We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new place with good food”
Review of Vue Rooftop

Vue Rooftop
Ranked #33 of 286 Restaurants in Iowa City
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Description: Vue Rooftop features a distinctly modern escape filled with a unique outdoor design. Enjoy a memorable experience with food, music, and fantastic views of the Iowa City skyline.
Restaurant details
Description: Vue Rooftop features a distinctly modern escape filled with a unique outdoor design. Enjoy a memorable experience with food, music, and fantastic views of the Iowa City skyline.
Reviewed December 7, 2017

We went here for my birthday dinner and had a really nice time. The atmosphere is contemporary with some TVs on some walls, but not loud. We got there a bit after 6 pm and had no trouble getting a table, but those who came after us had to wait. Speaking of waiting, there was a wait for the drinks and food, but we knew this is a new place, so expected it and we weren't in a hurry, so it was fine for us. It was a bit drafty, so bring a sweater. We got the buffalo chicken mac and cheese for appetizer and it was delish! We split the 8 oz filet mignon which was melt-in-your mouth tender, with creamy mashed potatoes which were very good. We each had a specialty cocktail which we really enjoyed as well. If you sign up online, you can get a coupon for a free appetizer!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iowahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVueRooftop, Public Relations Manager at Vue Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2017

Dear iowahome,
Thank you for the review! We're so glad you had a great time with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

HGI is my typical hotel of choice for business travel. So it was natural for me to try the Vue during a biz trip stay at the top of this downtown Iowa City hotel. Sat at the bar - dining solo. By-the-glass selections and prices are fair. App and Dinner selections are limited but...interesting. Ordered the full Caesar and Walleye entre, but they came out at the same time!?! Hello? Any thoughts or plan on dinner spacing?? Maybe you’re just new? Not there for the ‘view’ - only for the convenience. May try it again if staying at the hotel, but further research tells me there are better options for fine dining in DT Iowa City.

Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVueRooftop, Public Relations Manager at Vue Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2017

Glenn,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are always working on improving our menu and the timing of our kitchen. We appreciate the feedback and utilize it towards solving these issues. We hope you give us another chance next time you are in the area!
Vue Rooftop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017

We were very confused by the type of venue that Vue Rooftop was trying to be. It is located on the 12th (top) floor of the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Iowa City. On one hand it is based as a place with great views....which it does of good view of Iowa City, but obviously it is nothing like rooftop bars or restaurants in large cities (with much taller buildings and more spectacular landscapes). Likewise it is really meant to be on top of a Hilton or Hyatt, versus a scaled down Hilton Garden Inn.

The main issue is that it strives to be a high-end place in a mid-place market (let's face it, college students are not the main target audience of fine dining places) and Vue is right in the middle of this college town. On one hand it is positing itself as a fine dining place (sort of) but ends up with a mix of a full restaurant menu and bar menu. On the other hand it tries to be a cocktail bar (with the views) but really doesn't have a great bar area for patrons to enjoy. Then yet again on the other hand it is a sports bar with lots of different beers and wide screen TV's on all the walls (that aren't windows). And finally on the "fourth" hand, it is a dance club as they turn down the lights as we were finishing dining, turn on the dance club music and mood lighting.

Finally, the food was ok, but not great, and a bit over-priced (for what it was). My crab cakes were pretty bland and dry; and my flat bread was again, fine but not great. Service was generally ok, but our waiter lost track of us a few times and they had different staff bring out our food and drink (so they were not aware of who ordered what). Thus they sort of lost the benefit of having a fancy waiter if they didn't follow it up with the service needed on the back-end.

Thus to sum up Vue seems to be trying to find its identity and crowd yet, and needs to match its service, menu, and music to where-ever they land.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Schmerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVueRooftop, Public Relations Manager at Vue Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Schmerko,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate and value your feedback and will take everything you mentioned into account to improve our bar and restaurant. We are diligently working on our service and menu in order to provide full guest satisfaction. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2017

A friend of ours, that used to live in the IC area but now in Italy, came back to IC to sing Blues music at this amazing new venue. The view of the IC area is awesome, the dining and bar area is modern and looks really nice. The host staff was friendly and quickly greeted you as you approached the desk. Plenty of seating, great menu, great drinks and tvs with great pictures.

You need to try this place out, it's going to be a HUGE hit in this area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVueRooftop, Public Relations Manager at Vue Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Dave, we are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Four friends and I went to the new VUE restaurant, on the top floor of the Hilton Garden Inn, for drinks and dinner and were very impressed. Since they just opened, the menu is limited for the time being. We ordered several appetizers - spicy pecans, fried cheese curds, and one other I can't recall at the moment - and all were delicious. I ordered the VUE burger which was tasty but too tall to fit in anyone's mouth, so I had to take one of the two patties off to eat separately. The Baked Shells & Cheese was incredible. My friends and I were all very satisfied with what we ordered and service was prompt and friendly. We will be back, and look forward to being regular customers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlanLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMVueRooftop, Public Relations Manager at Vue Rooftop, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear AlanLight,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Vue Rooftop! We now have our full menu available, so be sure to stop in sometime to check it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vue Rooftop also viewed

 

Been to Vue Rooftop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing