We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option In Urbandale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Option In Urbandale”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I'm originally from Urbandale and so I have to go back now and then to visit family. The Hilton has become the hotel of choice for me and my boyfriend when we come to the area. I like the location - when we get off the highway it's right there, and despite being near I80, it's quite tranquil.
It's a family hotel, so getting alone time at the pool is nigh impossible. There's also sadly no one around to enforce the rules of "no screaming" and "no jumping" in the pool area. But if you're lucky to catch a time when there are no kids, it's small but pretty nice.
Rooms are just fine - I question the effectiveness of the 'adjustable' beds, because every night I'm there I try a different setting and I don't think it actually changes. Regardless, the beds are fine and the rooms are quite spacious - with mini fridges, coffee makers, and microwaves included.
The people at the desk are a bit impersonal. No eye-contact when you check in, and not really much for conversation. I understand this is not a hotel geared towards personal service however so for efficiency's sake the check-ins/outs are quick and easy.
Generally, I'd call it a nice hotel, and I'll keep going back if I keep finding decent rates online.

Room Tip: I like upper floor facing the highway, but it's merely a personal preference. I'm sure all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MudsMcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    123
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
101
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Husband and I stayed here during a three-day conference in October. Hotel staff was mostly friendly, except for one front desk person who seemed aloof and uninterested. The room was quite large, as was the bathroom. Our room had a little "kitchen" area, with a sink, little refrigerator, and microwave. The desk setup was nice, with access to plug-ins for computer, cell phone, etc. King-sized bed was very comfortable, and the linens were nice and fresh. We found the room to be very quiet, even though the hotel sits very close to I-80. We didn't use the fitness room or the indoor pool, but they looked very nice.

One odd thing about this hotel is their "cafe" right off the front lobby. There is an island, of sorts, that has muffins and fruit sitting on it. If you look closely, there is a small sign that says you can purchase breakfast, either a hot breakfast buffet, or a cooked to order breakfast, or a "Continental" with just pastries, fruit, juice, etc. When my husband went down to the lobby on our first morning, he missed seeing the sign and thought it was a complimentary Continental breakfast, like you'd find at Holiday Inn Express and other hotels like that. Nobody was tending the breakfast area, so he grabbed a cup of (substandard) coffee and a couple of mini muffins, thinking they were free with the room. Whoops!! No one confronted him about it, but when I went down to the lobby later, I walked up to the breakfast "island," walked around it and saw the sign. I felt the price for the Continental breakfast was too high for what you were getting, so I left and went across the street for a latte at Starbucks. Yeah, Starbucks is expensive, too, but I felt I got a better product for my money there. In any case, the rooms at this hotel are expensive enough that you should expect to receive at least a free Continental breakfast with the room. The little pastries, fruit, and coffee aren't great, so charging so much for these things seemed like pocket gouging to me.

Bottom line, yes, the room was nice. Very expensive, however, so I don't think we would have stayed there if we hadn't come for a conference on the company's dime.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieNavyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for one night while passing through the area. The room was very nice (though the sink was very clogged!), quiet and comfortable. The exercise room was very good - fresh towels, purified water, and some of the same exercise machines as our gym at home. We didn't swim in the indoor pool, but it looked well maintained. There is a shopping center nearby, including a grocery stores, big movie theater, and several restaurants. Some of the nearby restaurants (e.g., Texas Roadhouse, Starbucks) are walkable. I'd stay here again if we're in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper-floor room for a nice view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The hotel was good overall. Clean rooms, sheets, bathrooms. The wifi was spotty in the rooms which was disappointing. There was a good size pool and whirlpool. The exercise room has personal TVs for every machine. Breakfast isn't free though. Good hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel was best accommodations on our two week driving trip. The front desk, and in particular Taylor, made our stay memorable. She recommended dining places and went above and beyond. Rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, linens lush and breakfast was good with reasonable prices. It is just off the interstate, with no noise and very convenient for traveling. Don't hesitate; stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights for a wedding. The hotel is in a convenient location, just off the interstate. However, despite being on the second floor, we didn't hear any traffic noise during our stay. It's a pretty short drive to downtown from the hotel, but if you want to be close to downtown, I would suggest staying elsewhere.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful when we checked in! That was much-appreciated after a long day of traveling. We were somewhat disappointed to receive a second floor room after requesting a room on a high floor, but it really did nothing to diminish the quality of our stay. The room itself was very clean. The furnishings were pretty standard for a Hilton Garden Inn.

We received coupons for a complimentary breakfast. All of the hot and cold food that we tried was very good. We particularly enjoyed the made-to-order omeletes.

The fitness center was small, but it was adequate for a quick workout. There was a bike, a treadmill, and an elliptical. We didn't use the indoor pool or whirlpool, but they both looked very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwfoodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiawatha, ia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here in July 2011. Clean comfortable and accomodating to our large group (11) families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khoheisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
5.2 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
149 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.3 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Address: 8600 Northpark Drive, Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Urbandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Hilton Garden Inn Urbandale
Hilton Urbandale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing