We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$88
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iowa House Hotel(Iowa City)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexis Park Inn & Suites(Iowa City)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown Street Inn(Iowa City)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
120
159
106
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
159
106
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian mallgreat locationthe club loungebars and restaurantsheart of downtownpark your carcomfortable bedsthe room was niceenjoyed my stayupon checkfootball weekendcollege visituniversityspgrampstudentsfestival
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 465 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Be prepared to be charged for everything! Extra charge for parking ($11 per night), internet in your room ($10 per night), bottles of water ($3 per bottle), roll away bed ($12) or a fridge in your room ($10). There was no bar soap in the room. When we called down to the front desk, we were told that they were "out"! What kind of hotel runs out of soap!? The "free internet" they advertise, is only if you want to drag your laptop to their lobby and sit there or use their business center for a limited time. We asked for directions to a church, and the front desk staff had no idea. They are trained to smile and "be nice" and that's about it. We ate breakfast in their restaurant Share. Unfortunately we ate the buffet (no complimentary breakfast - $12). It consisted of runny oatmeal, watery scrambled eggs and bacon that was about as old and tough as leather (you can tell it was old and reheated from previous days that it wasn't eaten). This is probably the worst Sheraton we have ever stayed in. We called and wanted to file a complaint with the management, to this very day, we still have not gotten a call back. My recommendation, stay over in Coralville and take a taxi downtown, you will save a LOT of money in the long run after all of the "extra" charges. The rooms are "normal", loud heaters in the room (cold), lousy closet space, lack of knowledgeable staff and an uncaring management.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and ice machines next to them. Ask for upper floors to get away from the outside bar crowds and noise which surrounds the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank centralman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My Wife and I traveled to Iowa City for a wedding in early December. We stayed at the Sheraton for just over $100/night. If you are into a great college night life, you can't beat the location. The bars and restaraunts are feet from the hotel doors. I've been to Iowa City a few times before but never stayed downtown. Staying downtown made the trip! It was the best time I've ever had there.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2012

This hotel was located right next to campus administrative offices and flanked by a pedestrian mall with all kinds of convenient places to grab food between work obligations. I walked one block to the offices which were over a mall and as I was working at night, loved being able to have a choice of food to grab and take back to the hotel. (Hotel had room service too but I did not use it.) The beds were great, the room was clean, the staff was helpful. If I return to Iowa City I will definitely try to get a room here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comerharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

We are so pleased you had a great stay!!!! When you come back we encourge you to join us in Share Wine Lounge & Small Plate Bistro! Look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A raging wind and snow storm on New Year's Day forced us to reroute our three-day drive to go through Iowa City. We booked a room at the Sheraton and just about fell on our knees and thanked the heavens when we walked into that clean, beautifully appointed room with its giant extraordinarily comfortable bed.

Reasons this place is great: They are dog-friendly (no fee!). They are located in the heart of Iowa City, right on the ped mall. The rooms are spotless, good-looking (clearly recently updated), and comfortable. The mattress was great and the bedding generous and lofty and soft (no polyester quilting here.) And the staff are attentive, responsive, and courteous. The rest of our trip could only go downhill from here, and it did. But our night in Iowa City, at least, was the highlight of it, thanks to this lovely and restful respite from the rest of the bleak and blustery Midwest.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casiobeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

We are so pleased you had an exceptional night! We work hard to provide a great facility every time, for every guestI You are welcome back anytime!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for interview near Iowa. Beautiful lobby and very helpful staff. The room was nice, good internet, plenty of towels and supplies, everything was generally clean. They even had a nice LCD TV with connectors at the desk so you can hook up your laptop to the screen! The only problem was some people were partying down outside my window. I should have called the front desk to complain about it, but otherwise it was a great stay. I only wish I had lots of money to stay at Sheraton all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xilex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SheratonIowaCity, General Manager at Sheraton Iowa City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2012

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay. Glad you had a good time! We do provide the Jack pack which is a great amenity for working on your computer. If any guests get loud, all you have to do is give us a call. We do provide security each night and try to provide you the best nights sleep possible.

We appreciate your business. I hope your job interview went well wishing you the best and 2012!

Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews