We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room”
Review of Great Lakes Inn

Great Lakes Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Great Lakes Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The rates were good for the area. No frills but didn't need that anyway. The room and bathroom were clean. Plenty of parking spaces. we stayed in what appeared to be a newer building. Would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Zita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

First off a "misunderstanding" on the room rate over the phone, I wrote it down as I was told the rate! First room was so musty smelling I Had to ask for a different one, it was better but still musty, hair in the shower, dusty furniture, the door fell off the vanity! People will still go here, but we will not when in the area, People were nice but it does not make up for the price we paid..Breakfast? Old looking jelly on a shelf, packaged rolls, creamer packettes were old and stiff...if it were cheaper and there had not been a "misunderstanding" of the price I would not have left a negative review. no coffee pots in the rooms either, so you have to walk over to the office.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WandaJ71479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Terrible service, unfriendly, rude and unclean rooms. Stay away!!! Grumpy staff didn't want guests, seemed like they were on vacation with an open sign and vacancy on. We stayed one night and left quickly feeling unwelcomed. Bathrooms were awful, thin walls, etc.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is gross. I don't understand how it's still able to be in business. Seriously, it's probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed in and I usually try to find the best in places I stay. Pretty sure it's never been updated and I wouldn't even take a shower there because I was so grossed out. Floors were dirty, hotel smelled like smoke, and the door doesn't lock very well and the door goes to the outside. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank ashleykayrigge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is by far the most disgusting place I have ever had to stay at. The room was filthy. Dirt and stains all over the walls, lamp shades, ceiling, etc... Even the shower was dirty! The lady that checked me in was rather rude as well. I would NEVER stay here again- I would rather sleep in my car in the cold winter then step foot in this place again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Becci N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This place was HORRIBLE! What a rip-off. Worst 75 dollars ever spent. I'd rather lose 75 bucks. The blankets smelled like cigarettes, the room was super dirty, there was a hole in the bathroom door patched with SCOTCH tape, stranger hair in the tub, the toilet rocked back and forth, it took us forever to just check in, our neighbors were so noisy that I couldn't sleep...I could seriously go on.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 30AMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We paid what I thought was a lot of money for a crappy room. The place smelled like smoke. It was dirty. The bathroom door wouldn't shut. The wireless wouldn't work. Basically if we could have found another hotel that didn't require a two night stay we would have been out of there

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickirow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spirit Lake
4.9 km away
Northland Inn Motel
Northland Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Spirit Lake
22 reviews
4.6 km away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
118 reviews
0.8 km away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#2 of 5 in Spirit Lake
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Super 8 Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
151 reviews
2.6 km away
The Oakwood Inn
The Oakwood Inn
#1 of 2 in Spirit Lake
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Lakes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lakes Inn

Address: 1905 18th St, Spirit Lake, IA 51360-1091 (Formerly Shamrock Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Spirit Lake
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Spirit Lake
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Lakes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Great Lakes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing