We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French Toast of my life!!!”

David's Milwaukee Diner
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come aboard David's Milwaukee Diner for a dining experience that will be a memorable occasion. Our chefs have created a delicious menu with a variety of American Cuisine that will be sure to fancy your taste buds. Named for David Jackson Pattee, the man in whose honor the hotel was built, and for the Milwaukee Railroad, for more than 100 years the main employer in Perry, the Diner aims to take you back to the era when the train was king. The Arrow Room, named for a Milwaukee passenger train, is a recreation of an early 20th Century railroad dining car, complete with coffered ceiling, wood paneling, and murals showing the countryside near Perry by Bouton artist Dennis Adams. The Challenger and Hiawatha Rooms, also named for Milwaukee trains are designed in the Arts and Crafts style frequently found in depot restaurants and railroad hotel dining rooms.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Seriously, I've never had better French toast (Pain Perdu). It was soft and light in the middle and crispy on the outside with berries and toasted almonds on top. I didn't want it to end! My husband loved his chicken-fried steak, and they had a great selection of hot tea. It was perfect on a cold, winter day, and the atmosphere makes you feel as if you've stepped back in time (in a good way!).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at David's Milwaukee Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you Erin! That is one of our best sellers and fan favorite. Thank you so much for the kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed the visit. Hope to have you back soon! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 157 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018

Ate here last night. Tuesday night they have a burger and fries special for $5.99! Cannot bea that. We ordered the appetizer Sampler. The brussel sprouts are unbelievably delicious and the sauce they pair them with is wonderful. Fried ravioli was very good too, as were the cheese balls and onion rings. The burger we ordered was very dry, but tasty. Waitress offered to have another one made, but we declined. Waitress was so nice and friendly - kind of on the shy side, but she really was attentive to us and the other guests. This truly is a great place for Perry, Iowa. It was the first time we have eaten dinner there in a while. The prices for the dinners are a little steep, but if you go on Tuesday, you can grab a great burger and fries deal. We will be back as there were numerous items on the dinner menu that grabbed our attention.
The feel of the diner is so cozy and warm. Doesn't feel like you are in a small Iowa community.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at David's Milwaukee Diner, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Thank you Robert! We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to be of service and appreciate the time you took to write us a review.
Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2018

The dining area did not have heat during our visit and with below zero temperatures outside it made dining very difficult. Prices are incredibly over priced for the quality and quantity of food you receive. You're essentially paying for subpar food and horrible wait staff just because you're staying at the Pattee.

Thank lil_hr_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Good food and fast service! My family and I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at this restaurant and we were very pleased. We would definite return!

Thank raechelhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at David's Milwaukee Diner, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Thank you so much! We are so thankful that you visited us and enjoyed our dining room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Located in the Hotel Patee, the Diner continues the theme of excellent art from the Hotel. Excellent murals and tooled leather add great ambience. We had dinner and breakfast at the diner. For dinner my wife had the shepherd’s pie which she thoroughly enjoyed. (She is picky about her shepherd pie evaluations). Technically it was a cottage pie, using ground beef instead of lamb, but she really liked the gravy in the pie. I had the grilled pork chop with mashed potatoes and asparagus. All was perfectly cooked and well presented.
For breakfast my wife had a “build your own omelette with mushrooms, green pepper and cheese. It came with hash browns. The omelette was well made and stuffed with mushrooms and green pepper. I had Betsy’s Benedict which was excellent Eggs Benedict. I am picky about my poached eggs and these were perfect.
The wait staff was efficient, knowledgable and friendly. Prices are moderate and are great value. They serve lunch, and the menu looked great, but we were not in town at lunchtime. Since Perry is close to Des Moines, it would be worthwhile making the joirney for lunch or dinner.

Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayHartz, Owner at David's Milwaukee Diner, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you Jay for such a detailed and wonderful review! I'm so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your visit with us and enjoyed the meal & service. We do hope to see you all again soon. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's Milwaukee Diner also viewed

 

Been to David's Milwaukee Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing