We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
246
39
24
13
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
39
24
13
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 323 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

we have been to Roanne before and now to the new place... still remembering the perfect dinner we had in Roanne and the modern room.
The new place is gorgeous in-midst the countryside with a huge park and lake, you can take a rowboat which are provided. It is peaceful.
The building were old farm houses and a bourgeois villa converted into a modern but still complimenting the past Hotel.
We had room No. 30, reachable by elevator and 2 steps up. A corner room and a homage on colors, comfort and style. Some less practical and wifi a bit weak.
The shower in the bathroom had a huge shower-hat when turned on provided led lights within. Space for a free-standing tub and gadgets but less space to place your cosmetics, I realize with age I need more e.hg. more space.
The welcome with a big brioche and homemade ice-tea was simply the best.
We enjoyed our one night and appreciated the different style for the short period.
The breakfast was great, in taste and presentation, all staff were friendly and always greeted us . Photos speak more than 1000 words, I have added a lot.
Restaurant sep. review

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

I cannot imagine how anyone could visit Maison Troisgros and experience the Troisgros restaurant and say anything other than "wow." There are only a few rooms so you feel almost like you have the place to yourself. The grounds are so beautiful, with the gardens, the lake and the trails. And the room . . . My wife and I have travelled the world and have stayed at some really amazing resorts, but none outshine this property. It is really perfect in every way. The service was fast, friendly, helpful and exceptional.

But, the property, in our opinion, takes a backseat to the restaurant. We started with a glass of wine and amuse-bouche in the courtyard. We were then escorted to our table in the breathtaking dining room. We had the prix-fix menu with wine pairings. Yes, it was expensive, but it was a meal of a lifetime. Everything, to us, was magical. We probably looked like two idiots because we could not stop smiling the entire time. And, of course, the added treat was getting to meet the incredibly friendly and gracious Michel Troisgros and get a tour of the kitchen.

It was an experience of a lifetime that we will not forget and hope, someday, to repeat!

Room tip: Come early and enjoy the grounds and gardens.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgauntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

This is a really difficult place to review. On the one hand the restaurant is a beautiful open glass space set outside in the trees, whilst the hotel and rooms are just wacky but without justification.

Unless you live nearby, or are staying nearby you have to be resident to enjoy the hedonistic pleasures of dinner. With the Troisgros family the quality of the food is a given, so this review concentrates on the hotel and rooms.

We arrived in a thunderstorm and hoped that someone would notice us to open the electric gates. They didn’t, so we got soaked getting out of the car to press the button.

At reception 4 or 5 people were sat, all but one ignoring us, no friendly hallo’s.

The rooms are in a beautifully converted old building, but to get to them you have to walk through both the restaurant and the bar lounge area, drowned rat look not the best for introducing yourselves to other guests.

Our room on the 5th floor can only be described as form over function. Uber modern, pastel shades, wooden floors. If only it stopped there. Stairs from the entrance door up to the bedroom, step up into the bathroom, step up into the shower. Steps are manageable if you can see them, but the lighting is minimalistic not only in quantity, but also in lumens. Just one table lamp in the bathroom, with three bendable heads, but black shades. All this for quite a large space, massive free standing composite bath, shower round the corner, and modern free standing basin space. Have a shower and you need Braille lessons first. Wash your hair and plug the hair dryer into the socket by the sink by the only mirror and you may become permanently shocked into a bad vertical hair day, or worse.

For the ladies there is nowhere to put your makeup essentials, except on a very low storage unit under the hanging space, so loose makeup and jacket cuffs intermix freely for an interesting splash of unplanned colour.

They do provide bathrobes, but pre-stitched Kimono where you have to try and fold yourselves Origami style into the garments. Sizes 12 and over need not apply.

Overall this is a joke on the paying guests by the architect and the owners to see how difficult it is possible to be whilst still continuing to attract punters to pay homage to the food.

For us it was beyond a joke. We want to enjoy new experiences not endure them.

Wi-Fi was dreadful and patchy, and every time you ran out of signal range you needed to enter login credentials again. Why password protected anyway? This place is in the middle of nowhere. Even though 30% of guests are international the TV only has French channels.

At dinner I ordered a bottle of Pommery Cuvee Louise 1999. What came was the standard Pommery and when I pointed this out to the sommelier he did point to the date and said it was the same year as if this made it OK. Eventually he took it away and came back with the correct bottle - mis-filed in the wrong bin. If your 3 Michelin sommelier can’t recognise when a wine is wrong then either he is in the wrong job, or his skills are overrated

Breakfast selection was very good, and you can enjoy breakfast until 12 noon if you have over-indulged the night before.

We have eaten and stayed at Roanne several times in the past and it was always a favourite. We would never consider returning to Ouches. What a shame.

Room tip: Avoid them all
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank G F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Went there for a full degustation course.

Food was a joke, tasteless, chose 3 fishes, all got served with sauce on top of it ( I could have done this at home..).

The first course was sour (veggies) with a very bitter sauce.

The dessert was puff pastry with cream and tiny raspberries in a jelly (sour). My mother could have done better)

Only one choice of bread. Never asked if food was ok.

The only positive is the room which is very nice and spacious ( though you come to this kind of restaurant to enjoy the food first!!)

I have been to 10 3* Michelin’s stars across France, they are at a totally different level!

The bill was 1200€ for 3.

A huge disappointment, please do yourself a favour and go visit flocons de sel in mégeve, maison lameloise in chagny , pic in valence or marcon in saint bonnet le froid. ( closest from ouches).

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank GauthierC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

This is a really special place. It’s a very pastoral setting with Danish farmhouse chic decor. The staff is amazing. There were thoughtful touches throughout the property. Our room had a super comfortable bed and pillows, but it also had some quirks like curtains instead of bathroom doors and a tub but no shower. However I’d gladly return, especially when combined with dinner.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VARandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews