We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast”

The Class Act Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Class Act Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 432 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 76th St SW
Transit: Kirkwood Blvd and 76th St SW.
Description: The Class Act Restaurant, located within The Hotel at Kirkwood Center, is eastern Iowa's newest and tastiest gourmet restaurant. Just minutes from popular attractions in downtown Cedar Rapids and Iowa City, The Class Act Restaurant provides great food and outstanding service in a hip, yet friendly and comfortable environment unlike any other in Cedar Rapids. In addition to offering an outstanding menu featuring the very best locally-grown produce and select fare from around the country, The Class Act also serves as a real-time, real-world teaching environment for Kirkwood's groundbreaking Culinary Arts program. Our menus are designed differently, far more creatively, in response to our teaching responsibility, and to provide the dining experience you and your family and friends expect. The Class Act offers the premier spot in Cedar Rapids whether you're looking to celebrate with friends and family, invite your clients for a great meal while in town, or just enjoy a romantic evening for two. From haute cuisine to home cookin', The Class Act offers dishes designed for just about any appetite - and just about any budget. Whether you seek light bites such as our gourmet small plates, savor culinary delights like the Iowa-cut pork chop or seasonal risotto, or simply prefer to dig into the juicy, farm-fresh flavors of the signature Class Act Burger, our seasonal breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch, and dinner menus offer something to suit your tastes. Or stop in and enjoy one of the tasty cocktails or wines from the restaurant's bar and extensive wine cellar. And don't miss the sweet delights our award-winning dessert menu to provide the perfect finish to your day. You have very high expectations for what is prepared here. And rightly so. Enjoy amazing gourmet food, unmatched service and a surprisingly agreeable check. Together with our breathtaking decor and quiet ambience, we've created a flawless experience that is truly a Class Act.
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This place offers freshly prepared breakfast with a limited menu to handle most tastes. The dinner menu was sparse yet covered our needs and the soup along with the steak was outstanding.

Thank wpaapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hello wpaapw!

It's rare we receive a review for two service periods, thank you for covering both! You're correct, our Monday-Friday breakfast menu is engineered to provide options for a variety of tastes. If you're ever around on either Saturday or Sunday I encourage you to join us for brunch, which has more decadent offerings such as Chicken & Waffles and Bread Pudding Banana Split! We're looking to expand our dinner menu at the beginning of August with a focus on more small plates. Our steaks are wonderful, but if you haven't had one of our HK Beef steaks, it's worth the trip back. The Class Act has partnered with Kirkwood Community College's Agriculture Department to raise our very own head of cattle within walking distance of The Hotel. The quality and flavor of these cuts are unbelievable, I hope you can experience one soon.

Thank You Again!
Jacob

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

This place always knocks your bangs off. The menu changes and is always innovative, boundary pushing, and delicious. It has an excellent bar and wine list. Since all of the staff are Kirkwood students learning a trade, they are eager to please and exceptionally attentive. Be prepared, it is an event meal; sit back and be pampered and your patience and pallet will be rewarded.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tccutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Tccutler,

I'm at a loss for words, your raving review has knocked MY bangs off! As you stated perfectly, our chefs are always updating the menu with creative and palate-pleasing culinary delights. Our professional staff of trainers and students work hard to ensure that guest's expectations are met, if not surpassed, during every visit. Our lead bartender Jared Rodewald takes great pride in crafting our beverage list with the highest quality libations available, he'll be glad to hear his work is noticed and appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your Class Act experience with us!

Until next time,
Jacob

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here later on in the night as we learned many places close early in CR! They stayed open late to serve us which was really nice - our server was great- great recommendations, very accommodating. We mostly did appetizers so we didn't give them a big chance to cook for us - would go back and try more because what we had was delicious. The meat and cheese platter was huge (we actually took most of it to go!) and we had the mussels (the lemon butter bread it was served with was to die for!) and the special of pork belly and scallops which was really unique and amazing. Definitely worth the visit. Only reason it's not 5 is even though we were there late, it was a little dead. Not really their fault but it does feel a little weird being the only ones in the restaurant. More people go here so that doesn't happen!!

Thank Janna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Hi Janna R!

It makes me happy to hear we stayed open later to take care of you and your boyfriend! The pork belly & scallops is a personal favorite of mine, unique and delicious. When you come back, be sure to ask about any of our Hotel Kirkwood Beef specials that evening. The beef used in these specials comes from cows raised in a pasture within walking distance of The Hotel; can't get much more local than that!

Thanks for the feedback, we're looking forward to seeing you (and some friends!) soon!

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act \\ The Hotel at Kirkwood Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Good food, prepared and presented in a very class act. They have a master chief and Kirkwood students working the kitchen. They do a very nice job and the wait staff is very attentive.

Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Kent C,

We're happy to hear our cuisine and service hit the mark on your most recent visit! Our chefs certainly work hard to innovate new menu items every day so I'll definitely be passing your feedback along to them. If you haven't had the opportunity to join us for a World Culinary Tour dinner, I think it would be up your alley. Every month our chefs develop a four-course menu that reflects the cuisine of a foreign county. On June 7th & 8th, we'll be serving classic Ethiopian dishes.

Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant!

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Great dining in an excellent hotel. No need to go elsewhere if you are staying at the Kirkwood. Wonderful choice for special occasions.

Thank A7155SNthomasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear A7155SNthomasj,

Thank you for the raving review! We certainly do our best to make our establishment the best venue for any occasion. I'll pass your kind words onto the staff that made your experience possible!

Thank You,

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Class Act Restaurant also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to The Class Act Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing