We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

The Class Act Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Class Act Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 450 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 76th St SW
Transit: Kirkwood Blvd and 76th St SW.
Description: The Class Act Restaurant, located within The Hotel at Kirkwood Center, is eastern Iowa's newest and tastiest gourmet restaurant. Just minutes from popular attractions in downtown Cedar Rapids and Iowa City, The Class Act Restaurant provides great food and outstanding service in a hip, yet friendly and comfortable environment unlike any other in Cedar Rapids. In addition to offering an outstanding menu featuring the very best locally-grown produce and select fare from around the country, The Class Act also serves as a real-time, real-world teaching environment for Kirkwood's groundbreaking Culinary Arts program. Our menus are designed differently, far more creatively, in response to our teaching responsibility, and to provide the dining experience you and your family and friends expect. The Class Act offers the premier spot in Cedar Rapids whether you're looking to celebrate with friends and family, invite your clients for a great meal while in town, or just enjoy a romantic evening for two. From haute cuisine to home cookin', The Class Act offers dishes designed for just about any appetite - and just about any budget. Whether you seek light bites such as our gourmet small plates, savor culinary delights like the Iowa-cut pork chop or seasonal risotto, or simply prefer to dig into the juicy, farm-fresh flavors of the signature Class Act Burger, our seasonal breakfast, lunch, weekend brunch, and dinner menus offer something to suit your tastes. Or stop in and enjoy one of the tasty cocktails or wines from the restaurant's bar and extensive wine cellar. And don't miss the sweet delights our award-winning dessert menu to provide the perfect finish to your day. You have very high expectations for what is prepared here. And rightly so. Enjoy amazing gourmet food, unmatched service and a surprisingly agreeable check. Together with our breathtaking decor and quiet ambience, we've created a flawless experience that is truly a Class Act.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

We have dined here several times. Always a new menu with great choise's and Nice service. A very nice atmosphere

Thank Jimasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Dear Jimasa,

Thank you for the kind words! There's nothing better than reading you've had many pleasant experiences with us. I will share your feedback with our entire restaurant team. We have some exciting menu changes in the works, so be sure to stop back soon!

Until Next Time,
Jacob

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Dining here was a real pleasure! The service by the students was excellent, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was very nice. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for special occasions or just a nice time out

Thank Lauratravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Hello Lauratravels2!

In my experience, a quality brunch is without a doubt the most important meal of your week! I'll be sure to share your kind comments with our restaurant staff. We will be adding some decadent new items to our brunch menu within a couple months, I hope to see you back soon!

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience!

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

The food was very good and the atmosphere was classy. I had the Margarita with the high end tequila and one drink put me out. We at at 6:30 and I was asleep in bed at 8.

Thank DPenn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

Hello DPenn_11!

A classy experience at The Class Act is what we're all about! So glad your food and drinks were up to expectations, our Maikka Margarita is the best one in town. You're right though, the Don Julio Tequila will catch up quickly!

Thanks for providing feedback on your visit, see you next time!

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Once a month a friend and I meet for breakfast and this is the place for incredible food, wonderful service and quiet "catch up on life" conversation. We've never been disappointed and love the fact that it's a hotel/restaurant built as a teaching stepping stone for culinary and hospitality students. Visitor or local resident, it definitely should be on "to do" list!

Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Joan B,

It warms my heart to know you and your friend enjoy a consistently positive experience every month. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visits, on behalf of the entire team we're grateful for your continued patronage of The Class Act!

Thank You!
Jacob

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

I only was able to have an appetizer due to time, it was very nicely plated, tasted fresh and priced very fairly. The drink from the bar was also very expertly prepared and taste!!

Thank jleich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob L, Manager at The Class Act Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hello jleich!

We take great pride in both the taste of our food and the plate presentation, thanks for the compliment! I'll definitely pass your kind words onto our team. Our lead bartender Jared Rodewald will be thrilled to learn you enjoyed one of his craft creations.

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience!

Best,
Jacob

Jacob Larson
Restaurant & Beverage Manager
The Class Act

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Class Act Restaurant also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Been to The Class Act Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing