We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel runs circles around old location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Oakbrook Terrace, IL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New hotel runs circles around old location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My family stayed here for one night while attending a graduation in the area. I had stayed at the hotel four years earlier when it was located next door (now the Baymont Inn.) I am so very happy that the hotel was rebuilt as the former hotel was atrocious.

The hotel is weird looking from the outside; don't really care for the design. Inside is very nice. The hotel was clean, comfortable and amazingly quiet for being next to a highway. The staff was friendly, but there was only one person at the desk and I had to wait for them at one point as he was off doing something else.

We didn't use the pool or fitness center, but they looked decent and clean. The free continental breakfast was average.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiebeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    33
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
22
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

There aren’t many hotel options in Waterloo. This is probably one of the best. It’s fairly new, close to shopping and easy access off of the main highway. The rooms were very nice. We had two rooms, one was a standard size the other one was on the end of the hall and was HUGE! If you need a lot of space request one of the rooms on the end. We didn’t really explore the area as it was just a stop on a very long road trip. You can’t go wrong with this hotel. It is nice, clean and quiet with a great breakfast in the morning. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kesibmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I've spent time in a few Waterloo hotels and I always find my way back to the Holiday Inn Express. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are always clean. They always accommodate my special requests with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I went to this hotel first time with my colleagues, now this will be my "home away home", Priority Club reception was the best part I liked it, we were able to finish our project and enjoyed chilled beer, my colleagues were enjoying glass of wine. So far best valued hotel in town. Everything was clean, I could even smell new paint. Front office personnel were very friendly, now they even know likes and dislikes.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stayed here for two days on business. It was very close to the plant I visited, but is the next to last building on the road. Food choices in the area are pretty poor, unless you like burger chains.
The building is your standard 4 story AutoCAD box, but it is new, and the rooms are very nice. I got a king at the government rate, and for $78/night, it was a good value. The furnishings are nice, and the room has a fridge, and a big flat screen TV. The bed was the quality you expect at this sort of hotel, and the linens and pillows were nice, too. My room had a lovely view of a highway and a cement plant, and was pretty noisy at night from all the trucks. The bathroom was large, and very attractively furnished. You get a good selection of toiletries.
The pool is nice, but a little chilly, and there is a jacuzzi as well. The morning breakfast is pretty good, at least for something free, and there are a lot of choices.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2009

The hotel front desk staff did not know how to check people in.Once we got checked in, we were at opposite ends of the motel from people we were traveling with.(after being assured on phone we would be next to or close to each other) The rooms were very pricey for a small town in Iowa.We stayed on 3rd floor and it sounded like a herd of cows were on 4th floor.Checking out we encountered the same inept help at front desk. After 20 min. there was at least 5 people in line behind us, either checking in or out. What a joke. These people need to be trained better. I've found in the past to stick with Marriott's Residence Inn when traveling with others because they have 2 bedroom suites.Too bad Waterloo didn't have one.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Ne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

What you would expect from a new H.I. Express

Nice clean room
Good breakfast
Friendly helpful staff

Only drawback is that you have to drive to dining or shopping - not far - but you must drive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerbyMotorcycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
443 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
0.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.9 km away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Waterloo

Property: Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Address: 2127 Laporte Rd, Waterloo, IA 50702-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Waterloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waterloo-Cedar Falls, Iowa provides comfortable, completely non-smoking accommodations near Waterloo Regional Airport (ALO). Located in the heart of Iowa, Waterloo offers attractions for both the business and leisure traveler. Our hotel is close to several corporate offices. The John Deere research facility, Tyson Foods, Omega Cabinets and Berch Cabinets are within easy driving distance. You will be able to get to your meeting or convention on time as we are near the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center and the National Cattle Congress. The University of Northern Iowa and Allen Hospital are also close. Waterloo offers a variety of attractions for the entire family. Crossroads Mall offers premium shopping located just across from the hotel. The Lost Island Water & Park is only minutes away. We are just two miles from the Isle of Capri Casino. Other nearby attractions include the Grout Museum of History & Science and George Wythe Park. A complimentary hot breakfast is provided each morning while free high-speed Internet access is available throughout the hotel. We also have a fitness center, meeting space and a continuous current, indoor pool. Stay Smart, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Waterloo-Cedar Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo Hotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing