We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
386
16
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
386
16
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing place a wonderful stay whole experience antique furniture warm hospitality amazing experience comfortable beds a special place places to visit nice breakfast one night stay melinda turner suite chateau hosts renovation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 404 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Chateau d’Origny two nights in the Suite Anglaise.
Werner and Melinda are wonderful hosts and the chateau is charming. Werner prepared us the most amazing dinner. He is a fantastic chef and uses the best produce from farms nearby. Most amazing bread too! We were sad to leave...
Highly recommend this wonderfully romantic spot near Troisgros and La Bâtie d’Urfé, not to be missed.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LaFrog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner De Clippel, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Origny Chambres d'hotes et restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your pleasant comment. We will be happy to welcome you once again at the castle.

Best regards,
Werner et Mélinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We stay here every time we come to France. We have just returned from another visit to this amazing Chateau.
Werner and Melinda provide top quality and service.
Another bonus Werner provides is a chauffeur service to and from the Troigros restaurant in the village

Room tip: All rooms we have stayed in are excellent
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner De Clippel, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Origny Chambres d'hotes et restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your pleasant comment. We will be happy to welcome you once again at the castle.

Best regards,
Werner et Mélinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

As a night stop halfway through a 12 hour drive across France, Chateau d'Origny proved to be something close to perfection.

Neither we nor our friends had seen such beautifully and cleverly restored rooms in a French chambre d'hote.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MatthewRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner De Clippel, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Origny Chambres d'hotes et restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your pleasant comment. We will be happy to welcome you once again at the castle.

Best regards,
Werner et Mélinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Our room (La suite Francaise) was like walking into heaven! Grandeur and antiques all over the place but also the most comfortable modern bed ever. Sometimes when you go to these old grand buildings your heart sinks as you walk in as there is a certain mustiness and dated feeling, this is not the case although the reception areas are full of knickknacks!

It is truly authentic but it is clean, dust proof and full of every modern convenience. Our bedroom was complete, no bits falling apart, everything worked and is in the right place for your best night’s sleep ever!

The welcome was genuine, not overly showy but warm and interesting. We wished that we had booked an evening meal as seeing what was produced for others it was obviously good. However being a vegetarian and arriving late it was understandable that they did not have enough ingredients to make something of which the cook would be proud to present.

The breakfast was all you could wish for in a traditional French house. Fresh, white table cloths, newly cut fruit, yogurts, delicious freshly squeezed orange juice along with pastries and comfiture etc.

There were too many good things to mention but the overall feeling is that they are not compromising on quality and care. We did glance in at the other bedrooms and some of them are quite dark and one had some stuffed animals which to be hones is not to our taste but there is no doubt that this place is full of character!!

It is much better than shown on the website. Do go and relax and enjoy!!

Room tip: All rooms are very different but we had the light and airy French suite. It had views over 3 sides of the chateau.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandranicholls64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner De Clippel, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Origny Chambres d'hotes et restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your pleasant comment. We will be happy to welcome you once again at the castle.

Best regards,
Werner et Mélinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

This is a romantic fairytale Château with grand rooms lovingly restored. Yet it is still definitely someone’s home, full of the owners’ personality and charm. Werner and Melinda were helpful and friendly. They made and served very professionally an excellent and accomplished five course dinner for us. I especially liked the fact that the cheeseboard was generous and help yourself - something you seldom get now in French restaurants. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the rooms, in spite of their vast proportions and the cold weather, were perfectly warm. (Our bedroom even had a working wood burning stove for extra atmosphere). A unique experience that leaves you full of admiration for Werner and Melinda’s energy and commitment!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jude077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werner De Clippel, Propriétaire at Chateau d'Origny Chambres d'hotes et restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your pleasant comment. We will be happy to welcome you once again at the castle.

Best regards,
Werner et Mélinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews