We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in the Heart of Des Moines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Although average for its peers within the Holiday Inn Express franchise, the location near Drake University in the geographical middle of Des Moines is a feature in itself. Pluses beyond location include a super-friendly staff, quiet and comfortable rooms with excellent bedding, and an terrific free breakfast. Three of us over-nighted here before driving nearly a thousand miles north into Canada for an epic fishing adventure. The staff most willingly accommodated our request for a cot, extra room keys, etc. We stayed here again when we returned from Canada, arriving after midnight, and received the same warm hospitality.

On the flip side, the room rate was pricy for the size and quality of the property which showed signs of age and deferred maintenance. The bathroom had been updated, but the quality of the tile work was a bit crude, and there was evidence of water leaks around windows throughout the building. The toilet didn’t flush properly in the room we had the first night, and the printers with the computers in the lobby did not print output from the Internet. For folks in need of a room in central Des Moines, this hotel is a candidate as long as you can overlook little items such as those mentioned.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Hotel is on a quiet, tree-lined street in an urban neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

We truly appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very pleased that you were able to have two enjoyable stays with us. The maintenance concerns you encountered will all be addressed and we apologize for these. Sounds as though your fishing trip was exceptional and we hope you stay with us again if and when you make the same trip in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

This is an older Holiday Inn Express near Drake University, and I was surprised at the good condition of my room. The office area could use some updating, but the staff was helpful and accommodating during my stay. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Orrin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us and also the kind words about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

The HIE at Drake has the interior (and exterior) feel of a converted dormitory. The facade looks much like the other buildings adjacent, there's an awkward staircase running down into the lobby, etc.

That's not a bad thing, necessarily, it's just, well, differed.

The good news is that the rooms are quiet, the beds comfortable, and parking is free. Nothing, in short, to dislike.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We thank for your stay and the feedback. We are thrilled you an enjoyable stay with us and we do hope to see you again. Take care and safe travels in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This hotel fit our needs for a visit to family in Des Moines and the State Fair. The rate was a bit cheaper than hotels in downtown. Our room was clean and we were able to park without issue. The Drake Diner shares the parking lot and there is the Mars Cafe just down the street and around the corner which is a great coffee shop. It’s a very easy walk to Drake University, and it’s not far to drive to restaurants downtown or on Ingersoll.

The hotel was quiet and clean, and the staff were cheerful and helpful. The building looks like it might be a former academic building that had been converted, however, it was built specifically as a hotel. In that aspect the architecture is great as it blends in with the university nearby.

The neighborhood around is a little run down, and when we first arrived there were people loitering at on a park bench just outside the front door of the hotel drinking alcohol out of a bottle in a paper bag. The loitering people did not cause any trouble for us.

For our tastes we’re thinking we’ll pay the higher rates to stay downtown the next time we want to stay in Des Moines.

Room Tip: Room 219 is next to the workout room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamboo_Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

We truly appreciate your stay with us and are pleased that it was pleasant one for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Very Clean and professional. Nice breakfast. Good shuttle service to State Fair bus area at capitol and back. and free parking. Coffee always available in the lobby area. It had a nice clean pool although I didn't use it. Rate way $107 plus taxes.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank FairlyWellTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

I am very pleased you had a pleasant stay. I do believe however it was at our sister location which is the Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy Campus. We do not have a shuttle nor do we have a pool at our property.

I will pass this review along to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I have stayed many times at the Holiday Inn Express Des Moines Drake University, as have several notable friends. In the 25+ years since I first stayed there, my visits have been at least yearly, for business and pleasure. The hotel has an excellent location, with the well-known Drake Diner next door. The grounds were clean, rooms in good condition.

This is no longer the case, apparently with the new management. When I made the reservation this time, the attendant was curt and not helpful. The cost was higher than I would have expected. Awards club membership was not of any advantage.

When we checked in for a two-night stay for a conference. The grounds and entrance were messy, with scrap paper all around, a soiled and decrepit waste can leaning against the building.

The desk attendant was very pleasant and welcoming. Room was okay, but not as many towels and washcloths as HI Express usually have. Beds were comfy, as usual.

Upon returning tot he room the second day, about 2:30 in the afternoon, the room had been entered and towels removed, but bed was not made and there had been no cleaning. There were no towels. A while after we called the desk, two housekeepers came to the door; did not knock, simply shouted. I answered (the door was open already) and one of them curtly asked, "Are you leaving?" I said we were not leaving until the next day. She said, "Why did you call?" I said the room had not been cleaned and there were no towels. There was no offer made to clean the room or get towels; they left.

An hour later, my wife went to the desk to get towels. No apology was made. When we checked out the next morning, there was offer to reduce the charges (though I suggested a reduction would be appropriate) or make amends, only the statement, "I'll let the manager know." The manager was walking past at that moment; surely he could have been notified at that moment.

Grounds were just as messy as we left. Same large pieces of paper were in the entry way as when we checked in, same scraps about the grounds and parking lot. I never even received the usual request to review the hotel. I cannot imagine why not.

I doubt I will stay there again, in spite of years of pleasant experiences. My friends echoed my reaction, based upon their recent stays. Too bad.

Room Tip: A good location: close to downtown and restaurants. Terrible service lately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you your stay as well as the constructive feedback regarding your stay. Your experience with us fell well below the standards of our property. I do not have a good explanation for the many troubling issues you encountered. I offer my sincerest apologies and give you my word that each of these issues will be corrected immediately.

We truly appreciate your business throughout the years. I understand if you no longer choose to stay at our property, but hope you will give us another chance.

Thank you again for your business and I wish you a wonderful rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

We arrived 4.30pm to be told that our room was not ready and would take 15 mins or so to sort. Not a great problem, but when you have been travelling for hours this was disappointing. The front desk staff were apologetic and polite.
We were upgraded which was nice. Room was fine. The towels were old and grey, not white fluffy ones, which we usually experience.
The breakfast area was small and window less, which wasn't pleasant to sit in. I had to wipe our table both mornings to get rid of crumbs before seating.
Breakfast was fine though.
The location to see the Capitol building was close by.The price of this hotel was good and parking area was fine.
In nice area close to Drake University.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressDrake, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We truly appreciate your stay with us. Thank you for your honest feedback as the minor issues you experienced are taken by us very seriously and must be corrected immediately.

We strive to make certain that every facet of our guest's stay is enjoyable. We apologize that we did not achieve this with your stay. You can trust that the issues you encountered will be promptly addressed. Thus any and all future guests will not experience these same issues.

Thank you again and safe travels to your next destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Event Center
2.4 km away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
3.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University

Address: 1140 24th St, Des Moines, IA 50311-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Des Moines
Price Range: $128 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from Des Moines, Iowa, home of the Drake Bulldogs and Drake Relays. Holiday Inn Express at Drake is at the heart of this city's renaissance neighborhood and ideally located right on campus. Seconds away are the Knapp Center, and Drake Stadium. Dining is available next door at the retro-themed favorite, Drake Diner. Follow your meal with an independent film a jaunt away at the Varsity Movie Theatre. Come visit the campus, the community, and us; we'll make you feel at home.Plenty of entertainment awaits off campus as well. Attractions include Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Amusement Park, Iowa State Fairgrounds, Principal Park, and Blank Park Zoo. Also nearby are the Civic Center, Convention Complex, Veterans Auditorium, Hy-Vee Hall and Wells Fargo Arena. We are moments from the Historical Building of Iowa, the State Capital, Living History Farms, Terrace Hill, Salisbury Mansion and Hoyt Sherman Place. Centrally situated among all of the Metro's retail districts --- four major malls, many boutiques and antique shops. Seasonal attractions are plentiful and near. Other areas of interest include The East Village, Historic Valley Junction and Downtown Court Avenue District, where nightlife is at its best. Free Wireless Internet available in all guest rooms and public areas. Whether it is business or pleasure that brings you our way, our team is ready to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Hotel Des Moines
Holiday Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Des Moines/Drake University Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing