We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but OVERPRICED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but OVERPRICED”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

From the meeting room service fees to food to the $10 per day in-room Internet access fees to the $11 per day parking fee... We felt nickel

Helpful?
7 Thank TMPfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    155
    92
    40
    34
See reviews for
114
58
41
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Be prepared to be charged for everything! Extra charge for parking ($11 per night), internet in your room ($10 per night), bottles of water ($3 per bottle), roll away bed ($12) or a fridge in your room ($10). There was no bar soap in the room. When we called down to the front desk, we were told that they were "out"! What kind of hotel runs out of soap!? The "free internet" they advertise, is only if you want to drag your laptop to their lobby and sit there or use their business center for a limited time. We asked for directions to a church, and the front desk staff had no idea. They are trained to smile and "be nice" and that's about it. We ate breakfast in their restaurant Share. Unfortunately we ate the buffet (no complimentary breakfast - $12). It consisted of runny oatmeal, watery scrambled eggs and bacon that was about as old and tough as leather (you can tell it was old and reheated from previous days that it wasn't eaten). This is probably the worst Sheraton we have ever stayed in. We called and wanted to file a complaint with the management, to this very day, we still have not gotten a call back. My recommendation, stay over in Coralville and take a taxi downtown, you will save a LOT of money in the long run after all of the "extra" charges. The rooms are "normal", loud heaters in the room (cold), lousy closet space, lack of knowledgeable staff and an uncaring management.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and ice machines next to them. Ask for upper floors to get away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank centralman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My Wife and I traveled to Iowa City for a wedding in early December. We stayed at the Sheraton for just over $100/night. If you are into a great college night life, you can't beat the location. The bars and restaraunts are feet from the hotel doors. I've been to Iowa City a few times before but never stayed downtown. Staying downtown made the trip! It was the best time I've ever had there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel was located right next to campus administrative offices and flanked by a pedestrian mall with all kinds of convenient places to grab food between work obligations. I walked one block to the offices which were over a mall and as I was working at night, loved being able to have a choice of food to grab and take back to the hotel. (Hotel had room service too but I did not use it.) The beds were great, the room was clean, the staff was helpful. If I return to Iowa City I will definitely try to get a room here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comerharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are so pleased you had a great stay!!!! When you come back we encourge you to join us in Share Wine Lounge & Small Plate Bistro! Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A raging wind and snow storm on New Year's Day forced us to reroute our three-day drive to go through Iowa City. We booked a room at the Sheraton and just about fell on our knees and thanked the heavens when we walked into that clean, beautifully appointed room with its giant extraordinarily comfortable bed.

Reasons this place is great: They are dog-friendly (no fee!). They are located in the heart of Iowa City, right on the ped mall. The rooms are spotless, good-looking (clearly recently updated), and comfortable. The mattress was great and the bedding generous and lofty and soft (no polyester quilting here.) And the staff are attentive, responsive, and courteous. The rest of our trip could only go downhill from here, and it did. But our night in Iowa City, at least, was the highlight of it, thanks to this lovely and restful respite from the rest of the bleak and blustery Midwest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casiobeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We are so pleased you had an exceptional night! We work hard to provide a great facility every time, for every guestI You are welcome back anytime!

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for interview near Iowa. Beautiful lobby and very helpful staff. The room was nice, good internet, plenty of towels and supplies, everything was generally clean. They even had a nice LCD TV with connectors at the desk so you can hook up your laptop to the screen! The only problem was some people were partying down outside my window. I should have called the front desk to complain about it, but otherwise it was a great stay. I only wish I had lots of money to stay at Sheraton all the time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xilex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. Glad you had a good time! We do provide the Jack pack which is a great amenity for working on your computer. If any guests get loud, all you have to do is give us a call. We do provide security each night and try to provide you the best nights sleep possible.

We appreciate your business. I hope your job interview went well wishing you the best and 2012!

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

With out-of-town college and wrestling teams staying here, plus a wedding downstairs, we anticipated a lot of noise. But it was very quiet overall. The beds are soft, perhaps too soft for some, but I found them comfortable. Unfortunate that when you have to pay $11 for parking per day, you still have to walk outside in the cold/rain to get to the hotel. Only problem is that the heater in our room was abnormally loud. Otherwise, it's in a great location; close to many shops/bars/restaurants. VERY decorative and luxurious-feeling rooms, especially the bathrooms; probably the some of the nicest decor for hotels in Iowa City.

Room Tip: Second floor has fitness room/pool, so may have more traffic/noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchestra_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you so much for providing your comments from your January stay. We work very hard to try to provide each guest a unique experience and a great hospitality accommodation. We do recognize the small walk between the hotel and the parking ramp. While there is no direct route in our downtown location it is semi-covered for those bad weather times.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Iowa City!!

Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.1 km away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
0.7 km away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
3.4 km away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Iowa City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Iowa City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Address: 210 South Dubuque Street, Iowa City, IA 52240
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Iowa City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel is located on the campus of the University of Iowa, and close to Carver Hawkeye Arena, the legendary Kinnick Stadium, Hancher Performing Arts Center and the Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Iowa City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Iowa City
Iowa City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing