We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust that your reservation will be honored.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Waterloo
Certificate of Excellence
Ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not trust that your reservation will be honored.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had reservations for this hotel for the week end of February 25 through February 27, 2012. We had the confirmation # in hand at the check in counter. The clerk confirmed that our reservation was VALID. She then informed me that the room was unavailable due to over booking. The hotel was full, and we were out of options. At this time, the hotel made no attempt to fix the problem and I was left with no other option, but to scramble to find another hotel. It took a lot of searching, and major inconveniance but I found another hotel. When I called the hotels Nationwide hotline to complain, they conference called the hotel. At this time, they offered me a free nights stay on a different date (Yeah, That will solve everything). I refused the free night stay. Why would I want to risk reserving another room only to be told "Sorry. Not tonight"? Avoid this hotel at all costs. Thanks to The Baymont Hotel & Suites. We were able to continue our vacation. Give them a try instead.

Room Tip: Try a different Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lespaulverizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcnlink, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to complete our customer satisfaction survey for Country Inns & Suites. In reviewing your response I noticed you rated us below what I consider to be acceptable. They were

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would greatly increase my ability to better assess and attempt to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.

I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach management by calling 319.233.2336. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.

Sincerely,
Management & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    77
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
150
48
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulda
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We pulled in here at 9 after a very long day and were exhausted. The gal at the desk was so polite, helpful and professional that her disposition totally changed my mood. I bet she gets at least one marriage proposal a week. The décor in the lobby was really nice and inviting. The room was clean, comfortable and in very good condition. The lady at the breakfast took better care of us then mom does. She was really sweet. The breakfast was a good variety and the only downer was the gravy for the biscuits and gravy was very processed tasting, like it came out of a can. The biscuits and real oatmeal was excellent though. There was a little noise at night from some rude guys upstairs but that was not the hotels fault. Over all this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcnlink, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Clean, well-cared-for property. Quiet, but we were on 3rd floor. Located in a suburban retail area, but properties adjacent to motel are not in keeping with motel space. Safe neighborhood. Breakfast average to slightly above average. Interestingly, the exit stairs are perhaps the nicest we have ever seen, and we try to use stairs instead of elevators. A storm knocked out wifi for several days (and phone for a day or so) during our stay, communications regarding restoration were poor and there was no concession offered for the degredation of service.

Room Tip: Insist on 3rd floor if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiknlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcnlink, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the lack of communication about the wifi outage after the storm. You are deserving of this information. Know that we worked tirelessly to rectify the wifi and phone communication problems with the support of our providers.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed here for a wedding, and it was just OK. It was definitely clean and well-maintained, the staff were friendly, and it was a decent price, but our first floor room was LOUD. Each night we had lots of stomping sounds from the room above us. We reported the noise to the front desk 2 of the 3 nights, but it didn't seem to make a lot of difference. The location is close to lots of shopping and restaurants (including a Goodwill that share the parking lot, if that's your shopping scene). If we go back to Waterloo and can't stay with family, I'd stay here, but I'd insist on a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anATLgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcnlink, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Congratulations on your time of celebration during wedding season. These are special and memorable times in ones life. We apologize for any noise issues occuring throughout your stay. We train our staff to take proactive instead of reaction measure when it comes to managing noise levels within the hotel.

Building off the enjoyable aspects of your stay, we would like to accomodate any special details or requests upon your next stay. We want the hotel to be a comfortable atmosphere for all guests to enjoy. Know that your input is valued and acknowledge to provide better services for future stays. Genuine thanks!

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Nice big bathrooms. The air conditioner worked great. Loved the three super comfy pillows for each bed. Front desk clerk was helpful in helping me find some local pizza joints. Nice fridge, microwave, and flat screen tv.
Found some left over food from the previous guests in the fridge. The pool was cold! I mean cold. That was very disappointing, as we got there early so the kids could go swimming. Even the kids wouldn't get in. The breakfast was average at best.
Pretty nice place, but glad we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcnlink, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We sincerely appreciate your stay with Country Inn & Suites of Waterloo, IA. Traveling with family is always a great way to spend time together. Our management and staff apologizes for a couple of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Know that we hold ourselves to a high standard and these concerns are addressed. We kindly thank you for you time and feedback. Always feel free to contact us at 319.233.2336 for further support.

Nathan Link
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We occupied six rooms for 4 nights and enjoyed the hospitality shown to us by the hotel staff. We were offered the use of the breakfast dining room at night for games and snacks. Our rooms were beyond spacious. My family had a king suite which consisted of a bedroom with King bed, living room with queen sofa, kitchenette and living area. Plenty of room for 12-15 of us to hang out in without sitting on each other. The breakfast was a notch above your typical free hotel breakfast food with eggs, waffles, potatoes etc... Fresh cookies and coffee are available all the time. Decent indoor pool and workout room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Spending the weekend at this hotel was a great experience for my whole family. Our young children enjoyed the pool and the hot tub was the perfect temp for everyone to enjoy as well. Clean, comfortable pool area. And a local artist did a fantastic job in painting the walls throughout the property. These wall paintings made for a cozy, peaceful environment. And after running around with my toddler, I enjoyed seeing such beauty!

The room had 2 double-beds which were comfortable. Great flat screen TV with high-tech jacks on the back that my husband said could be used to play a movie from our laptop. He was impressed with it. I liked the microwave and fridge that were standard amenities. My husband also liked how the ice machine was on the same floor.

The hotel is located right off a main highway and was close to plenty of restaurants, popular stores, etc. Our toddler accidentally wacked my husband in the face when playing on the bed and broke his glasses. The eyeglass repair store was only minutes away. We appreciated that!

We enjoyed their buffet breakfast most. The manager and staff were incredibly helpful and kind. If there was something I liked least, it might be the noise of the air conditioner/heater in the room - going on and off to regulate the temp. But it made the temp of the room quite comfortable so it was bearable. And we all slept well!

Overall, we loved the hotel and would stay there again if we ever visited Waterloo again.

Room Tip: If you plan to enjoy the pool a lot, you could request to be closer to that end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PamelaStorySaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
441 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Waterloo Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
2.3 km away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo
Address: 4025 Hammond Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701-9311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Waterloo, Iowa Hotel Offering charming decor and convenient amenities, the Country Inn & Suites in Waterloo is the perfect stop for your next vacation or business trip in Iowa. Our accommodations provide all the comforts of home and office, including complimentary Internet access, a delicious free breakfast, well-appointed rooms and an indoor pool. With top-notch amenities and guest-centered services, lodging in Waterloo is sure to be hassle free. 100% non-smoking facility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Waterloo
Waterloo Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing