We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
30
74
27
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
74
27
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscollege tourpancake machineroom was cleanfree breakfastwould stay here againnice breakfastnice sizelobby areastate fairoatmealcampushiemarsdowntowningersollcomputers
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 157 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2017

My daughter and I stayed at this property for one night in advance of her tour of Drake University. The front desk clerk, Vincente, was polite, professional and very helpful. The rate was competitive and the property generally well maintained. This is somewhat of a non-traditional Holiday Inn Express in what was likely a hotel owned by another company, set near an older commercial and residential neighborhood. It is very conveniently located to Drake University, one or two blocks from the campus. Use their parking lot while you tour the school.

There is no pool or hot tub. I used the workout facility which consisted of a treadmill, eliptical machine, stationary bike, incline bench and a series of dumbells. The water jug was empty in the machine, and they were out of towels in what was a pretty hot room.

Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express fare with pre-made omelets, pancakes, oatmeal, cereal, toast, muffins (they didn't look too good) and hot cinnamon rolls. Not bad overall.

I would stay here again if I were visiting the campus, which I suspect fills up quickly when there is a major event going on at Drake.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 207 with a view of a small courtyard (nice) but also looks directly across the courtyard to rooms on the other side.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Thank you for your stay with us. We are thrilled that you found our location ideal for you and your daughter. We apologize for the fitness room issues you encountered this will be addressed immediately. We truly look forward to your next with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2017

We made a reservation for a single king room, only to get a single queen -- only two single king rooms in the whole building; feels like this used to be a dormatory that they took over and got HI to sponsor. Only positive was that it is walking distance to campus/eateries.

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank DSVance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We do try and accommodate all room requests best we can but unfortunately can't always due to availability. I understand your frustration in not receiving what you had requested. It should have been made clear at time of booking that we can't guarantee a king room as there are a limited number at this property, and I sincerely apologize if this was not the case. All others rooms do have two queen beds with the same amenities as the king rooms. Safe travels to your next destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

I usually find Holiday Inn Express to be a reliable name. At the very least, I will get a clean bed and a bath. We checked in very late at night, after an all-day drive. The room was run down, but seemed clean and acceptable. Unfortunately, the whole family was on day 4 of a long road trip, and we had carefully worked out a schedule for us all to get a bath before sleeping. I say unfortunately because, as my wife attempted to move the sketchy, Dollar Store bathmat, she noticed the... crud? I'm not sure what to cal it! Yellowish brownish crust between the tup and bathmat. The kind of thing someone ignores at the beginning of a horror movie. We contemplated the effort involved in changing rooms, and decided that we would bathe in Cleveland the next night. If this were the last hotel in Des Moines, I would drive to Omaha!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Honest J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

We appreciate the feedback Honest J. We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have a few tubs which are designed with an attached bath mat. We have replaced most of these tubs due to the fact as the tub ages the bath mat does begin to become unattached around the edges. Underneath the attached bath mats is adhesive which is what you encountered.

Nevertheless this is not something any guest should have to encounter and this tub will replaced immediately. Once again our sincerest apologies and we hope the rest of your family trip goes well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2016

The room is updated, clean and very spacious. There is a Keurig and Refrigerator in the room. The staff was prompt and courteous.
The breakfast is good and has enough variety to start off your day.
We choose this hotel because of the location. It is directly across from Drake University.

Room Tip: Second Floor corner very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us. Take care until your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2016

We needed to make a very quick trip to Iowa to a family wedding and return the next day. Parking was convenient and we checked in quickly (nice desk staff) and had a very nice room. Everything was great. Love the beds at the Holiday Inn Express - almost as comfy as mine at home.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harriskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2016

We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope the wedding was fun, and if you return to Des Moines we hope to see you again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews