We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Centrally located downtown, great if you are doing business in downtown DSM. Near some very good local restaurants (Anericana and Centro).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    186
    100
    26
    16
See reviews for
73
77
22
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Now that the lobby renovation is complete, the hotel at least feels as it should. The room was fine and the service good. The elevators are second rate. Still think it average, but clearly moved up by not having to walk through construction in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melizondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed at the Marriott for the last 2 years during the Drake Relays. Not only is the hotel beautiful and upscale,but they offered around the clock shuttle service to the Drake campus for a mere $10 per trip. One phone call guaranteed a trip back to the Marriott from campus. The entire hotel staff was friendly and professional. I highly recommend the downtown Des Moines Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rxteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived about noon but were allowed to check-in which was great. I had a king room but was handicap enabled which was fine. The new reception area and lounge/bar is really nice and a gathering spot in the evenings. Location is ideal for getting around this small clean city.

Only downside was the shower in the bedroom which was very poor by usual hotel standards. It may have been the shower head or just the water pressure but I almost had to run around to get wet and it certainly didnt wake you up. Get this right and the hotel would be nearly perfect

Room Tip: ask about the shower........
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Called the day of to see if we could get early check-in! The front desk clerk was so friendly and accomodating (which usually if you call early they are not friendly in the hotel industry). Arrived 2 hours prior to check in and room was ready! Beautiful and clean hotel, my only complaint would be the shower was a bit out dated and a few stay hairs were around the tub. Arrived back to the hotel late after a wedding and the front desk knew which restaurants were still open and offered phone numbers!
Marriott never seems to disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Marriott in downtown Des Moines. It was a great experience. The front desk staff was wonderful, Our room was clean and updated, pool area was fun for the kids and the open bar area was very nice. The valet had my car ready for me right away and were very pleasant and able to give directions to where I needed to go. This is not a new property but you wouldn't know that in the least! I enjoyed the stay and hope to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolMadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We usually stay at the Hotel Savory when we are in town but decided to try somewhere different. The hotel is nice. The new lobby is really beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and with the skywalk you don't really need a coat to try the various restaurants in the downtown area. Parking is also very easy as there is a parking garage right across the street.

The restaurant was also very nice. The breakfast buffet was great ... good fresh fruit and omelets made to order. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#6 of 48 in Des Moines
198 reviews
1.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Moines Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Property: Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Address: 700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50309-2785
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing