We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
US$149
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alexis Park Inn & Suites(Iowa City)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
51
56
50
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
56
50
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice poolwafflesbiscuits and gravyoff the highwayfront desk staffexercise roomhot breakfastbed was comfortableroom was largestayed one nightwould stay here againconvenient locationreclinercerealwhirlpool
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 223 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

The was a very fantastic hotel. The rooms were nice and large with big comfortable beds and lots of pillows. The bathroom was nice with a big shower and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again

Stayed: December 2017
Thank tincancolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Jeffery Hickman
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
3193542000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here while on tour and performing in Des Moines. It was very convenient to the highway and the room was very comfortable and clean. The front desk staff was super friendly even at 2 am, and the free breakfast in the morning was a perfect way to get full before hitting the highway!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Aaron123blw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jeffery Hickman
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
3193542000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Great location, right off the highway close to the airport and only a short drive into the heart of town. Great free hot breakfast, all my favorites including eggs, sausage and waffles. Clean room, clean bathroom, and comfortable bed, which is a plus. Evven though there was a U of I football game the hotel was full but it was very quiet. No problems falling asleep, which sometimes happens in other hotel. I definitely will recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lindai677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Jeffery Hickman
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
3193542000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

We had such a good experience a few months ago at the Clarion Highlander conference center I came back with another band I tour manage and once again we had a great stay. Massive parking lot allowed up to park bus and trailer with ease. Fast and courteous staff adjusted room preferences per my clients smoking request; they were also impressed with the largest indoor pool they’ve ever seen in a hotel. Stay was quiet and peaceful; complimentary breakfast exceeded quality of other hotel chains. There is a amazing restaurant in there as well; also plenty of conference room and business resources as well if that’s your thing. This is my favorite spot to stay at in a great location when traveling through Iowa. Be sure to check out the Spam museum!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind regards,

Jeffery Hickman
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
3193542000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

We went to visit my son and attend the U of I football game. It was the only hotel we could find that had openings and they had jacked their prices to $169 per night which is ridiculous for this property to be asking for. When we checked into out room there was trash already in the trash can left from the people before us. The carpet and bedding is old and dirty. The shower had no water pressure and did not drain. The next day we went to the game and came home exhausted to find no one had cleaned our room or brought fresh towels. Upon leaving the toaster did not work in the breakfast area and I waited 15 minutes for a desk clerk to print my receipt. No one was at the desk....! Such a waste of our money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jeffery Hickman
General Manager
Clarion Highlander Hotel
3193542000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews