We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be better choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Starting off, there was a large group of smokers in front of the entrance that we had to walk through to check in. (They were railroad workers who were waiting for a ride to their 2nd shift. So at 1:45am they were returning and were quite loud. The hotel seemed to cater to them and I’m sure they had more purchasing power than we did.) The front desk person at check-in had an attitude about our questions and seemed like we were bothering her. She didn’t answer the phone at all when I called with questions, and no one was available at check-out for at least 10 minutes. I usually don’t care about the front desk personnel, but this was exceptionally bad customer-service. As for the room, we slept well other than being awakened by the workers returning from their shift. But the fitted sheet didn’t stay on the mattress more than 5 minutes which is extremely irritating to me. There was no TV guide channel and the channel listing was completely obsolete. It was impossible to find how to locate ABC or CBS! That was one of the phone calls to the front desk that didn’t get answered. There are no elevators here so if you want the ground floor, you need to phone them in the morning (“that’s when we assign the rooms”) to request. The internet connection was just ok. Lastly, the breakfast choices were below average – good if waffles are your idea of a healthy breakfast. The price we paid was high considering the facilities. There surely be better choices in Dubuque.

Room Tip: No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank 558randyo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She opened up and staffed the bar area for us when we came back from supper and helped to create a very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cmvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The sink in the bathroom was very slow to drain. It took about 15 minutes to clear a sink full of water. The slow draining left a lot of residue on the sides of the sink. I told the front desk about it the next morning and they had maintenance come in and fix it. When we got back to the room, the sink was draining, but it had not been cleaned. (The rest of the room was clean.) The carpet felt sticky, so much so that I didn't want to walk around barefoot. I put on clean white socks and they stayed white, so it wasn't dirty, just sticky. Just before we checked out we used the toilet, and on the final flush, it backed up and overflowed a little.
A lot of construction workers seemed to be living here long term. One night we came back from the casino and several men were congregating around the front entrance. The parking lot was filled with construction trucks.
The beds were comfortable and one morning the typical motel breakfast included sausage patties.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We were passing through town and stayed at this hotel for one night. We chose it because it was one of the only rooms left in town that was closer to $100 than $200. The room seemed a bit dated and the bathroom was small and sort of gross. The breakfast in the morning was incredibly disappointing. There were not many options, and two members of my group didn't find anything to eat at all. The pool was teeny tiny, but we were the only ones in it luckily. I can't imagine if another group had come. We'd have been standing on top of each other.

I guess I was expecting a bit more for the price we were charged. We stayed at a Crowne Plaza in downtown Kansas City a few weeks earlier on a Saturday night for $10 more and had a huge suite, free drinks and a large free breakfast. I'm just pointing that out to show that this place was NOT a good value, at least on a weekend night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank BG340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites
Thank PrincessRani
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.6 km away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#11 of 17 in Dubuque
91 reviews
6.0 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
684 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque

Address: 4025 McDonald Dr, Dubuque, IA 52003-5249 (Formerly Heartland Inn - Dubuque West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range: $93 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Dubuque West
Baymont Inn & Suites Dubuque Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing