We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
28
8
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
8
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 39 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Living like a monk but with XXI century amenities.
An extraordinary well restored monastery, in the middle of a forest of oak trees. Excellent rooms (2 inside the monastery, the rest in the in the outside courtyard.
Swimming pool with a wood deck where you can linger - reading or just daydreaming.

You can also linger in the breakfast room - really cosy, you feel at home. It has a magnificent window over the woods & pool.

The owners (a family from Oporto) are really nice and make you feel really welcome.

If you are looking for peace & quiet - this is the right place.

If you like to do some sightseeing, you are in a very central place (close to Viseu, Aveiro and the motorway between Oporto & Lisbon).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaraSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Charming place to relax in the middle of a mixture of nature, history and religious experience.
My husband and I stayed for just 2 nights and it was raining all the time but there was a magnificent window all along the wall in the living room with a great view to the woods, cosy by the fire. Somehow it allowed us to take some time off, visit the monastery and fell it. We had it all just for us for we were the only guests so we had the chance of going back in time and imagine century by century how it must have been like in the past. We updated our Portuguese and religious history also by reading some books. We didn,t get to meet the owners but the two housekeepers made sure nothing was missing.

Room Tip: If you want to atend mess be sure to be there on a sunday morning. It must be lovely on Christmas with the Christmas crib
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The Mosteiro de Sao Cristovao is a destination in itself. We were living in Portugal at the time we went there, and were looking for an out of the way place to stay. As I understand it, the Portuguese government sold this amazing monastery, in ruins, to a Portuguese family from Porto. Over many years, the monastery was painstakingly restored. When the owners reached retirement age, and their children were adults, it became apparent that the upkeep of this beautiful place was more than any of the second generation could carry. So the idea of rural tourism was born. The former stables were turned into guest rooms, renovated to an extremely high standard, and that is where we stayed.

The owners were in residence the weekend we were there, and they were extremely helpful. They gave us recommendations for a good dinner and made reservations in town for us. They left the fire going in the fireplace upon our return, where we enjoyed a nice glass of port.

In the morning,after a terrific breakfast served by two long-time staff, the owners gave us a lengthy and very private tour of the monastery itself (which had been their private quarters). It was amazing.

I would recommend this place for people looking for an off the beaten path destination, maybe a good detour between Lisbon and Porto, but it was, for us a wonderful weekend. the area around the monastery is beautiful, and there are many places for walks to waterfalls/rivers/babbling brooks. This is one of my favorite Portugal memories!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lreynold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Mosteiro lindíssimo recuperado classificado como turismo de habitação.

Peçam os quartos no mosteiro, não nas antigas cavalariça - que apesar de boas, aconselho os quartos no mosteiro pela vivacidade da experiência.

Unidade gerida pelos proprietários - simpáticos e disponíveis. Fazem uma breve visita guiada ao mosteiro. Convidaram-nos para um brinde ao ano novo.

Recomendável para uma estadia de 3 a 4 dias, envolvente tranquila e bons restaurantes a 5 min de carro.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogaslx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I agree with some of the reviews: The service was practically nonexistent. Nowbody to be found to have towels on the pool which anyway we have to leave when a bunch of kids, family of the owners -and I agree with e-64: most unprofessional- came in screaming.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank SaintLazare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews