We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 9 September 2016

OK.. first the good things. The WI-FI worked great. The Bar had Potosi beer. The beds were comfortable., Now the not so good... The first room we were given had an Electronic Lock that worked one out of twenty times and was being aired out from the previous occupants that smoked. The breakfast was minimal, and the general feel of the place seemed worn out. It could really use an upgrade.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Soupman1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for your recent stay and also thank you for your comments. We're happy to hear you were pleased with our beds and Wi-Fi. Hopefully when you arrived you were immediately moved to a room that was more satisfactory than the initial one offered. We are a 100% smoke free hotel and take that commitment very seriously. Unfortunately we do have the occasional guest that violates our policy which prompts us to do a deep and thorough cleaning of the room, carpet and fixtures which can take some time. Maintenance, upgrades and renovations are constantly ongoing here at the Baymont. We hope you will give a try again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Joyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

You get what you pay for. We stayed at the Baymont to save a penny, bad idea. This hotel is a hot mess. It is dirty, understaffed and outdated. The pool is tiny and the breakfast was the bare minimum. It advertised a restaurant but it didn't exist. Location is far from the downtown area. Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank tmv619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My husband and myself just spent a wonderful week-end at the Dubuque Baymont Inn. I had read many reviews on this property,and thought it might be, a nice place to spend my 64th birthday. We were NOT disappointed, from check in,to check out. We were greeted by Kim,who gave us a room that was very nice,but didn't have a mic/refrigerator,which I have requested. I called back to the front desk,and Kim quickly{though very busy with other quest},changed our room to another floor,with my previous request. When I went to exchange keys,I was greeted with a friendly smile and a apology from Kim,for the mix-up. I have been in the customer service business for over 40 yrs,and she treated me with the respect,I also have shared with others. We all know,that....to get customers to return,"that you give that customer,the best service,so they in return tell others,and this will build up your clientele". My husband and myself,felt so comfortable staying at the Baymont,that we felt that we 'were staying with family",LOL. Our room was so clean, comfortable and quiet,as we were put in a building,that was away from the pool. I am a very light sleeper,and the staff{manager{Sonny},and Kim....},saw that, I would be given a room,that would assure me to have a peace-full night. I was NOT disappointed. In the 3 days,that my husband and myself stayed with the Baymont "family",all the staff were so helpful and kind. The breakfast had a lot to choose from,which was kept up very nicely,by the breakfast hostess and her sister. We got several great discounts, on local restaurants and sites, to see in the area. I hated to leave,the Baymont,but every vacation must come to an end,LOL. I know,that the next time we are in the area,The Baymont Inn on McDonald Drive,in Dubuque, will be the place for us,once again. Thank You to all the staff,for a most enjoyable birthday/anniversary get-away.

Room Tip: If you want a nice quiet room,request building B....it is away from the pool and is very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Well, Happy Birthday and Anniversary again from your friends here at the Baymont Inn & Suites. We are honored that you chose us to be a part of your celebrations. And thank you so much for the kind comments about our team members. They are what truly make the difference. By all means don't wait all of the way until your next birthday to come and see us again. There is alway something unique and exciting to see and do in Dubuque throughout the year. Thank you for letting us be a part of your "family"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

PRO: The desk clerk at check-in and check-out was very friendly and helpful. Property was clean and quiet. Even though they were near capacity, we did not hear noise from hallway. Complementary hot breakfast items were limited on weekend but there were many other choices. Free Wi-fi, flat screen TV, reasonably priced. CON: No elevator and pool area was disappointing. Pool photo on website seems deceptive as the deepest area is only 4 feet, making it impossible to perform deep water aerobic exercise.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you choose not to carry luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty_qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to let us know how we did. Cleanliness and good service are two of our top priorities here at the Baymont and we're glad that you experienced both. We're sorry the pool did not meet your expectations. We do have a very nice work out room and sauna and offer discounts to local health clubs and the YMCA. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Every year we come down here from Chicago .This hotel is clean , does NOT smell , the staff is so friendly .We loved it our 5 yr old had alot of fun in their inside pool . Definitely coming back here next year .

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

That's what we LOVE to hear! Thank you for your recent visit and your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stay at the Baymont several times a year to visit our sons. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Great staff, clean rooms, breakfast, heated pool and convenient location to shopping, movies etc. There are many choices in the area but Baymont has it all including a business center, Wi-Fi and plenty of convenient parking.

Room Tip: Stayed on first and second floor and conditions were equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baymont I, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you so much for your recent visit, your loyalty and your very kind comments! Check us out on Facebook and you might just find some great deal for your next visit to your sons. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
91 reviews
6.0 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque

Address: 4025 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Heartland Inn - Dubuque West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $91 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Dubuque West
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing