We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
181
62
15
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
62
15
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel opera house downtown decorah hotel restaurant presidential suite classic hotel the main street restored historic luther college old style water street ribs lovely downtown old world stained glass public areas in town
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 267 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

wonderful place! we tell everyone about this place. great restaurants and area! they have corona countertops in the bathrooms as well as a jacuzzi and comfortable beds. the service at the front desk and housekeepers are very prompt. our friend had had a knee replaced and we were thankful for the elevator. great breakfast and view from the restaurant to people watch.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trek682662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager702402, Director of Sales at Hotel Winneshiek, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hi Trek682662!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Winneshiek during your visit to Decorah! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

Will never go back. Guests were allowed to drink, dance and socialize in the hallways to 1:30am. Customer service did nothing to control the volume. Wasted my time and mg families time and money going back to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Road53175411376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager702402, Director of Sales at Hotel Winneshiek, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Road53175411376,
We are deeply sorry for the experience you had during your stay with us. It sounds like you happened to stay during the weekend of Luther College's homecoming which always includes class reunion events on both the 2nd and 3rd floors of the hotel. This event happens every October and I apologize you were not made aware of this before booking your stay-- we have several new employees who possibly did not realize this at the time when you made your reservation. We are happy to reimburse you for the full amount of your stay--look for an email from our general manager. Again, we are very sorry. I assure you this is not a typical experience when staying with us and we'd love to have you back should you have a change of heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We have stayed at Hotel Winneshiek several times while in Decorah for events at Luther. The hotel is very accommodating to bring in rollout beds for our boys when needed. We love the location since it is right downtown and close to everything!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager702402, Director of Sales at Hotel Winneshiek, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear Tonya,
Thank you for continuing to stay with us during your visits to Decorah! We are thrilled to hear you have had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018

Renovation of old hotel has been very nicely done. Elegant and homey feel. Location was good. Facility cleanliness was very good. Had to ring six times to get front desk clerk for check in. "Breakfast" disappoints, but the lady who was attending was wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager702402, Director of Sales at Hotel Winneshiek, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Hi John38474! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Winneshiek during your visit to Decorah! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and we hope to see you the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018

Great location ; wonderful ambiance and architecture in the building ; easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants, museum, co-op grocery, and river bike trail ; quick access to Luther College and a nearby brewery.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager702402, Director of Sales at Hotel Winneshiek, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Hi Stephen! Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Winneshiek during your visit to Decorah! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the many activities Decorah has to offer! We hope to see you the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews