We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
46
17
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
17
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel state park dining room second floor steak in town new owners get away hidden gem near future on duty this past weekend antique furniture wonderful experience small town enjoyed our stay brunch
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 73 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

We were taking a road trip through eastern Iowa and had hoped to visit Maquoketa Caves but discovered they were not currently open. It was time to stop for the night so we consulted TripAdvisor and checked lodging availability. When we saw this property, we knew we would have to book it since we love historic hotels. It is beautifully restored, the bed is very comfortable, bathroom spotless with luxurious towels. We had dinner in the dining room and popped into the pub, just to check it out. We enjoyed seeing all the antiques throughout the building. Would love to be able to see some of the other rooms! If we make it back this way some day we would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DianeL133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni W, Public Relations Manager at Decker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2017

Diane, We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay with the Decker Hotel. During your next visit, please ask us for a tour. We would love to show you around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2016

The Decker Hotel is a wonderful experience to enjoy. The room was comfortable and the staff work with you on any issues. We stayed on the second floor and found it very quiet with good bed. Nice to have the restaurant in the hotel. Excellent food.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rollinsthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa R, General Manager at Decker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Decker Hotel in Maquoketa Iowa. We appreciate your feedback and am happy to hear your enjoyed our on site restaurant. Chef Jason is fantastic and we are very proud to have him on our team. We look forward to your return visit. Have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Very nice hotel. Very well kept up, clean, pleasant staff, nice restaurant with good menu and nice wines, and a nice bar in the basement. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.A lot of historical elements with some really unusual antique furniture spread throughout the building.

Room tip: We stepped up one room size which I think maybe cost us a little bit more a night.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jchunziker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa R, General Manager at Decker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Thank you for this glowing review. We appreciate you taking the time to send this to us at the Decker Hotel in Maquoketa. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016

We enjoy vintage hotels and believe that this one was worth the stop. It was an easy drive after we visited the Maquoketa Caves. The hotel is very pretty inside and out, and it was priced quite reasonably compared with other historic hotels in which we have stayed. Check-in was easy and our suite was large and comfortable. The a/c worked quickly and cooled very well. The room had a fridge but no microwave...we found this a bit odd and inconvenient. We also had a few other complaints besides the lack of microwave. The rooms needed a good cleaning...not critical things like the bed or bath...these were fine (and the towels and bedding were nice quality). But the dust was terribly thick and visible on the wood floors, particularly under furniture which took away from the desirability of the room...although it was nothing that a Swiffer wouldn't solve with a few minutes of effort. The next thing was a lack of amenities. As I've said, this hotel was very well-priced, but all they offered was coffee...not even tea, and certainly no little cookies or other welcoming items. Once again, not a show-stopper but something that made us feel less welcome and not what we have found in boutique/vintage hotels elsewhere. We were told we could get ice in the lobby, but there wasn't anyone there when we wanted some so we did without. This was also the case when we went to check out...nobody there so we just left our key without receiving a receipt for our stay (and none was emailed to us after the fact.) Yes, there was a note on the desk that gave a phone number to call for assistance, but we did not feel comfortable calling a phone number for small things like ice or check-out. Overall we did enjoy our stay at this nice old hotel, and with a bit more attention to customer service we would have rated this hotel at the top.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa R, General Manager at Decker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2016

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate the feedback of your stay while you were with us at the Decker Hotel in Maquoketa Iowa. i will use this review as an opportunity to retrain my housekeeping staff to ensure a more clean room upon a guests arrival. I apologize for the dusty floors. I am sorry we missed you at the front desk when you were in need of assistance. Our front desk closes at 9pm on week days and 10pm on weekends. The phone number at the desk is our on site manager who is always happy to help with any needs, big or small any time of day. Customer service is our top priority I am sorry to hear we failed you. I hope the next time you are in the area you will give us another chance.
Thanks again and have a Happy Thanksgiving

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The Decker Hotel is a beautifully restored property with graceful architecture and a genuine historic feel. We had a large queen suite with whirlpool bath. The room was enormous overlooking the main street. Very friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous lobby, and easy parking on the side of the building. We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and had two very good meals at reasonable prices.

Here's where improvements are needed: no door on bathroom which is right near the queen bed. Hardly any wall hooks or places to hang towels and other things. Loud noise from nearby room when they were showering. The water pressure in the pipes needs to be fixed to relieve the noise. That being said, the shower in the room is great. The light switches in the rooms are confusing.

It wouldn't take much for the Decker to make these improvements and make this a five-star property.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa R, General Manager at Decker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your recent stay at the Decker Hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your return visit the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews