We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok till my dad's wallet went missing..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The wallet had an irreplaceable membership card, credit cards and $400 cash.

My dad forgot his wallet in the room when we checked out. We realized the wallet was missing after several hours and immediately called the hotel. The time was 1:47, the hotel claimed the room had not yet been cleaned and there was no wallet. We found this reply suspicious as we were 99.9% sure that it had been left there and the room cleaning gal had been in the room next door at our departure.

The following day, I contacted the manager, "Judy", and discussed the matter with her; she had security check the entries to the room and discovered that the room had been entered at 11, showing a blatant lie from the staff.

There has been no further contact from the hotel or the staff regarding this matter, today I filed a report with the corporate office.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlegrl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judy j, Manager at Best Western Holiday Manor Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

This is very miss leading due to the fact they are stating the wallet was stolen from the hotel. The gentleman in question was attempting to check in to hotel and when front desk asked for his credit card he did not have his wallet. His daughter than came and paid for the room for him. Once the family checked out and went home they put an ad in the Newton Daily News sunrise addition and the local paper advertising lost wallet in Newton. So it is very miss leading to post on this website that the wallet was taken from the hotel room. We are very sorry he lost his wallet but the family should not write misleading reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stay here every few months on our way from WI to NE. The main reason we use this hotel is that it is pet friendly. We have never had a problem and find it to be okay for one night. I do agree that the beds are not all that comfortable and could be updated as well as the furniture. The breakfast is HI's usual.......nothing spectacular ,but adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Reserved 2 rooms with 2 adults per room on-line through holiday inn web site and received conformation for rate of $77 per room. Motel said rate was wrong and tried to tell me it was because of extra person in rooms. When I tried to explain that 2 per room was not extra persons, they were rude and said they set their own rates and did not have to comply wiith the conformation. I believe they dislike the military and did not want to honor the government rate. I cancelled and would recommend everyone steer clear of the Holiday Inn Express in Newton, IA.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Lmsatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Spent two nights, left wallet in room with sizable amount of cash. After we checked out we discovered wallet was missing. I am 99 per cent certain it was taken by the maid who cleaned our room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vrnho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judy j, Manager at Best Western Holiday Manor Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

This is very miss leading due to the fact they are stating the wallet was stolen from the hotel. The gentleman in question was attempting to check in to hotel and when front desk asked for his credit card he did not have his wallet. His daughter than came and paid for the room for him. Once the family checked out and went home they put an ad in the Newton Daily News sunrise addition and the local paper advertising lost wallet in Newton. So it is very miss leading to post on this website that the wallet was taken from the hotel room. We are very sorry he lost his wallet but the family should not write misleading reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Two of the pillows in the bed had huge stains on them looked as if someone puked on the pillows and just turned them over. The pool area was just unsanitary. The walls and floors in the pool area were literally growing green and black mold. The bathroom in the pool area had no changing area for babies only a rusty old outdoor metal patio chair. It had about 2 inches of standing water on the floor, it was poorly lit the walls and ceiling of the bathroom were water damaged not the quality I have come to expect from the Holiday Inn express Chain. We did not recieve a morning paper. We had a huge storm 70mph winds and driving rain/ that night and were without power and no staff member came and said anythinig about saftey or anything. We were without power for 4 hours or more. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andersoninc4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I do a lot of weekend traveling. On Friday night we originally had reservations for the Holiday Inn in Coralville, but we were ahead of schedule so we changed our reservations for Newton, IA. We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express locations before and have never been disappointed... until now.

We arrived after dark and the hotel looked nice from the outside - we thought it was a newer establishment. When we walked in everything looked dated... maybe from the 80's, but it appeared to be clean. Svetlana at the front desk was very friendly and checked us in quickly.

When we got to our room everything appeared to be fine, but upon further inspection everything had some wear to it. It seems as if this location is meeting the bare minimum of what the hotel chain requires. The pillows were not comfortable. The bed linens were very thin and had a low thread count, the towels were thin and scratchy. In the bathroom there was a crack in the tub. As a previous reviewer mentioned, there is almost no water pressure from the shower head.

While nothing was dirty, it just wasn't what I have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express locations. It seemed more like a Motel 6 or Comfort Inn.

I would not stay in this hotel again. I would travel the extra distance to Des Moines and stay somwhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

The staff is very nice. Breakfast was good. This hotel is very dated and is worn. My room has a few area with peeling wallpaper. They have the worst shower head I have ever seen, it's like 1 gallon per HOUR, yet the toilet seems like it's 5 gallons per flush, go figure... The internet is only good for browsing, you cannot watch Netflix, hulu or anything and all there is. There's an HBO guide on the nightstand, but of course there's no HBO that comes in.

There's stains on the carpet in the room, in the hallways, on the love seat in my room. It's pretty gross. I'm here on business and I doubt i'll ever be in Newton, Iowa again in the future so it's a warm room and i'll move onto the next hotel next week.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
5.1 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
2.6 km away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#5 of 8 in Newton
283 reviews
5.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
16.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
27.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Holiday Manor Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Holiday Manor Newton

Address: 208 W. 4th Street N, Newton, IA 50208-3024 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newton
Price Range: $92 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Holiday Manor Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, located minutes from the new Iowa Speedway, Maytag Plant, Maytag Dairy Farms, Grinnell College, Lake Red Rock, Knoxville Raceway, Jasper Winery, Sugar Grove Vineyards and Gatheringplace, Harvestor Golf Course, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows and just 30 minutes to Des Moines. Holiday Inn Express Newton is a beautifully renovated property of 78 rooms and suites, with fitness & business center open 24 hours a day for your convenience. The interior heated swimming pool and spa are available for you and your family to enjoy at your leisure. Race fans make your reservations early for the best rates. Our spacious rooms and suites are tastefully appointed featuring a well lit work area, complimentary high speed internet, some with microwave and refrigerators and of course the Simply Smart bath experience. Your home away from home is waiting for you with a great complimentary breakfast, featuring delicious eggs, Express Roast blend coffee and many more tasty breakfast treats. Join us, we're waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Holiday Manor Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newton Hotel Newton
Newton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing