. If they want extra housekeeping services we do charge for those but we do not charge anything for clean towels. We simply ask you to bring your dirty linens and towels to the Front Desk where we will exchange them for clean at no charge. I apologize if you were given the impression that we charge for clean linens and towels.

Just for the record our TV's are 32" flat screens as required by Suburban Extended Stay Hotels brand standards.

We are located at a busy intersection and we do have a lot of traffic going by morning, noon and evening. We are in fact located on the Northeast corner of the Cedar Falls Industrial Park as mentioned.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again when you return to the Cedar Falls area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

It was a rainy weekend in Cedar Falls - so the hotel was not quite as clean as we have seen it before on our trips to the valley. But staff that we saw said hello and the room was clean. Hotel was quite for a Wartburg Homecoming weekend.

Room Tip: I would go to the third floor and ask for west side
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSH80634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and use it to improve the overall experience for all of our Guests. We hope that we will have the privilege of providing for you lodging needs the next time you return for a Wartburg function or are in the Cedar Falls area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2017

I came for some business at UNI with one other individual. We were pleasantly surprised considering this hotel was under $75 a night. This hotel has large rooms with comfortable beds. We particularly appreciated the refrigerator, microwave, range, and dishwasher provided (though there was no toaster or oven). There was sufficient storage area and the sink and shower had good temperature and pressure control. The front desk was welcoming, had good knowledge of Cedar Falls (history, places to eat, etc.), and always provided extras (shampoo, etc.) and replaced towels when requested.

Our one gripe was with the fitness center; it was in desperate need of some maintenance. It looked like the machines hadn't been cleaned in several months (there were several sticky spills). Moreover, when we visited, only 2 out of the 4 machines worked. The weight machine was stuck on a specific weight setting and could not be adjusted. The treadmill "stop" key was jammed and therefore, unusable. While this may not be an issue for some travelers, as a regular exerciser, it was.

This was a great choice all in all and I would not hesitate to return. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Crystal X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate our Guests' input and comments.

We have addressed your concerns with the fitness center and thank you for letting us know.

We hope that we will have opportunity to provide for you lodging needs when you return to the Cedar Falls area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

My 4 boys and I were stranded here for 2 days while passing through CF due to unexpected required vehicle repairs. The staff was very helpful in making us as comfortable as possible under the stressful conditions. They allowed us to have a late checkout and pool privileges as we waited on news of our van repair. The rooms were extremely comfortable and we were able to prepare our own meals in them. My only complaint was that he pool area was a little too hot for us. We had to spend about 4 hours in there and for those of us not swimming, it was quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nls863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We were pleased to have you stay with us while your car was being repaired. It was our pleasure to extend the late check-out and pool usage while you waited for your vehicle repairs to be completed.

We hope that we might have the privilege of having you stay with us again under, hopefully, better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been here over a week now on business and the staff has been excellent, the rooms are clean and we'll maintained, the bed is quite comfortable and the hot water is excellent. Its quite and close to walmart and target. From the time we walked in we have felt comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis S, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our Guests.

it is a pleasure having you here with us. We look forward to your continued stay and we hope to keep your opinion of us the same as it is now.

Please let us know if there is anything more we can do for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews