We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived after 1 a.m. but were quickly checked into our room. The hotel looked booked, but it was quiet, even in the morning although we checked out later than most of the other guests. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the rate very reasonable. We did not have breakfast here as we opted to eat at a nearby Perkins Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDValueSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    124
    111
    49
    41
See reviews for
152
67
47
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Driving west I got tired and decided to stop. I had a coupon from one of the motel coupon books. (It lowered the price by $18 plus tax).
Pros: Cost, bed was decent, there was a limited continental breakfast, location, pleasant evening desk clerk, room pretty clean
Cons: Flaking plaster around bathtub, one set of towels with none too big, luke-warm milk for cereal in cooling pitchers, small breakfast room with limited offerings, surly a.m. desk clerk, noise from other rooms and hallway

Room Tip: A room at the end away from the road will make things a bit quieter, but there are train tracks up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckianaSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable and everything worked like it should. The staff was very plesant and helpful. The continental breakfast was as good as at some pricier places I have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were visiting the University of Iowa and not familiar with the area so I opted for this hotel due to reviews. I don't think I have ever stayed at a Super 8. It was the most basic of accommodations. No frills and really cheap. That said it was just fine if you need a place to sleep and that's all. The breakfast area was basic as well and very crowded so there weren't enough tables. I don't think I would stay at a Super 8 again. I like something a little nicer than this.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a best room at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The room was really small and the furniture so dirty old and dusty! The room had a weird smell as well especially when u turn on the ac. When i went in to the bathroom i saw 2 small spiders there! The pillow and the blanket were dirty as well. Fortunately i brought my own pillow cases or i would not sleep for sure! My husband found it ok i guess men are just tougher as women! The walls were too thin, if ppl from the next rooms went to bathroom or used the shower you could definitely hear it! I think i fall asleep at 4 am because i was too exhausted.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaLee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The economy being what it is we decided to go with a Super 8. To me that is like camping out but I was surprised. The LG flat screen and the San Francisco Soap Company products elevated the experience for me. I believe, for the price, it was worth it.

Room Tip: Try a room on upper level to avoid moldy smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgiovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Contrary to what a couple of reviewers said, I found my room to be clean. No complaints at all! The woman at the front was so nice, she offered to help us carry our things to our room. (We are a family of five.) The only reason I wouldn't give this the full 5 stars is that there wasn't a luggage cart (hence the offer of help) nor a bathroom in the lobby, so we had to get our key back after checkout in order to use the bathroom. But other than those two relatively minor details, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poetmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.5 km away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#10 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 km away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#12 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Property: Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Address: 611 First Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Super 8 Coralville
Super Eight Coralville
Coralville Super Eight
Coralville Super 8
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing