We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
39
30
9
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
30
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great boutique the air conditioning beautiful place swimming pool other hotels pedasi panama ocean beach maintenance development venao surfers parrots
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 86 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2017

I stayed one night with my wife at this hotel. The hotel in general is very nice. Definitively a place to be for relaxed vacations.
The staff was friendly. Fluent in french and english, less in spanish. We stayed in room #1, was huge, bed was king size (but noisy), the bathroom was clean but our hot water did not work.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was good: omelette, toasts, natural juice or coffee/tee was served.
The view from the restaurant is amazing, at the moment local beers are $2 which is a very good price for an hotel. Pool was nice and warm.

Unfortunately, at the beach, I was stung by a stingray when I was almost checking out. My wife had to take me to the nearest hospital which was 20 minutes from the place (Pedasí).
My recommendation to the hotel is to have at least a fist aid kit for this kind of situations since according to locals around is common during this time to have stingrays around.
Even though we did not make it for the check out (11am) since we were at the hospital, the hotel didn't charge us any extra fee for that which I appreciated a lot.
An amazing place to be, but asked if there is stingray season or something similar to avoid any major incident.

Cheers,
David (My wife and I are both from Panamá)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2017

A boutique small hotel with a lot of charm and character. The setting is amazing with restaurant patio overlooking a lovely pool and the beach / ocean bay and great views. The staff are very friendly. Our ocean view room was not generously sized with a small bathroom but both were clean.
The meals experience was mixed - first dinner was excellent but the second night was less enjoyable. Management made an adjustment to the dinner bill and were concerned that we had not enjoyed the dinner. Breakfasts were good.

The owners are developing condos and a new hotel. The exisiting hotel is we understand to be demolished and so that explains why it is looking a little shabby chique. In many ways, it is a shame that they don't keep it and renovate as it is so peaceful and a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile

This is #1 choice if you want to stay close to Pedasí on Playa Venao. Boutique style resort, clean, quiet, great staff, beach front, great food, friendly staff, over all amazing. It is very well managed compared to other places in Panama. They care of everything you can think of. This is thanks to the proffessional manager David. The room includes nice breakfast and they have a great chef if you want to eat in (gourmet style fresh fish and seafood). All of this for good prices. It is hard to find a place like this one.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2017

Villa Marina is an older establishment that is showing some age inside the rooms but is pretty well maintained overall. The first room we stayed in was a bit spartan but clean. The second room with a direct view onto the ocean was really nice and ideal from a location perspective. The walls are a bit thin so bring your earplugs, especially if you end-up next to a family with kids or honeymooners.
The best part of the place was the manager (David) who was super attentive and really went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the high-end rooms with views of the ocean. They are only another $30 and worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 569,569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2016

David and Josh took great care of us while we stayed at the Villa Marina Lodge in June. I absolutely loved the décor and the pool. It was a little more private sitting outside on our deck from the room. The food was excellent! Everyone was very personable!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kristyf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMarinaL, Manager at Villa Marina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Good afternoon Kristy,

It is very nice to hear from you. Thanks a lot for the compliments and for stopping by, you two were amazing guests. We hope your trip through Panama was a success and that you enjoyed every bit of it.

Please feel free to come back anytime you want, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews