We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a beautiful part of Tasmania”
Review of Weldborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Weldborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Weldborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I stayed here with a work colleague for a total of a week's fieldwork in the Blue Tier area - one of Tasmania's most beautiful "secret spots". Our hosts Richard and Rita couldn't have been more helpful. They gave us useful local information, helped with transport to field sites, supplied us with excellent food and a selection of craft beers at the end of the day, and were good company when we sat and talked by the welcoming fire. On our first trip we stayed in rooms in the hotel - clean and comfortable. On the next two trips we stayed in the miner's cottage behind the hotel - which suited us perfectly for organising field gear etc under the cover of the wide veranda. It sleeps 4 in bunks but may be a bit crowded with this number. Weldborough is a tiny town compared to its mining heyday about a hundred years ago, when it had Tasmania's first casino. But now its not the place for those who want a glamorous vacation in 5 star accommodation. But its perfect for folk who appreciate a beautiful and peaceful setting, with some great drives, mountain bike trails and walks to experience the landscapes, forests and mining heritage of this lesser-known part of Tasmania. Bring wet weather gear - there are impressive stands of rainforest in the area, which means that there is some chance you could get rained on! Anyway - I'll be going back with my wife and friends to stay at the Weldborough Hotel and to do some more exploring.

Room Tip: The miner's cottage sleeps 4 in bunks and is great for people interested in outdoor activities w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2014

First i have to state that I own an accomodation buisness in St .Helens.
I go to the Weldborough camping with my kids when Iwant a quick break away at least thre times a year.
If you like traditional English style country pubs this is the hotel for you.
Good food ,exellent craft beers and cheap camping to sleep it off in beautiful surroundings.
Dont let the negative recviews put you off,I know from my own buisness that you can't please all the people all the time,someone has always got an axe to grind.
If you are looking for a typical Aussie sports bar this is not your kind of place.....thank god,keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: Try the exellent campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmarchment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A colleague and I had cause to stay at the Weldborough Hotel on 3 occasions during August 2014 for field surveys we were doing between the Blue Tier and Weldborough. After reading some TripAdvisor comments I was wary but we booked in for our first trip and were welcomed by caretakers Richard and Rita with warm smiles, friendly conversation, a great home-cooked meal, and lovely local ciders and ales on tap. We stayed in the hotel rooms, which are tight but very comfortable. Breakfast was simple and practical but we were invited in for a great coffee with the caretakers, which was a great start to the day. Our next two stays we chose the old miner's cottage, which turned out to be perfect. Richard and Rita went out of their way to make us welcome and drove us to the start point of our surveys in the morning (so we didn't need to bring up two cars from Hobart), watched out for our return (which was good because we came out of the bush well after dark a couple of times), always had a hot meal and cold ale/cider ready (even when we were running late), gave us access to the kitchen so we could make our field lunches, and stayed up late by the fire for some great conversation. We strongly recommend this country pub to anyone who need a base for forays into the northeast - it is brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ECOtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

If visitors to Tasmania receive the smiles and service we received than Tasmania would be renowned for excellent hospitality, NOT.

The pub itself is charming and the walls are lined with history.

Service was rude and unwelcoming, until they realized we was spending a significant amount of money and then things changed.

The craft beers are incredibly expensive and the food has to be the worst in Tasmania. Chicken schnitzel was over deep fried and see the photo but was the size of the relish sauce bowl. Tough, chewy and almost impossible to cut. The chips and relish were actually quite nice.

In short we will not return

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Traveling_Aussie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch on our way through. Was told this place was great, however I found the staff were rude, well to us atleast, however the food was ok, not fantastic, but ok. Next time I'll wait a bit longer and eat further on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shazz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great little hotel with engaging hosts. Hotel reflects the era of its period and includes some historical photos. Great wood fire and dining room. Nice diversity of beers and wines. Dining menu is simple and the food ok. Accommodation is very simple and slightly more expenses than you might expect but very clean. Overall great atmosphere and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieFamily7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This dump advertised sites for motorhomes and caravans with fires. We didn't need power but the only level site that we could park on was a powered site. They charged us $30 an absolute rip off!!! The toilets and showers were disgusting. They had a keypad lock on them - don't why, you couldn't pay me to use them. We couldn't have a fire - we had our own wood - it was freezing but they were nice and warm in the pub with there own fire. We intended to eat at the pub but I was not going to give them another cent. There are better places on the side of the road for nothing. This dump is also for sale...not surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weldborough
10.2 km away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
31.1 km away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
89 reviews
32.3 km away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
408 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Weldborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weldborough Hotel

Address: Tasman Highway 12 Main Rd, Weldborough, Tasmania 7264, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Weldborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weldborough
Price Range: $91 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weldborough Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country pub with great hospitality, Tasmanian craft beer, cider and wines, picturesque beer garden, home-cooked meals and basic accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Weldborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing