We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
47
23
7
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
23
7
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country pub craft beer blue tier steak sandwich friendly owners an overnight stay bike trail tin mining tassie accommodation vans hosts history tents heater cabin
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 88 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2014

First i have to state that I own an accomodation buisness in St .Helens.
I go to the Weldborough camping with my kids when Iwant a quick break away at least thre times a year.
If you like traditional English style country pubs this is the hotel for you.
Good food ,exellent craft beers and cheap camping to sleep it off in beautiful surroundings.
Dont let the negative recviews put you off,I know from my own buisness that you can't please all the people all the time,someone has always got an axe to grind.
If you are looking for a typical Aussie sports bar this is not your kind of place.....thank god,keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: Try the exellent campsite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulmarchment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2014

A colleague and I had cause to stay at the Weldborough Hotel on 3 occasions during August 2014 for field surveys we were doing between the Blue Tier and Weldborough. After reading some TripAdvisor comments I was wary but we booked in for our first trip and were welcomed by caretakers Richard and Rita with warm smiles, friendly conversation, a great home-cooked meal, and lovely local ciders and ales on tap. We stayed in the hotel rooms, which are tight but very comfortable. Breakfast was simple and practical but we were invited in for a great coffee with the caretakers, which was a great start to the day. Our next two stays we chose the old miner's cottage, which turned out to be perfect. Richard and Rita went out of their way to make us welcome and drove us to the start point of our surveys in the morning (so we didn't need to bring up two cars from Hobart), watched out for our return (which was good because we came out of the bush well after dark a couple of times), always had a hot meal and cold ale/cider ready (even when we were running late), gave us access to the kitchen so we could make our field lunches, and stayed up late by the fire for some great conversation. We strongly recommend this country pub to anyone who need a base for forays into the northeast - it is brilliant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ECOtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

If visitors to Tasmania receive the smiles and service we received than Tasmania would be renowned for excellent hospitality, NOT.

The pub itself is charming and the walls are lined with history.

Service was rude and unwelcoming, until they realized we was spending a significant amount of money and then things changed.

The craft beers are incredibly expensive and the food has to be the worst in Tasmania. Chicken schnitzel was over deep fried and see the photo but was the size of the relish sauce bowl. Tough, chewy and almost impossible to cut. The chips and relish were actually quite nice.

In short we will not return

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Traveling_Aussie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch on our way through. Was told this place was great, however I found the staff were rude, well to us atleast, however the food was ok, not fantastic, but ok. Next time I'll wait a bit longer and eat further on.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Shazz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great little hotel with engaging hosts. Hotel reflects the era of its period and includes some historical photos. Great wood fire and dining room. Nice diversity of beers and wines. Dining menu is simple and the food ok. Accommodation is very simple and slightly more expenses than you might expect but very clean. Overall great atmosphere and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieFamily7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews