We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
159
58
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
58
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main street motor lodge historic hotel the main hotel within walking distance restaurants and shops night life heart of downtown beautiful room road trip hotel lobby coffee maker comfortable rooms staff was very friendly and helpful yogurt blackhawk antiques
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 237 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We had a great experience in The Blackhawk. Staff could not have been nicer. Rooms are spacious and airy and the atmosphere! Wow. Just feels so great. Updated showers and commodes; nice furniture, bed was heavenly. Lobby is beautiful -- just like old hotels in the movies. And walking distance from many restaurants and bars.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tingodmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear tingodmusic,

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review. All of your nice comments are very appreciated and we love having great feedback like this from our guests. We strive for every guest to have a pleasant stay, and we'd be happy to have you as our guest in the future. Thank you so much again. Take care,

Maryann Hinman
Concierge Director
Black Hawk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

This historic hotel in the Cedar Falls downtown area was so much fun that we stayed an extra night and still need to go back for more. This was a combination business/getaway and perfect for both. The hotel bar patio on Main Street was very nice, especially with the unexpected Wine Wednesday special. The room was comfortable and quiet even with thunderstorms both nights. Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast had good and healthy choices. Plus, there’s a great coffee shop just across the street! This historic downtown has so many interesting and unique local stores to browse that free time flew by.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CindiK336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Dear Cindi,

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to give us a wonderful review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your time here. We love our downtown and we're happy that you got to enjoy the restaurant, coffee shop and our local stores. And, we are lucky to have such a great staff. Thank you again for your kind words and we'd love to have you as our guest again! Take care,

Maryann Hinman
Concierge Director
Black Hawk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

This historic hotel is an important component of Cedar Falls’ thriving Main Street revival. You can stroll for several blocks from the hotel finding trendy restaurants, bars and shops. I didn’t see a single empty storefront in the area. The hotel itself is nicely maintained and comfortable. The breakfast was fine. (Important note: The hotel has a “contemporary” annex that looks uninteresting. Make certain you reserve an “historic” room.)

Sent from my iPhone

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jimbenben2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Jimbenben2,

Hello and thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you were pleased with the historic building, and our historic downtown. We hope you'll come back and enjoy our location again! Take care,

Maryann Hinman
Concierge Director
Black Hawk Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Black Hawk never disappoints us. Comfortable bed & pillows, clean room, quiet, and nice large towels. My husband and I like to get away for a night in historic hotels and walk to good nearby restaurants. The Black Hawk is one of our favorites.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MrsDH-MrRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments are very important to us, and we are so happy that you enjoy your stay here and think of the Black Hawk Hotel as one of your favorites! We appreciate your continued business and if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable in the future, please let us know. Take care,

Maryann Hinman
Concierge Director
Guest Relations Manager
Black Hawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Don't miss this place. If your having to stay anywhere in the area, stay in Cedar Falls, the Blackhawk is a great choice. It is right on the Main St. Which is full of resturants and shops right next to the river. Very relaxing to park the car and just walk to the restaurant and then to the river and through the neighbourhoods close by. We stayed in the Annex building that has modern rooms. The breakfast is a little simpler than some but still good. All in all great experience.

Room tip: Stayed in the Annex building, rooms are newly done with modern trendy decor.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Softserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-BlackHawkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Softserve,

Hello! Thank you for your review. We're so glad that you had a great experience in our downtown. We hope you'll come stay with us again; and if you do, let the front desk staff know if there's anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable! Take care.

Maryann Hinman
Concierge Director
Guest Relations Manager
Black Hawk Hotel, Cedar Falls, IA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews